We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Darling Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive South Yarra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment during January 2012. for 6 nights. We had an apartment on the back, looking onto the railway. We have stayed here some years ago and yes it was noisey then but the big plus now is that they have installed extra noise proof windows inside.
We did not have a problem with the noise .

The apartment was clean , kitchen well stocked, bathroom good size with washing machine and dryer. We had a huge balcony (Room 15) which was nice to sit out on first thing in the morning, and in a great area to walk to the shops and restraunts around the corner , 2 minute walk to the railway station to travel into the city which was only a 2 stop ride. Trams at the corner. We even walked to the tennis (Rod Laver Arena) which was a comfortable 15 minute walk. Enjoyed the scenery on the way. Recommend for families and groups.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
The team at Medina Executive South Yarra are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would like to thank you for providing us with this feedback.

We have recently installed sound proofing onto all back facing apartment bedrooms and since installation we have found it has made a huge difference to ensuring a good night's sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards, Jayde Turner Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    125
    43
    11
    8
See reviews for
88
71
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Visiting Melbourne from Sydney for a long weekend, I found the city hotels were all either booked out or VERY expensive, so I opted to look at South Yarra: a suburb that's close to the city by tram or train (train is much faster, just 10 minutes & two stops to the main Flinders Street station adjacent to Federation Square), quiet, green and with plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants.

Media Executive fit the bill almost perfectly. A 10 minute walk from South Yarra station, but on a quiet street, I stayed at a one-bedroom apartment with its own kitchenette including fridge and stove, and also a balcony and bedroom windows that actually open (!) so you can let in the cool night air if you wish.

The room was clean and well-serviced throughout the weekend.

My only complaint? The air conditioning was locked to a minimum of 21 degrees (that's 21C, aka 70F), and this was in the middle of the Aussie summer when temperates outside were 30+. There was no facility to dial the temperature down to individual preference, which in my case is 17C.

I asked the hotel staff the reason for this and was told it's done to conserve energy or make the building's air-con system run more efficiently or some such. Well, in my book that's putting systems _before_ customers, which is the wrong way around: guests should be able to choose their own room temperature.

For that reason I won't return to Media South Yarra (yes, I'm a bit fussy that way!) but this note aside, if you're okay with whatever room temperate the hotel sets then I'd recommend the Media South Yarra to any traveller!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. The team at Medina Executive South Yarra are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Warm Regards, Jayde Turner Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed four nights over xmas. The apartment was clean, spacious and well appointed - kitchen and laundry facilities, balcony, windows that open to hear the sounds of melb - loved the trains! Staff were friendly and obliging. Would have no hesitation in staying at this location again.

Room Tip: i loved the sound of trains but if you dont, then be aware you are right next to the railway tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
The team at Medina Executive South Yarra would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind Regards, Jayde Turner Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have recently stayed here after touring and found the staff extremely helpful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very handy to trains, trams and you can even walk down to the city via the river.
Great spot!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for providing us with your positive feedback, the team at Medina Executive South Yarra are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards, Jayde Turner Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Angle, Nsw, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have stayed ieverwhere from the seven star Al Arab in Dubai to a former brothel with no electricity in Turkey. I know good and bad hotels. Medina Executive South Yarra could not be nicer if it tried. I am staying there right now, and just spent over an hour with my 11 year old daughter at the small gym with a lovely small heated pool and steam room. It is a less ritzy version of the pool/gym at the Hotel le Bristol in Paris, but at 1/10th of the price. Yes there is a soft Chukka Chukka of trains outside, but it is soothing like crashing waves, and the view is lovely. The housekeeper has come each day and done a great job, and the two flat screen TV's have kept people occupied when it is raining. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it highly to any friend.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and bothered by the soft sound of trains, either bring a white noise mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your lovely feedback. The team and I are delighted to here you are enjoying your stay with us and the use of our facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our family of two adults and two young kids stayed for three nights at the Medina South Yarra after finding an excellent rate an Agoda. We had a two bedroom apartment which was spacious and exceeded my expectations. The kitchen facilities were more than adequate with microwave, cook-top, oven and dishwasher. The two bedrooms were a good size and so was the bathroom. It also had a small balcony. The staff we spoke to were all professional and friendly.

The location is convenient to South Yarra train station (~5 minutes walk), and trams on Toorak Rd (~5 minutes) and Chapel St (slightly further). There are several restaurants and an IGA supermarket on Toorak Rd as well. They also offer free parking, which was a pleasant surprise.

We were on the train side of the property, and I can understand that the noise would be an issue for some people. We had no problem sleeping with it though, and our two year old loved watching the trains from the window.

There were some minor issues with the room. The blockout curtains aren't quite wide enough to meet in the middle so the light gets through regardless. One of the single beds wasn't sprung properly (didn't bother the two year old, but I wouldn't have been comfortable on it). The CD player wouldn't eject so we were unable to play CDs.

Overall I was very happy with it for the price (~$120 per night).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with this positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments onto my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive South Yarra in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed for one night at this hotel. Picked it because there was a good deal on expedia.com . The room was ok, and the bed was fine. However, had to pay a $50 bond when checking in, and till to this date has not been returned back. Numerous calls have been made to the hotel, but still money is a no show.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jturner13, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

As part of our check in process we request authorisation of a valid credit card. This is standard international hotel practice and the credit card is used as a guarantee of payment.
The authorisation is then automatically relased to your credit card within 3-5 working days after your checkout.

If you wish to discuss this further please dont hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Jayde Turner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra

Address: 52 Darling Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive South Yarra)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Toga Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive South Yarra Hotel Melbourne
Medina Executive South Yarra Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.