We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent place at a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very decent place at a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2014 and was not disappointed by it. We booked a studio room with a Queen bed. Size-wise, it was a bit small but it was okay. We were just a few blocks away from Chinatown and Swanston Street so walking around was no problem. Lots of eateries within walking distance of the hotel. And Queen Victoria Market is just up Queen Street.

If I were to nitpick, I would just say that the walls in the hotel are a bit thin. I could hear our neighbors chatting and laughing up till about 4AM. Other than that, for the price and location, can't really go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear deekay744,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Our studio rooms are great for those 1 to 2 night stays, next time you are with us book one of our One Bedroom apartments or even the One Bedroom Penthouse the size and facilities will not disappoint! We are lucky to enjoy all that Melbourne has to offer on our doorstep: shopping, dining and nightlife.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at the hotel on +61 (0)3 9934 0000.

Many thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    349
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
205
251
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This being our last stop for 9 nights, we wanted somewhere comfortable to stay for the Christmas/New Year break. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff who highlighted multiple copies of maps for us, and the information given to us was extremely helpful.

On our arrival up to the 19th floor (out of 20) our room was huge containing 2 separate bedrooms at either end of the apartment with their own ensuite, and one also had a washer and dryer. The lounge/dining was very comfortable and it also had a full kitchen as well. There was a small balcony but this was not a problem. There were 4 of us staying and with the airconditioning during the warm evenings it made for a pleasant stay.

It is located within a 2 block distance from Bourke Street Mall and only a half block from a number of restaurants/bars.

The parking is secure but costs $21 per day, and if you have a larger car like we did will fit quite easily (just have to take care when driving through as it gets narrow in some parts).

Overall an extremely enjoyable stay and would definately consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear notjustemail,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your rave review!

The Management team and I were excited to hear about the service you received on the front desk’s, “smiling faces”, “cheerful attitude” and being “willing to help” with all questions.

With our home away from home facilities, as highlighted by the full kitchen & comfortable lounge/dining area; all of our apartments have access to washing machines & dryers.

We are spoilt with our location, with trams on the corner to enable guests to explore more of the fantastic city of Melbourne that we call home, with its mix of restaurants, shopping and events, allowing our guests to park the car and explore by foot or tram.

Notjustemail, thank you once again for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many Thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for NYE

We had room 36 on the 8th floor - very big

View wasn't great 0 it looked oknto anokther buildign but we didn't care

OIrdered twin room but double bed was made - phoned reception and they advised they could fix immediately or later in the day whilst we were out

Location is great - I'm originally from Melbourne so I knew this would be the case

Couple of small issues - they forgot to pass on our wake up call the next morning (4.45am NYD) and forgot to book our taxi - even though I had followed this up twice.

Luckily I had set my own alarm, and there just happened to be a taxi outside the hotel as we wanted to leave.

Ordered the breakfast basket for AUD$12.50 - which wasn't too bad value - as we had early flights breakfast wasn't available.

Room service was over by 11pm which was a bit of a pain - but may have been becuase it was NYE and the restaurant downstairs was closed at that time.

All in all I would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Raelene C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

Our guests get the pleasure of enjoying large living spaces, while having all the luxury of staying in a fully serviced hotel.

The breakfast pack is a great option for the early traveller, as it can be left in our apartment the night before ready for a nutritious breakfast before embarking on the day.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I look forward to making your next stay with us even more memorable.

Many thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are a family of 5 adults and stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. The room was large with 2 comfortable big beds and a sofa in the living room. The kitchen was fully equipped and well maintained. I loved the walk-in wardrobe in the bedroom!

The location was just perfect with easy access to the train station, bus and tram stops. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sharifah067,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback!

The team and I were delighted to hear about the friendly and helpful service you received.
Our two bedroom apartments bring our brands tag line to life of ‘A home away from home’ all of the living space, storage space and well equipped kitchen so you can cook up a feast; everything a travelling family could need.

We are excited that you enjoyed our central location as everything is within easy reach, trams on the corner, shopping, Queen Victoria Markets and restaurants.

Sharifah067, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Many thanks once again for the fantastic feedback.

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gravatt East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. Walking distance to Bourke Street Mall and the CBD. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby in Hardware Lane as well as Queen Street Rescue cafe adjacent to the hotel building. A taxi rank outside the hotel makes it easy to get transport if you need to go further afield than the city.
We had contact with the hotel prior to our stay and they we always very couteous and helpful, going out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable.
The rooms are a little tired and could do with a freshen up but are well catered, very clean and serviced daily. We stayed in a Penthouse apartment - four adults and a baby. A high chair was provided free of charge and we had all the other requirements with us. At night, when the baby was sleeping, we did have to be conscious of the volume of the television and our talking because the upstairs bedrooms have shutters which open on to the downstairs living area.
One criticism would be the wi-fi. We generally felt that it was expensive and connectivity was inconsistent. Not sure why Australian hotels don't provide free wi-fi as in overseas hotels. If problems are experienced, contact the hotel ISP at the time. We mentioned it at the time of check out and our account was reduced but (because we were able to use it) not significantly.
Overall though, an excellent stay in this hotel. We definitely would stay again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Jamadii,

Thank you for the excellent feedback.

We have a fantastic location with great access to trams, trains, buses and taxis close by. Perfect for exploring all that Melbourne has to offer, and for venturing beyond the CBD.

I was thrilled to read about the service you received from the team, before you had even checked-in to the hotel, and the cleanliness of your apartment. Our penthouses have been designed to enable maximum views of the city from the upstairs bedrooms.

I have passed on your comments to our internet provider; if you do choose to stay with us again we do provide free half hour internet per day for our guests in the lobby.

The team and I were pleased that your stay was ‘excellent’ and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Many Thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My fiance and I stayed about a week at the Adina and we were both very impressed with the quality of the rooms, cleanliness and services provided. House keeping was spotless, and very friendly and respectful staff. We were disappointed with the outrageous cost of wifi, but overall we enjoyed our stay, and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Emily K,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

The team and I were delighted to read about the fantastic service you received from the friendly team and the quality of the rooms at the hotel. Housekeeping were especially pleased by the comment you made “spotless” sometimes back of house team members don’t get recognised for their hard work so thank you for this recognition it is very appreciated.

I have passed on your comments to our internet provider; if you do choose to stay with us again we do provide 30 minutes per day of free internet for our guests in our lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Queen Street in the future.

Many thanks,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Room was great, with a great view. The Facilities were great. The location of the hotel is excellent for those looking for easy access to the city as it is within walking distance. However, as we had a car, parking was a bit of a problem as the parking facilities were a bit small. But overall, I would still recommend it to those looking for a hotel close to the heart of Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian G, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear souppyfanatix,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The team and I are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay especially that you got to experience the beautiful views of our city. Being an apartment style hotel the facilities we provide compared to a normal hotel does make a difference contributing to a more comfortable experience. Our central location gives our guests the ability to explore Melbourne with ease, with access to trams just on the corner.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne soon!

Many thanks once again,

Damian Gear
Duty Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.