We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasnt as good as i expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Birdwood Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
61 3 9252 2300
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 203 attractions in Melbourne
Type: Gardens, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a day walking through one of the best-landscaped gardens on Earth.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wasnt as good as i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

being from Hobart I expected a lot of bigger and better things from the Melbourne botanic gardens and I was disappointed. Don't get me wrong was still nice to have a walk around for the afternoon and we stopped for a drink at the café which had a nice athmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,305
    519
    72
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens, but not the finest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Coming from Perth, we have a beautiful Kings Park overlooking the entire city. Making comparisons with Melbourne, I feel the distance of this park from the CBD lets it down slightly, and it isn't the most accessible of parks (for example is not 24 hours). The restaurants are overpriced and the toilet facilities were dirty. The lakes at this time were not clean and had algae blooms. I did enjoy the gardens tea rooms, which served beautiful scones with lovely thick clotted cream at a reasonable price. There isn't a huge variety of plant species, but it is worth visiting on a nice sunny afternoon

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

These gardens are magnificent and desrved a visit. Each area is individually designed and a great credit to Melbourne City Council The coffe shop too was well supplied with nice light menu and grat coffeearticles. This is a must visit when in Melbourne

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Don't try and take it all in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Who needs views and carriage rides when you've got a plant palette like this? A tip from a Melburnite who visits the gardens every couple of years-Don't try and take it all in at once. Pick a route that'll take you through half a dozen plant collections, with a stop for tea and scones on the way. My favourite ramble is from the Herbarium through the multi-layered Australian rainforest walk, with its towering Queensland Kauri and Southern Mahogany. As a eucy lover, the Eucalypt lawn is disappointing and in need of some succession planning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great for either a leisurely stroll, brisk walk or a run. Plenty of good cafes nearby for a pit stop or BYO picnic.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne to your Saves list