We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is a good place to stay but a little cramped. The Medina Grande Melbourne is centrally located downtown within walking distance of the Queen Vicrtorian Market, lots of eating places and the Crown casino. We walked everywhere we wanted to visit easily. The rooms were a little on the small side but were nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. More than 85% of our rooms are spacious One, Two and Three Bedroom Apartments and I would be more than happy to assist you in choosing a room that meets your needs for space on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    347
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
204
249
40
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We found the rooms dingy--OK if this were listed as a 3* or 3-1/2*, but not really 4*. We were given a 1-bedroom on the 6th floor. The website says 1-bedrooms have washing machines, but it turned out there was one outside the room in an alcove; and the blackout curtain didn't close properly. The rooms were small, dusty, and the carpet didn't look too good. Comfortable bed, though. The hotel did make good recovery. After complaining, we were comped breakfast (3 mornings) and promised a better room for the next 2 nights. The second room was considerably larger and seemed cleaner (but still a bit worn and stained), on the 12th floor (and with washing machine in room). Some of the gym equipment was broken. Upon checkout, they had charged for some of the breakfasts, but this was cleared up instantly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Melbourne.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the relevant department to improve our overall guest experience.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I stay here twice a year on business so have been very familiar with this hotel over the last 5 years. The one-bedroom apartments are spacious and give one a sense of home, being able to stretch out in the lounge or the bedroom. I would not recommend the studio rooms which are tiny and barely functional.

There is a heated indoor pool and small gym, which has been handy for those cold rainy Melbourne days. It's not the newest property around, but has all the basic necessities to make a 3-4 day business trip tolerable. Probably why I've stuck with it over the last half a decade.

One thing they did not provide was a room service hot cooked breakfast or lunch, something I'm hoping will be remedied with their new bar/restaurant...

Room Tip: Avoid the studio rooms at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your ongoing loyalty. We also thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. I can confirm that our new restaurant will be providing room service breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Location excellent - very central and within easy walking distance to Southern Cross station (about 15 mins).
Reception staff great - very helpful and tried hard to be of assistance.
BUT:
Not double glazed so street noise very obvious at night.
Booked studio unit and was very disappointed to find room very small and tired looking. Room smelt on arrival and needed to open windows and air. A/C noisy and needed to turn off at night which made room incredibly stuffy. Blanket ripped.
Upgraded to 1 bedroom unit - significantly better size and facilities and would strongly recommend this option.

Room Tip: Opt of 1 bedroom at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our central location, friendly reception team and our one bedroom apartments. I also apologise for the inconvenience caused by the street noise you heard from your studio room, it is not feedback we usually get from our guests as our accommodation rooms run from the 6th floor to the 21st floor and usually have a significant buffer from the street.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Great location. Very helpful reception and other staff.

Apartments clean & reasonably equipped. One of the double bedrooms was a bit small, the other had no natural light. No twin beds so one of us had to sleep in main lounge area - but at least it was a proper bed!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our location and friendly team. For future visits, please advise us of your requirements for additional bedding options.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed on June long weekend with a group for a shopping/footy trip in Melbourne. We accommodated 5 of us in a 3 bedroom apartment with a lot of space for us all. Living area was huge, views fantastic. Location is excellent for shopping and getting to Ethihad stadium. Only problem with the area is that this particular part of Melbourne is very quiet out of business hours. We will return again next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. I am also pleased to advise you that our restaurant/bar is now open on the ground floor which provides a terrific atmosphere to dine in or just have a drink before the footy.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waratah, NSW
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We just spent 3 nights in a studio room at the Medina. The location was great, a short walk to the Bourke St mall and close to trams. There were plenty of resturants close by too. The staff were very helpful and gave clear instructions of where to get the trams and to buy the tram tickets. We arrived early and they were able to let us in a room straight away.
The room size was smaller than I expected, but was big enough for the 2 of us. The room was equipped withn microwave and had a seperate sink for filling the kettle.
We overlooked Little Bourke St and it was quiet, did not hear traffic or other guests.
We really enjoyed it here and thought it was goos value compared to some of the other budget hotels. I think would be a good place to bring the kids and stay in a 2 bed aprt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunardello, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The team at Medina Grand Melbourne are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback regarding our location, our team and our nice quiet rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Grand Melbourne in a 2 Bedroom Apartment with you family in the near future.


Kind regards
Damon Lunardello
Area Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne

Address: 189 Queens Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Medina Grand Melbourne)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Medina Grand Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Medina Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.