We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel - perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My sister and I were staying in Melbourne for a few nights so wanted a hotel with a good location with good value for money - we certainly got it. We opted for a studio which had a good bathroom and really good kitchen facilities (even though we didnt use them). We even managed to venture to the gym which was a good size with a decent variety of equipment. If you want great location then this is your man!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Medina Grand Melbourne and your upgrade to a One Bedroom Apartment.

We look forward to welcoming you and your sister back to Medina Grand Melbourne on your next visit.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    232
    71
    21
    12
See reviews for
134
181
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had mixed expectations booking in here, having worked in the hotel industry a long time I've always stayed with my employer's chain. But I got a great price over 3 nights and the location was undeniably perfect.

We checked in a little early, and the wonderful Front Desk Agent, (Harry) did his best to successfully get us a clean room. After a few minutes he did, and we were delighted with a slight upgrade. He was personable, friendly, efficient and almost overly helpful. Good start.

The room was great, 1 bedroom apartment and huge. Massive seperate bedroom, kitchen/living area, and big bathroom. It was clean and well kept. 2 TV's, plenty of towels, everything I would expect in a 5* hotel. Only room complaint was that our bedroom curtains did not quite close all the way in the middle. But not a big deal.

We used the gym and swimming pool, both great, good size. We were assisted in booking a transfer back to the airport (same staff member) very quickly, and again friendly.

Room servicing was good, towels replaced etc.

All in all, fantastic stay. Totally comfortable room, fully stocked kitchen made life easy when we wanted it too, and the location is amazing. Would I stay here again? Absolutley. Look forward to it. :)

Room Tip: I requested an upgrade when booking, and it was fulfilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Medina Grand Melbourne. We will be sure to pass your feedback onto Harry. He is terriffic !!!

We too look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne when you next visit.

Best regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived around 10am and were told we would get a call when our room was ready. No call received, so we headed back at 2pm and were told to wait. So we waited - for over 30 minutes. No explanation,no eye contact, no apology, no communication. When we asked, we were told that the room was ready, but had to be checked by the Housekeeping Manager - and they couldn't find her. For half an hour. The poor customer service creates ill-feeling right from the start. Improve your people skills, Medina reception staff!

Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. And we got it for a good price. Extra television in the bedroom was appreciated. Controlling the water pressure (or lack thereof) and temperature in the shower was tedious. Good location and affordable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. The lack of service you described at reception is certainly well below the level of service we aspire to.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartment and the location, and hope that you will come back and experience the level of service that we do aspire to provide.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The apartment met all expectations and we would stay there again when visiting Melbourne. However I would question the logic behind not allowing guests to check in before 2:00pm? We arrived at 1:30pm and were told to wait until 2:00pm, this seemed to be standard practive, if the rooms are ready why keep people waiting in the foyer?

The reception desk staff were slow to attend to customers and were missing basic skills to engage and welcome staff.

WiFi at $12.95 / hr was expensive, when will Australia catch up with Europe and the US and offer free WiFi?

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your very valuable feedback.

Please accept our appologies that you had to wait until 2pm to check into your room. We can confirm that it is not our standard practice to have our guests wait for a room. If a room is ready prior to the check in time of 2pm, we will happily allow our guests access to the room. Again, apologies if you felt this did not occur.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in th near future.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for nine nights in 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious and nice and looked liked had been recently renovated. Very good location. Staff helpful but not over friendly. Only complaint was apartment backed onto lift wells which was very noisy and annoying for most of the time...a bit of relief afetr midnight.Should not have ro put up with this considering the cost of this apartement. I have never stayed oin a a hotel where a room backs onto a lift. I mentioned this to desk staff and was advised that all 2 bedroom apartments back onto the lifts. Dissapointing as this is the only reason I would have to not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank you for your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed the location and the apartment with the exception of the lift noise.

We do have a number of other combinations of rooms including Three Bedroom Apartments and interconnecting One Bedroom Apartments.

Please contact us when you are next travelling so we can come up with a more suitable solution.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

My first time going to Melbourne and I booked somewhere in a great location. Short walk to shopping district and over the road from the river and aquarium.
I stay for 3 nights in a lovely room! The facilities where awesome! I could have easily stayed a week!!
The staff were good, did their job.
I didn't eat from the restaurant as I was close to loads of Bristos and restaurants.
I would stay here again.
Not amazing but great!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We thank you for your feedback, and are delighted you enjoyed our central location.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed some of the great things to see and do in our beautiful Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I will recommend Medina Grand to anyone heading to Melbourne. Our recent stay was perfect on all counts.
Trish
South Fremantle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Trish,

We thank you for your lovely feedback and promise to recommend us to all your friends.

We would love to welcome you back to Medina Grand Melbourne when you next visit Melbourne.

Best regards

Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.