We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #10 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Always a treat staying at the Park Hyatt Melbourne.

All requests accommodated (early check-in, high floor, away from lifts), welcomed back to the property with a smile.. Turn down service offered. Club floor is amazing as usual... Service goes above and beyond. We were even upgraded!

Hotel, rooms and common areas are spotless, location perfect and they even delivered a yoga mat to us when we called at 10pm.

Nothing is a problem for the staff of the Park Hyatt.

The first and only choice when in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Request a room on the cathedral side of the hotel... Stunning. Just remember the church has bells th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ChrislovesSydney,
Thank you for continually supporting Park Hyatt Melbourne, your feedback is always appreciated.
The Cathedral Tower of the hotel does provide beautiful views of St Patrick’s Cathedral, with church bells being heard at the following times; Tuesday afternoon between 5pm and 6:30pm, Sunday morning between 10am – 11am and following other special events held at the church (ie. Weddings). The hotel has two towers to accommodate our guests, and should you anticipate the church bells maybe an inconvenience, you could request a room in the Park Tower (away from the church).
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Melbourne next time.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    179
    57
    36
    14
See reviews for
77
341
65
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WOW!!!! We loved this hotel. We purchased the Winter Escape package from the hotel website, which included overnight stay, parking, breakfast and liquor drink and chocs (night cap) well worth the money. Check in was fast and friendly. Had a king room, very spacious with gorgeous furnishings. My daughter loved the massive bath with TV overhead. My husband upon booking made mention that it was my birthday. In our room was a bottle of bubbly and chocs, lovely surprise. Thanks so much. We had a swim in the afternoon for a couple of hours which was perfect to work up an apatite for dinner. Beds comfy, pillows a little soft for us but no big deal. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, service fantastic. My only advise is we were in a room which faced out across the city to the mountains which was perfect but on the left hand side right in view was Peter Mac which holds some very sad memories for our family. We kept the curtains closed. If we had of realised this we would have asked for a different room. Let me say this was no fault of the hotel and I'm sure if we asked they would have organised another room as that seems to be the way of this hotel, nothing to much trouble. Just something to be aware of when booking your room. Magnificent stay, totally hooked on this hotel. Thanks Park Hyatt for the perfect birthday. I cant wait for our next visit to this GORGEOUS place.

Room Tip: Check your room view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lynda S,
Thank you for your review following your stay at our hotel, we are pleased to hear we have become your favourite hotel in Melbourne.
Our Winter Escape package has been very popular this year and has given many guests an opportunity to relax and escape the Melbourne winter. Should you have any room preferences for future stays at Park Hyatt Melbourne, please advise us accordingly and we will update your guest profile.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The experience starts as you turn the corner into the Park Hyatt's own exclusive driveway. I was early but welcomed into the lounge by friendly staff who all addressed me by name and served me a hot chocolate as I sat by a Grand Piano. The room was ready before I was ready to relinquish savouring the luscious setting. I opted for an upgrade for a negligible difference in cost choosing a few extra squares with a fireplace in a King suite. My room overlooked a magnificent Cathedral. The bathroom was immaculate with an enormous bath. The room was classic with character , hardback books of different genre on a mantel all added to the vibe. My stay was enhanced by the staff, they were courteous and respectful, nothing was a bother. Breakfast finished at 10:30 am and we arrived at 10:10 am. No one was packing up, everyone was ready, and breakfast was delicious. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: 1757 no spa but has a fireplace , great view of Cathedral and large deep bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Debra Y,
Your detailed feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne is appreciated, and I will be glad to share this with the team.
The team strive to provide exceptional hotel facilities and service, and we are pleased you appreciated the effort made by all Park Hyatt Melbourne associates during your stay.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just finishing another stay at the Park Hyatt Melbourne. I am very fortunate that my company has this hotel on it's approved list! One of the few remaining "Grand Old Ladies" of hotels in Australia. Full of modern conveniences hidden amongst old world charm. Probably the largest hotel rooms of any 5 star hotel I have stayed in. The bustle of the city is only meters away but the hotel is situated in a tranquil corner of the city, on the fringe of the CBD and opposite Melbourne's most charming Cathedral, Parks, Parliament House etc. Both the tram and trains are within 50 meters but nothing can be heard from the hotel. A 5 minute stroll and you are in the middle of Melbourne CBD with every shop and restaurant imaginable at your fingertips. Hard to fault in any area.

Room Tip: Ask for a cathedral view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sedaka,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our well located property, and the team met your expectations to ensure you had a pleasant stay. All our guest rooms are very spacious, and begin with a KING room that is 48 sqm.
Thank you for staying at Park Hyatt Melbourne, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia-Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here four times and each time it keeps getting better and better, first class service.
Everything about this hotel is wonderful starting from the entrance. All staff ensure you have the best possible experience. Rooms are big and the food is fantastic. Radii restaurant downstairs is my favorite restaurant in Melbourne. Walking distance to the CBD and perfect location on the outer CBD edge, so you're not right in the busy city. I'll always stay at the Park Hyatt in Melbourne and excited to be visiting this summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear BrizA78,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay with us.
It is great to hear that you took advantage of the facilities at the hotel and enjoyed the great location of our property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne this coming summer.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our last three days of a month long trip thru Australia were spent in Melbourne at the Park Hyatt hotel. The building is beautiful. Older, classic luxury. The king size room was a bit small, we needed an extra bed for our granddaughter, but very comfortable. Great linens, towels, warm robes and toiletries. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel also has a lovely fragrance! It does make a difference! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, served in the Radii dining room. The list of items available are too long to list, service great, very relaxing. Morning newspapers available, and great background music. Perfect location for walking down town. Easy walk to shopping and a variety of restaurants, theatre too.

Room Tip: We had a room fairly close to elevators, on the 11th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Karen W,
Thank you for feedback following your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne last month.
I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and amenities that we offer, along with our signature hotel fragrance. I will pass these valuable comments onto the team.
We hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay with us next time you are in Melbourne.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I Highly recommend Park Hyatt Melbourne for anyone looking for a luxury getaway in melbourne. Everything about this establishment has been polished to ensure you have the best possible experience. Rooms were lovely, Staff were excellent and the food was fantastic. Very Impressed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Daza84,
I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne in May.
It is fantastic to know that our hard work and service offered is truly appreciated. This feedback gives encouragement to our team to ensure that we maintain a luxury experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Regards
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.