We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Melbourne for the Australian Open tennis. This hotel/ apartments are in a central location within walking distance of Bourke St Mall, trams etc. The rooms were well equipped, clean and spacious. There was plenty of room for 3 adults and 2 kids. The attached restaurant Queen Street Rescue is also excellent. Staff at Adina were friendly and very helpful with any requests or local information. I would definitely stay there again. It made our trip very pleasant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Jaygirl40,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are glad you were able to enjoy the space and modern facilities that our apartments offer. The housekeeping department were delighted that you recognised the cleanliness of the hotel, thank you for your recognition as sometimes this behind the scenes department gets forgotten.

We have passed your feedback on to the manager of Queen Street Rescue and they were very happy with your comments.

Jaygirl40, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many Thanks once again,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    270
    78
    22
    12
See reviews for
160
207
35
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Adina the third week of December and it was an excellent stay. The staff is extremely attentive and courteous, and made our trip and stay very comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located and is walking distance to some great shopping and excellent restaurants of different budgets both in the CBD and Chinatown. They also helped us with organizing day tours and a rental car when we needed it. They also have an excellent cafe downstairs where you can get some quick meals if you need to. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Pghosh1051,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The management team and I were delighted to read that our team members were ‘extremely attentive and courteous’ providing you with great service that we aim to deliver.

With our central location, we are spoilt for choice whether it be shopping, dining or exploring many of the hidden laneways scattered throughout the CBD, everything is a short stroll away, and when you get tired feet from all the adventures, there are the trams, located just around the corner to bring you to the hotel at the end of the day.

I have passed your ‘excellent’ feedback on to Queen Street Rescue, and they were delighted that you enjoyed their food and service.

Pghosh1051, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many Thanks once again,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Our family of four was in Melbourne for four nights around New Year's Eve, and the Adina was really perfect for us. First of all, the location was terrific - very central to everything. We could walk to anything we wanted to do in the CBD, whether it was restaurants, museums, shopping, movie theaters. Secondly, our room was beyond fantastic. We booked a two-bedroom suite, and it was huge - complete with kitchen and dinning room (which we didn't really need, but I could see using it for a longer stay). Also, the room was on the 21st floor, so the view from our balcony of the fireworks on NYE was spectacular! Thirdly, the hotel had a parking garage with very competitive rates, so that was a big advantage for our car, too. As a bonus, there was a great breakfast restaurant next door which we enjoyed for two of our mornings in Melbourne. For family travel, this place was a real find - highly recommended!

Room Tip: The higher the better - the view is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear tbbbnbab,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy all that Melbourne had to offer during your stay. Being able to park your car and explore our wonderful city on foot or by tram, is one the vantage points you have when staying with us, thank you for sharing this with fellow reviewers. The 21st floor has out most spacious penthouses, with views of the CBD, this year you were lucky that the New Year’s Eve fireworks could be seen from your balcony, as every year the City Council changes the locations.

The team and I were thrilled to hear that ‘our room was beyond fantastic’, making the apartment live up to our concept; to provide “space” be it for work or play in central locations a lifestyle experience.

Once again thank you, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen St Soon!

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014 and was not disappointed by it. We booked a studio room with a Queen bed. Size-wise, it was a bit small but it was okay. We were just a few blocks away from Chinatown and Swanston Street so walking around was no problem. Lots of eateries within walking distance of the hotel. And Queen Victoria Market is just up Queen Street.

If I were to nitpick, I would just say that the walls in the hotel are a bit thin. I could hear our neighbors chatting and laughing up till about 4AM. Other than that, for the price and location, can't really go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear deekay744,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Our studio rooms are great for those 1 to 2 night stays, next time you are with us book one of our One Bedroom apartments or even the One Bedroom Penthouse the size and facilities will not disappoint! We are lucky to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer on our doorstep: shopping, dining and nightlife.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at the hotel on +61 (0)3 9934 0000.

Many thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This being our last stop for 9 nights, we wanted somewhere comfortable to stay for the Christmas/New Year break. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who highlighted multiple copies of maps for us, and the information given to us was extremely helpful.

On our arrival up to the 19th floor (out of 20) our room was huge containing 2 separate bedrooms at either end of the apartment with their own ensuite, and one also had a washer and dryer. The lounge/dining was very comfortable and it also had a full kitchen as well. There was a small balcony but this was not a problem. There were 4 of us staying and with the airconditioning during the warm evenings it made for a pleasant stay.

It is located within a 2 block distance from Bourke Street Mall and only a half block from a number of restaurants/bars.

The parking is secure but costs $21 per day, and if you have a larger car like we did will fit quite easily (just have to take care when driving through as it gets narrow in some parts).

Overall an extremely enjoyable stay and would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear notjustemail,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your rave review!

The Management team and I were excited to hear about the service you received on the front desk’s, “smiling faces”, “cheerful attitude” and being “willing to help” with all questions.

With our home away from home facilities, as highlighted by the full kitchen & comfortable lounge/dining area; all of our apartments have access to washing machines & dryers.

We are spoilt with our location, with trams on the corner to enable guests to explore more of the fantastic city of Melbourne that we call home, with its mix of restaurants, shopping and events, allowing our guests to park the car and explore by foot or tram.

Notjustemail, thank you once again for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many Thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for NYE

We had room 36 on the 8th floor - very big

View wasn't great 0 it looked oknto anokther buildign but we didn't care

OIrdered twin room but double bed was made - phoned reception and they advised they could fix immediately or later in the day whilst we were out

Location is great - I'm originally from Melbourne so I knew this would be the case

Couple of small issues - they forgot to pass on our wake up call the next morning (4.45am NYD) and forgot to book our taxi - even though I had followed this up twice.

Luckily I had set my own alarm, and there just happened to be a taxi outside the hotel as we wanted to leave.

Ordered the breakfast basket for AUD$12.50 - which wasn't too bad value - as we had early flights breakfast wasn't available.

Room service was over by 11pm which was a bit of a pain - but may have been becuase it was NYE and the restaurant downstairs was closed at that time.

All in all I would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Raelene C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

Our guests get the pleasure of enjoying large living spaces, while having all the luxury of staying in a fully serviced hotel.

The breakfast pack is a great option for the early traveller, as it can be left in our apartment the night before ready for a nutritious breakfast before embarking on the day.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I look forward to making your next stay with us even more memorable.

Many thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are a family of 5 adults and stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. The room was large with 2 comfortable big beds and a sofa in the living room. The kitchen was fully equipped and well maintained. I loved the walk-in wardrobe in the bedroom!

The location was just perfect with easy access to the train station, bus and tram stops. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sharifah067,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback!

The team and I were delighted to hear about the friendly and helpful service you received.
Our two bedroom apartments bring our brands tag line to life of ‘A home away from home’ all of the living space, storage space and well equipped kitchen so you can cook up a feast; everything a travelling family could need.

We are excited that you enjoyed our central location as everything is within easy reach, trams on the corner, shopping, Queen Victoria Markets and restaurants.

Sharifah067, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Many thanks once again for the fantastic feedback.

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.