We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bond, James Bond...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Museum

Melbourne Museum
11 Nicholson St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3001, Australia
+61 3 8341 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Australia's popular and loved museums! Perfect for the whole family, Melbourne Museum showcases Australian social history, Aboriginal cultures, science and the environment. Inside: Experience Victorian and Australian Aboriginal culture - from the time of Creation through to today; Marvel at the history and development of Melbourne; Walk through a living forest; Surround yourself with life-size dinosaurs and animals from around the world; - Enter a world of dreams, emotions, thoughts and memories in the Mind and Body Gallery; Visit the Children's Gallery for a world designed especially for childrend aged 3 0 8 years old; Be immersed in the latest IMAX films;- Discover the rich history of the World Heritage listed Royal Exhibition Building, and that's just the start! Melbourne Museum is located adjacent to the World Heritage listed Royal Exhibition Building in Carlton and is home to IMAX Melbourne and the Bunjilaka Aboriginal Cultural Centre.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bond, James Bond...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We really enjoyed the James Bond 50th anniversary display (which is the only reason we went to the museum), however, with about half of Melbourne's school kids running around the joint we bailed on the rest of the museum.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    815
    481
    85
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Many interesting and varied exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I generally do not care for museums, but the Melbourne Museum was very enjoyable. There are so many varied exhibits that there is something for everyone to enjoy. I spent several hours there casually walking through each gallery. The entrance cost is minimal. A nice way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great family day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Melbourne Museum holds something for everyone. Super cheap day out, and you can spend hours visiting the many different sections the museum has to offer. We loved The Neighbours site, reminiscing one of our favourite tv show. Also the human body was interesting, a great way to learn especially for the young.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“it's for everybody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The best museum in Australia. It has the fun areas for kids and cafes if you become tired from all the walking. Also a good education place. Every year it offers special exhibitions such as previous year's Titanic, Egypt exhibitions, usually between Mar/Apr and Oct/Nov.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I'll keep on going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When I was a kid, the Melbourne Museum used to be in a stuffy old building next to the Library in Swanston Street. Then in the 1990's, the government decided that a world-class city needed a world-class museum in a world-class location. As a local, I was delighted. The Melbourne Museum is always interesting and the major exhibits are usually supplemented with a few temporary displays from the vast archives of scientific curios in the dungeons (or wherever the scientists work). I go at least three or four times a year - usually with my two boys who are now 9 and 11 - and I take some moments out of my otherwise busy life to place myself in history and science. I've been to other museums around the world and some are bigger and some have more antiquities but I still love my local museum right next to the magnificent Exhibition Buildings.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.