We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining in the gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne
Birdwood Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
61 3 9252 2300
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 190 attractions in Melbourne
Type: Gardens, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a day walking through one of the best-landscaped gardens on Earth.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Dining in the gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you out walking the tan or seeing the beautiful gardens or just meeting a few friends for lunch, then you might need a little break and the cafe on observatory square is well worth a visit, the coffee is quick, nice sandwiches and even a few good cakes......value is okay, but its all about where you are and the beautiful gardens that Melbourne can offer......

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,193
    475
    62
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A really great way to spend a free afternoon in Melbourne. Stunning gardens, with a huge variety of plants and wildlife. Don't forget the sun cream you can spend hours in the sun just strolling round it's huge. The cafe was very tasty but very expensive I'd recommend something picked up on the way .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royal Botanical gardens.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

great place for a picnic and to just enjoy the sunshine. I went alone but would be great for friends and families.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely large gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautiful trees- we walked through lovely shaded paths past flower birders and ponds- a very peaceful place next to the city

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When I went there I was looking at a place for my wedding (I have been there many times). The lake was almost empty which made the atmosphere look dirty and not the picturesque gardens I remember. Most of the gardens are beautiful though and well kept.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne also viewed

 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.