We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tired and in need of an upgrade” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Darling Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very tired and in need of an upgrade”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

These apartments are around three star and very tired.

The standard of the rooms varies enormously with their location within the building from the “dungeon”, which is below ground level with a very small dirty courtyard, no furniture, and ten foot concrete walls on three sides, to other rooms where their location is somewhere near close to acceptable for very basic accommodation. The building backs right onto the railway line and the trains are very noisy, making sleep difficult.

Don’t be tricked into thinking you are getting good value by booking over an internet accommodation site, the accommodation is only worth around A$130 per night for the better located rooms, NO more. The appliances are old, the fridge seal was broken and the stove was very dirty particularly the oven. The beds are overdue for replacement and are uncomfortable. The carpets are old and dirty – it appears that cleaners do not vacuum the carpets very often.

The on site manager is friendly and helpful but it is obvious that Management is not prepared to spend any money upgrading the property and the remaining staff are inexperienced.

The location of the apartments is a fifteen minute walk to the shopping and restaurant areas of Toorak Road and Chapel Street.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    134
    45
    13
    8
See reviews for
97
75
16
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We had booked a 2-bedroom apartment via wotif.com at the Medina South Yarra. Very good location. Short walk to Chapel St. and with the tram or the city train very fast to get to anywhere in Melbourne. Only problem is the noise of the trains which seem to rumble through your room at regular intervals 24 hours a day. Obviously the downside of being so close to the station...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Stayed here for a night in June. The apartment is fine, have stayed in other medina apartments, and it's fairly similar though definitely showing it's age. The carpets are stained, the floor in the kitchen was totally shredded, though they did have some nice artwork on the walls and the apartment was very clean. The bed was very comfortable.
I had an apartment overlooking the railway, and didn't find that the trains bothered my sleep - they're not diesel or steam driven, and dont toot their whistles! I think I read another review that said the place was double insulated, my room definitely wasn't, so if you're a light sleeped avoid the apartments at the back. The location is great, a short walk to the train station which is one stop from the MCG (you can also walk to the G - about 25 minute walk), and 3 stops into the city. Good cafe on the same street on the way to the station, great sandwiches.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. I was living there in 2007-08. It was an unforgettable trip with my husband. It was such a comfortable and wonderful accommodation that we could hardly drag ourselves away from the hotel to go outside. It is one of the supreme and deluxe serviced apartments in the most happening area of city ‘southyara’. If you love tennis you can find some of star players like sania mirza living next door to you during Australian open tournament..
My room number was 22, it is a full-size vast room where we both stayed, my bed room windows & balcony open with a picturesque view. Our hotel is just situated at a T-junction of roads, which makes the view more panoramic and is very close to the river southyara which is at few steps walking distance to our hotel medina. Daily at five o clock when we woke up, a very natural scenic view can be seen from sliding window of my room. Sun rises from the facade and solitary south river is flowing with her gigantic phase. Our room has everything comfy and well-appointed with a relaxed sofa, an undersized dining table, TV with music system and DVD player. Bedroom has huge wardrobe with sliding door of mirror which gives an impression of doubling the room size. A peewee kitchen was attached with the room with all the kitchen accessories like a electric stove burner, microwave, 200lt refrigerator, all types of kitchen utensils for cooking though heavy in weight but good quality for use, and a dishwasher with soaps. Comfy bathroom having bath tub and shower giving equally hot and cold water. Having a basin and mirror at the border of basin a hair dryer is set aside, and on the further side bathroom cabinet has washing machine and Dryer; fragranced soaps and shampoos are offered as complimentary services from hotel. Also this grand star hotel is having swimming pool, not as big as the next door hotel but attractive and clean. The pool water is fantastically aerated and fresh towels were available for the guest at the pool site A small Gymnasium is also present along with the swimming pool with tread mill, bicycle with a steaming room.
The reception staff was always proactive to help to hotel guest and try to answer there query in a gentle way. At one counter you can see pamphlets of various tourist spots in Melbourne.All together it was a worth and wonderful experience living in Medina Serviced Apartment.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some TV channels were paid
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Over all the Medina South Yarra is a clean and comfortable set of apartments, located within walking distance of the railway station . Parking is good on site and secure, the facilities were of a standard that one expects in this type of accommodation. Of concern was the state of the cheese and biscuits on sale in the mini bar (firstly the price was over the top as they all are) but more importantly the cheese looked like it had turned to leather.... not nice... Secondly the milk was off, puts you off mini bars !!!.... local super markets for me from now on.
A minor issue was the noise from the adjacent rail track, though I have to confess after shopping all day I closed my eyes and didn't really notice the noise till morning when the 7. 15 to Melbourne woke me with a rumble that shook the building.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The mini bar
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We have stayed at this apartment complex before when visiting Melbourne and when booking actually took advice from Trip Advisor on which rooms to book and not book - well worth the info. We had to travel around Victoria but were in Melbourne for a week for the Aust Schools Volleyball Championships and then back for one night before going home. So our first week we booked a "front room" make sure you ask for this. The complex backs onto an 8 line railway track and whilst we stayed one night on our return to Melbourne in one of the "back rooms" we noticed the noise difference (whilst the rooms are double insulated for the noise and it didn't both our sleep I can understand that if you are a light sleep that you wouldn't like it). There have been ongoing problems with the locked/automatic car parking gates on both sides of the building - so don't be in a hurry to leave, this might have been fixed since our visit. There are great facilities here with an indoor small swimming pool and gym room, internet access in the lobby is also good. Whilst the rooms are clean and have full kitchen etc the general maintenance seems to be lacking. We have noticed this even since last year. The access to Chapel Street (if you like to shop), St Kilda and the city is easy and in walking distance to the train (obviously) and trams. This is a good location to base yourself if you are staying for awhile.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs maintenance
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed over New Year's and had a very good experience. We booked a 2BR apartment facing the street with a nice balcony. Rooms were good sized and nicely decorated (though the kitchen was small). Queen beds were very comfortable. Great location within walking distance of Toorak and Chapel, and close to the Royal Botanic Garden.

My parents stayed in a 1BR that was a bit dark (not a lot of good windows), but thought it was very comfortable.

Regarding noise, we had no issues facing the street and my parents, who faced the trains, weren't at all bothered. We did have some issues with noise from neighboring rooms as walls were a little thin, but that was mostly an issue on New Year's Eve and I suppose to be expected.

In sum, a very good visit and would certainly stay there again if we visit Melbourne in the future.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Address: 52 Darling Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive South Yarra)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.