We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment heaven in Melbourne!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Apartment heaven in Melbourne!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed for one night and found the Adina to be perfect for my needs.

Upon arrival, I was told that I was getting a key to a 1 bedroom apartment, despite me only booking a studio room. Major bonus with this was that the 1 bedroom apartment comes with clothes washing facilities, whereas a studio does not - MAJOR benefit when you're a solo traveller who has 3 weeks in Australia and only brought 6 days of clothes, with the plan of washing them.

The apartment itself was amazing, and I'd have loved to have moved in!

I did have a few problems in my room, the lights in my lounge weren't working, nor my air conditioning, however, as I was only staying one night, I didn't make a fuss, and just jotted them down on the 'broken items' form that is in the room. From the form, it was clear that the Adina would seek to rectify any problems instantly had I raised them.

The only other problem that I had was with my key card (though, actually, it may have been with the lock on the room). No matter how many times that I tried (and I even went down to get a new key card made) the lock on my apartment door would not pick up the card. After about 5 mins of trying each time, it'd eventually catch, but initially it was a little frustrating.

Mini-bar items in the room are extremely expensive (there was a 2l bottle of water in the room with a tag saying $6.50 - about £3.75 for those of us in the UK), so it's worth using the apartment as intended and buying in your own food/drink etc.

Apartment itself was LOVELY and very spacious. As I say, I would happily have moved in, and the cityscape/skyscraper views from the balcony were delightful.

Managed to do something silly and have ended up needing to rectify it with the hotel from back in the UK. Having spoken with several duty managers, I am incredibly impressed with the standard of customer service from Adina, and the trouble that they go to in order to fix any problems (especially when they're client led!!!). On the off-chance that something does happen to go wrong, it seems you're in more than capable and friendly hands!

Reception area and the hallways could do with freshening up, as could the lifts and lift lobby, however don't let the communal areas put you off - the apartments themselves more than make up for this!

All in all, a very pleasant stay and I'd definitely return again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Gari D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The management team and I were delighted to hear about the length the team is willing to go to correct any issue that may arise during your stay. This shows the great passion for hospitality the team all personify.

With regards to the maintenance issues, as you mentioned, had the issues been raised with the team they would seek to rectify them.

With our location we are close to all the major Melbourne attractions, Hardware Lane, Queen Victoria Markets, Bourke Street Mall, all within walking distance. Our location has trams on the corner for ease of access to explore the city, with minimised noise at night we are so glad you got to explore and take advantage of our prime location.

Gari D, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘apartment heaven in Melbourne’ in the future.

Many thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    349
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
205
251
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our first stay on arrival in Australia. A good location in Melbourne for walking to shopping and major attractions. Very comfortable, well equipped room, friendly staff, excellent breakfast in on site restaurant. The gym and small pool were a welcome way to relax after a long flight.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jill B,

Thank you for your feedback.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Australia and you have returned home safely with great memories of our beautiful country we call home. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us as your first stop in Australia. We are most pleased the hotel met all your expectations and requirements in terms of facilities and services.

The management of Queen Street Rescue were also thankful for your feedback!

Next time you travel to Australia look out for our Adina Apartment Hotels in major cities. We have recently opened a new Adina at Australia’s most iconic location "Bondi Beach".

Many thanks,

Joseph Stipo

Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We are Melbourne locals but decided to book a last minute room for the long labour day weekend in the city as a mini honeymoon break before our big trip to Europe.

We got a fantastic rate and were upgraded to an impressive 1 bed apartment with equally impressive views.

Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Only complaint was that the sauna didn't seem to work, but in the grand scheme of things this didn't affect our weekend one bit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear aloa21,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The management team and I were delighted to read about the ‘impressive 1 bed apartment with equally impressive views’.

The housekeeping department were delighted that you recognised the cleanliness of the hotel, thank you for your recognition as sometimes this behind the scenes department gets forgotten.

Your feedback has been passed on to our maintenance department who have checked the sauna and all is in working order thank you for letting us know.

aloa21, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 weeks with husband on a business trip. Great location, comfortable apartment with a good bed! Always taxis out front,very handy. Good on site restaurant QSR where we ate a lot! Near hardware lane with a variety of dining options. Nice little pool and a good gym. Just terrific for a long stay. The penthouses look really good; we had a premium one bed and I wouldn't want to go lower. Only slight issue was housekeeping who were hit and miss. Would have appreciated a better deep clean over a 3 week stay, and needed prompts to replenish items at times. Also why the heck were movies 25 bucks for 24 hours?!? Ridiculous .... Just don't bother offering them at that price.... Annoying.That being said it was perfectly fine and we would stay again . Really liked that they lit candles in the reception every day! Nice touch! Sometimes it's the little things..!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Zella,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

We were delighted to read about the ‘comfortable apartment with a good bed!’ as Adina Melbourne is a ‘home away from home’.

Thank you for the feedback regarding the ‘hit and miss’ housekeeping service, I want to assure you and our future guests that this is not indicative of the standards of Adina Melbourne, Queen Street as you can see by the testimonials below. I have taken your feedback to our housekeeping team to refocus on this area thank you for bringing this to our attention. Feedback as yours is greatly appreciated as it gives us the opportunity to improve our service.

If you would like to discuss this in further detail, please contact me at the hotel directly on 03 9934 0000.

Many thanks once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Many thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a three bedroom apartment on the 20th floor with an excellent view. We could not fault our room if we tried. The three bedrooms were excellent. The en suite was excellent. The main bathroom was excellent and large including both a shower and large bath tub. Every cleaning and pampering requirement was catered to in both bathrooms. The wardrobe space in each bedroom was endless with the main wardrobe being a large walk through. Each bedroom had its own TV with Foxtel, and a large TV (approx 42") was in the sitting room with an audio system in the lower cabinet. There was a full laundry room. The kitchen was fully equipped including dishwasher. There was an eight place table in the dining area with plenty of seating in the lounge. All bedrooms had opening windows or doors with two walk out balconies running off the sitting room. The unit was centrally air conditioned with wall mounted control. The view was great and extensive as the apartment was a corner room. Fee limited wifi was available in the lobby. Towels and servicing was done daily including bed making (Linen wasn't changed daily). Parking was underneath at a fixed charge per day of stay. The staff were wonderful.
The central location was perfect making attractions such as Victoria Market, Old Melbourne Gaol (Ned Kelly), Central Station, Bourke Street Mall, Southern Cross Station, and the Yarra all within a few minutes walk. A car is not necessary with the excellent public transport.
The Adina is reasonably expensive but when you look at what you get in the overall package it is great value for comfort , quality, service, and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear john j,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The management team and I were excited to read about your excellent stay, with everything in the apartment being ‘excellent’ and the team being ‘wonderful’ this highlights the passion that Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne has for hospitality.

Our location in the middle of the CBD enables easy walking access to all the attractions Melbourne is famous for, with trams on the corner to enable you to explore further, or when the feet get tired.

john j, we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent reception staff, lovely room with good size kitchen and near new cooking utensils (the water jar for cold water was exceptionally handy over the course of 4 nights stay). Handy to QVM for fresh produce and close to a lot of eateries in the city (Swanston St/Elizabeth St) and not on major tram line so it is quiet at night when you really need a rest. The search for a perfect spot to stay is over, we will be back.

Room Tip: room 138 on level 19 has great view to the GPO
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear JaneCApril,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback.

The management team and I were ecstatic reading about the ‘excellent reception’ team, and the ‘lovely room’. The cold water jar is a big hit with our guests over the warmer days at reception; we also have cool moist towelettes to help refresh our guests when they check in or come back in from a hot day.

With our location we are close to all the major Melbourne attractions, Hardware Lane, Queen Victoria Markets, Bourke Street Mall, all within walking distance. Our location has trams on the corner for ease of access to explore the city, with minimised noise at night we are so glad you got to explore and take advantage of our prime location.

JaneCApril, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘perfect spot to stay’ in the future.

Many thanks,

Damian

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked at the last minute and received a very economical deal. The room was beautifully appointed, incredibly spacious, clean, staff were generous with their assistance and lovely at all times. We booked a studio but received a 1-bed apartment with full balcony, full size bath, and big kitchen. A fantastic place, we only stayed one night but would be a perfect base for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Short_Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

At Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne we have spacious rooms, with all of the facilities of home.

The housekeeping department were delighted that you recognised the cleanliness of the hotel, thank you for your recognition as sometimes this behind the scenes department gets forgotten.

Short_Elizabeth, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many thanks once again,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.