We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep a copy of your booking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Keep a copy of your booking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travelled as a family to Melbourne and chose the Adina as it had two bedroom apartments with single beds for us all (4 adults and a baby). We were checked in at 12.00 which was good, but upon dragging all the bags, pram etc to the room we had 2 queen beds.
When we contacted reception we were told they were fully booked and 'they'd see what they could do'. As we had a copy of the original booking, they were able to see that we had booked the twin beds. We were told to wait in the room until they found something.
We were then called and requested to wait in the lobby until a room became available. They had no sympathy for the fact the baby was asleep and there was only one person left in the room to manage the baby and all the bags for 5 people. Their attitude was "oh well we only guarantee check in from 2pm). We were then found a room with 2 levels which was a right pain with a baby and steep stairs. Overall, a great deal of stress was had by all, which was not what we needed with the first time travelling with an 8 week old baby.
The location was great though, close to Bourke Street Mall, food, transport etc. It was very noisy though, and even on the 21st floor we were woken by street noise/party goers etc
The room was modern and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    304
    83
    24
    12
See reviews for
181
222
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The very helpful front office, Harry and also the location were two of advantages of this hotel. The shopping mall at bourke street just within 3 minutes and also tram to st kilda and docklands were around. For the one that have no time to cook, convinient stores just within the corner as well as coffe shop degani ( best brew coffes ) and subway sandwiches available down stairs. So for us if you travel with family , medina grand is the best place. Dont forget to buy Miky card at convinient stores 711 that grand your tour around city with buses, trams and train. Enjoy !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment with a living room, kitchen, and large balcony facing a massive green park. I had no idea the place had a gym so that was a pleasant surprise (but wish I had known so I could have packed my gym shoes!). This place is perfect for literally anyone-- the immediate area is very quiet with lots of stylish little cafes and restaurants, but literally a block away is the party scene of Fitzroy Street with all the alcohol-drenched fun you could wish for. The kitchen and mini-bar are all fully stocked and there are markets close enough to purchase groceries if you'd like to cook at home. The staff are unfailingly pleasant and helpful (especially Yoo-- we fell in love with her!!) and are there 24 hours for your convenience. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our friends traveling with us booked 7 nites for 6 nite stay as we required early-check-in. (Our flight got in at 8am).

Check-in was delightful. Harry had us in our Premier 2 bedroom apartment, Rm 124 on the 18th floor in no time at all.

Location
Centrally-located in the CBD. 12 mins easy walk to Queen Victoria Market. Surrounded by great cafes. Our fave breakfast place – The Hardware Societe is only 3 mins walk away. Felt safe walking even in the evenings in the neighborhood

The Apartment
• Light-filled living room
• Kitchen adequate for short stay
• Balcony tiny (standing room only). Railing had cigarette ash from upper floors. View very pleasant of the CBD surrounds
• Master bedroom had a floor-to ceiling-window. Blackout drapes however were too short and couldn’t do its job properly. Tub missing a stopper but was quickly resolved with a quick call to Harry at Reception.
• Second bedroom had no windows and no real doors. Sliding door with screen separated the bedroom from the living room. No tub. Washer and dryer worked well.
• A/c worked well
• No traffic noise at all

• Elevators were slow. At times only one of the three were functioning

Parking
Tight maneuvering down a seedy lane next to the hotel. Make sure you book a smaller car! Parking $21/day

My gripe
• Housekeeping never vacuumed or cleaned our kitchen floor during our entire stay
• Halfway through out stay, the safe in the master bedroom started playing up. Had to call Reception twice before someone showed up to tell us to call Reception again to get it fixed tomorrow! Next day took two calls to Reception again before the Engineer came to look at the safe and eventually replace it altogether, but into the other bedroom.
• At check-out we were charged for an extra bottle of water by Housekeeping. This was quickly settled by Fergie
• Quality of reception staff varied greatly. Harry was our favorite. Great service also from Fergie & Terry

Would I stay here again? The lodging delivered a good nite’s sleep but there was a certain lack of character/warmth about the place. Melbourne is so rich in history with so many buildings with character. Next time we’ll probably go for a hotel and the Westin is top of our list.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor or book the Premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment , which had a great view. The apartment was very quiet being on Queen St. It was lovely and clean and very well equipped. We very much enjoyed being able to sit out on the balony to enjoy the city atmosphere. The staff were all very helpful and friendly with a great knowledge of the city.

We had a wonderful six nights stay and could have not wished for any thing more. We were very greatful for such a lovely apartment and will be definately stay again on our next trip to Melbourne.

It is in such a great location so close to good restaurants,Victoria Market trams and shopping.

Colleen B

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with a group of friends in a premier 2 bedroom apartment. Found the apartment clean and tidy. The complex is very well situated within Melbourne. Good size lounge area with 2 bathrooms which was very handy with 4 girls! Will definitely make this our apartment of choice when we travel to Melbourne in future. Loved it.

QSR restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Breakfast was divine and the service was excellent.

Only small downside was a lack of blockout curtains in the lounge which allows morning light into the 2nd bedroom. No huge issue though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Adina Apartment Hotel used to be the Medina Grand. We stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe Suite. We had a separate living room, dining area and kitchen as well as a spacious bedroom and nice bathroom. The apartment looked like it had just been redone. Everything was beautiful. The service was exceptional. The front desk was very helpful confirming our excursions and transfers. We definitely would stay here again if we ever get back to Melbourne. We will research staying at other Adina properties in other cities and contries.

The location of the property was centrally located. It was an easy walk down Queen Street to the river and across the river to restaurants and shops. There was also a very nice pedestrian area with lots of restaurants 1 block away fom the Adina. There was a restaurant ajoining the hotel which was fine for drinks and a quick bite.

Room Tip: Stay in a deluxe suite on a high floo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.