We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this property for the night whilst attending the Australian Open.

The staff were excellent and attentive throughout my stay. The rooms were great, but trying to find a spare power outlet to charge my phone and laptop, resulted in having to unplug a light. In addition, the air con unit didn't appear to work very well, though with the temperature outside (40c+) at the time, I am sure it was being overworked!

I would certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a quieter part of town, or if they are visiting for the tennis or cricket, which is within walking distance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Nick S,
I appreciate you providing your feedback following your stay at our hotel.
During your stay at our property, the city experienced a heat wave over five consecutive days, resulting in some guest rooms operating one degree higher than usual. The hotel did everything possible to meet guest expectations over this unexpected period, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
In regards to our guest room power points, we are currently installing additional points in many of our guest rooms to assist our guests.
Thank you for staying with us during the Australian Open, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    207
    69
    39
    14
See reviews for
85
399
72
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I rarely leave reviews but I feel obligated to after the terrific two-week stay I've just had in this hotel. Everything from checking in to checking out was first class and I never saw a member of staff without a smile on their face throughout my stay. The receptionists and kitchen staff were a pleasure to deal with and the housekeepers did a phenomenal job. The best hotel in the world (I've stayed in!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear DJ_9147,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, your comments will be well received by all hotel staff.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne, when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I recently spent a night at the Melbourne Park Hyatt to celebrate our anniversary.

The first thing I noticed on arrival was the delightful aroma which was evident in all of the public areas of the hotel. Reception was very busy and we were surprised to be informed that our room was not available. We were not offered a drink … or even a seat … but simply told we had to “wait a while”. We noticed that several other guests were being assigned rooms, so after 30 minutes we told reception staff in polite but strong terms that the delay was unacceptable. Room keys magically appeared.

When we arrived at the room, the door was open and there were at least 2 maintenance staff present, apparently attending to a malfunctioning alarm clock. When we finally had the room to ourselves we were quite impressed with the size and the luxurious fittings which compared favourably with other 5 star hotels we had stayed in. The room looked out onto a quite courtyard.

After a night out in the world’s greatest city, we returned at 10.30 to find the bed had been ‘turned down’ which was a much appreciated gesture. Sadly, there was also a deafening noise from across the courtyard, where a wedding reception was taking place and someone had decided to open all of the external doors. We complained to reception and the matter was rectified reasonably smoothly. I understand that the hotel is popular with tennis players and sincerely hope that Novak Djokovic was not trying to get his head down before a big match.

We slept well, mainly due to the excellent black-out curtains, though the bed was too soft for my taste. We had plans for a relaxing start the following morning, but our requested newspaper failed to arrive, the coffee machine failed to operate (possibly due to the electrical socket that was falling off the wall) … and the TV remote in the bathroom did not work.

Many aspects of our stay were truly memorable, but the hotel failed to deliver on several of the expected basics.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear MelbourneChris,
Thank you for sharing your review, I am concerned to read about some of the service issues you encountered whilst staying at our hotel. I appreciate you raising these to my attention, and have addressed these after further investigation.
Please let me know when you plan to return to Park Hyatt Melbourne so that I can personally look after your booking.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel has a nice location - as in close to the city and a little away from it (walking distance - 5 mins), has the great St. Patrick Cathedral next to it. You can overlook the MCG or the Cathedral if you are lucky to get a nice room. The rooms are big, nicely decorated and has all the basic amenities. Nice, helpful and smiling staff and good service.

Something which could be improved upon is the food options in the menu (especially vegetarian options), more lighting in the room would be better.

All in all a great experience besides the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the MCG or the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Pree27,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at our property. Your comments regarding the vegetarian options will be shared with the kitchen team.
I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location, and look forward to seeing you at Park Hyatt Melbourne when you next visit Melbourne.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had booked an overnight stay in a King room. We were given a twin room with a connecting twin room. We phoned down to rectify this. It took 25 minutes for someone to call us back, then they wanted to convert the room from twin to king while we were at dinner (5 hours away!). We asked them to fix straight away, then went downstairs for a coffee. Felt that the least they could have arranged was free coffee (coffee at the PH is $6.00 per coffee - asked for strong, got barely there). TV kept losing reception. Also connecting door was not locked until we mentioned it. Also disappointing was mould in the grouting of the shower. Definitely do not expect this in a 'five star' hotel. We have stayed at the PH previously a few years ago with no problems at all, however, am feeling reluctant to do so again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Tanialmm,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
I was disappointed to read you were inconvenienced upon check in, and not compensated whilst waiting for your room to be converted. This in conjunction with other issues you have noted will be shared with the team at the hotel.
Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused on this occasion, I have passed on your comments to assist us improve our service standards and facilities.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed two nights and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Marked down only by the fact the main dining room is being refurbished so the lounge off reception is doubling up. No complaints this is top quality as you would expect in a Hyatt Hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear TheDoctor1941,
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your two night stay at our property. Unfortunately Radii Restaurant was closed for one week in January due some annual maintenance that was undertaken, and I apologize for any inconvenience caused.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne next time you visit Melbourne, so you can experience our signature restaurant, radii.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we checked into the PHM for 1 night in a club king suite. upon driving into the hotel the concierge desk was attentive but certainly not "on fire" they were, polite yet slightly casual. there was no doorman, which I found highly unusual in an establishment of this calibre?? the parking and doorman issues aside we were magnificently checked in with great care and thorough professionalism. All the fine points well explained with additional insightful directions to our pre arranged luncheon at Ezard restaurant. Our room 732 was nothing short of extraordinary, spacious, luxurious and stylishly appointed. We enjoyed an amazingly grand space including, lounge room, dressing and change room, huge bath tub with a TV in bathroom. There is a generous selection of teas, a Nespresso coffee system as well as complimentary bottled water. The bathroom toiletries were indulgent and not like any I have experienced in Australian 5-6 star properties. The shower had a multi faceted and directional stream arrangement with multiple heads, this was genius~!!! The turndown service was personable and warm. The regency club at this Hyatt is the best in in Australia. Evelyn our host was warm, gracious and delightful, truly professional. The quality of the bed linen continued this wonderful experience and the whole evening I felt as though I floated on clouds of dreamy marshmallow such a contented and satisfying sleep. We woke from our stupendous slumber and meandered down to breakfast. Unfortunately some of the gloss gets peeled away at this point. When shown to our table, we were asked what we would like to drink. We ordered a tea and a coffee, these were not easily forthcoming, sadly we needed to wait 15mins and ask three times?? An other oversight was that there was a final call of breakfast offerings whereby a young lady swept around the restaurant advising that the buffet was about to be cleared. My advice to this high end establishment, don't do that, it is... cheap, mean and nasty offering no largesse at all. . Patrons at this place have parted with some decent coin so no one should be rushed or to be made to feel like an inconvenience. Please by all means shut the doors at 10:30am, but care for, soothe and appreciate those inside....they are the reason you have a job!!!! In conclusion this is an extraordinary hotel with a few inexperienced staff dotted throughout; however the glamour, style, design and appointment of this hotel is simply world class. Keep training your staff that the customer is truly .....KING/QUEEN!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett_Sweetman, Hotel Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Princeofnylon,
I am happy to hear you enjoyed the guest room facilities and the Park Lounge whilst staying at our property this month. You have highlighted a few valuable points that will be shared with the team to assist improve our customer service throughout the hotel.
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Melbourne next time.
Yours Sincerely
Brett Sweetman – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.