We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but broken appliances” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice location, but broken appliances”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked the Adina as a central Melbourne base, and the location is excellent. We had a 1 bedroom apartments which gave us more room than a hotel room, with a basic kitchen (which was all that was needed). The staff were very helpful, with the only reason for the 'average' rating being the facilities. My key card didn't work and had to get redone, the kettle was broken and had to be replaced, and the TV didn't work with a new remote and sensor needed. Very frustrating having to call reception any time I wanted to use something in the room. Finding a black hair (not mine!) on our pillow one evening also wasn't pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    493
    118
    31
    20
See reviews for
292
349
52
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brindisi, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nothing to say but just the best you can get for the price you pay. Accomodations in Melbourne are very expensive and most of the time they don't worth it. This Adina hotel is simply superb. The room size, tipe of forniture and cleanliness exceeded my expectations. Highly recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good location for a visit to Melbourne. You can walk to most places in the centre in 10 to 15 minutes. The apartment we had was on the 17th floor with lovely views of the surrounding buildings. We were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness and we really enjoyed our time here. The staff at the reception desk were very helpful and friendly. The Internet policy is a bit strange. You can use the Internet free in the lobby area for 30 minutes out of every 24 hours. Otherwise you have to pay either a daily charge or a three day fee. Apart from that, everything was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Like most of the Adina apartments I have stayed at, this had good service, rooms and was clean. Not far of a walk to the main shopping area. There were some good restaurants near the hotel, just ask the staff for recommendations. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

One of the nicest hotel experiences I have ever had. I travel round the world for work and found this to be perfect in terms of space, decoration, service and convenience for everything in the city. As soon as I arrived I felt very calm and welcomed. The staff couldn't do enough to support me during my stay. And the room was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travelled as a family to Melbourne and chose the Adina as it had two bedroom apartments with single beds for us all (4 adults and a baby). We were checked in at 12.00 which was good, but upon dragging all the bags, pram etc to the room we had 2 queen beds.
When we contacted reception we were told they were fully booked and 'they'd see what they could do'. As we had a copy of the original booking, they were able to see that we had booked the twin beds. We were told to wait in the room until they found something.
We were then called and requested to wait in the lobby until a room became available. They had no sympathy for the fact the baby was asleep and there was only one person left in the room to manage the baby and all the bags for 5 people. Their attitude was "oh well we only guarantee check in from 2pm). We were then found a room with 2 levels which was a right pain with a baby and steep stairs. Overall, a great deal of stress was had by all, which was not what we needed with the first time travelling with an 8 week old baby.
The location was great though, close to Bourke Street Mall, food, transport etc. It was very noisy though, and even on the 21st floor we were woken by street noise/party goers etc
The room was modern and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The very helpful front office, Harry and also the location were two of advantages of this hotel. The shopping mall at bourke street just within 3 minutes and also tram to st kilda and docklands were around. For the one that have no time to cook, convinient stores just within the corner as well as coffe shop degani ( best brew coffes ) and subway sandwiches available down stairs. So for us if you travel with family , medina grand is the best place. Dont forget to buy Miky card at convinient stores 711 that grand your tour around city with buses, trams and train. Enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
0.5 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, Flinders Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#47 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.