We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasnt as good as i expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Birdwood Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
+61 3 9252 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Melbourne City Sights Morning Tour with Optional...
Ranked #4 of 437 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Melbourne's inner-city oasis. More than 10,000 plant species from around the world are presented in a kaleidoscope of colour and texture. Sweeping lawns, tranquil lakes and majestic trees are home to an amazing range of wildlife.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wasnt as good as i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

being from Hobart I expected a lot of bigger and better things from the Melbourne botanic gardens and I was disappointed. Don't get me wrong was still nice to have a walk around for the afternoon and we stopped for a drink at the café which had a nice athmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,243
    872
    133
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, but not the finest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Coming from Perth, we have a beautiful Kings Park overlooking the entire city. Making comparisons with Melbourne, I feel the distance of this park from the CBD lets it down slightly, and it isn't the most accessible of parks (for example is not 24 hours). The restaurants are overpriced and the toilet facilities were dirty. The lakes at this time were not clean and had algae blooms. I did enjoy the gardens tea rooms, which served beautiful scones with lovely thick clotted cream at a reasonable price. There isn't a huge variety of plant species, but it is worth visiting on a nice sunny afternoon

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

These gardens are magnificent and desrved a visit. Each area is individually designed and a great credit to Melbourne City Council The coffe shop too was well supplied with nice light menu and grat coffeearticles. This is a must visit when in Melbourne

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't try and take it all in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Who needs views and carriage rides when you've got a plant palette like this? A tip from a Melburnite who visits the gardens every couple of years-Don't try and take it all in at once. Pick a route that'll take you through half a dozen plant collections, with a stop for tea and scones on the way. My favourite ramble is from the Herbarium through the multi-layered Australian rainforest walk, with its towering Queensland Kauri and Southern Mahogany. As a eucy lover, the Eucalypt lawn is disappointing and in need of some succession planning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
568 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great for either a leisurely stroll, brisk walk or a run. Plenty of good cafes nearby for a pit stop or BYO picnic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.