We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #8 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top Notch Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here once before with family but this trip was as a couple getting away for several days - upgraded to king spa without asking and fantastic service from check in to our speedy early morning checkout. Very friendly and professional staff. Room was very clean and generously serviced and replenished every day. Great breakfast choice and staff were genuinely friendly and chatty. Ideal location just a few minutes walk out of the main CBD so quiet, but close to some great parklands, museum and restaurants. Pool and amenities are all excellent. Rooms are much bigger than normal and well set out. Window fully opens and so nice to have the choice to access some fresh air for a pleasant change. Great hotel and really recommend for a romantic couples get away. Definitely returning as soon as we can.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear V A
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent weekend stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne. Your feedback will be shared with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Melbourne.
Kind regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    192
    64
    38
    14
See reviews for
82
377
67
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I am hesitant to give a five star rating generally and even more so when a big chain is involved as it is generally hard for those types of hotels to create unique experiences. Melbourne's Park Hyatt, however, exceeded my expectations.

Location:
The Park Hyatt is located on the edge of Melbourne's business district. While Melbourne is a city that is easier to bike around than walk around, I found the Hyatt to be within a reasonable 20 minute walk of most major attractions. I walked back from one of these attractions late one night and felt perfectly safe.

Rooms:
The rooms are primarily decorated with lots of wood paneling and marble, which is not my style. Yet I found it elegant and pleasant. Although I stayed in a standard room, it was a nice size and didn't feel constrained. The bathroom offered fantastic amenities (including a flat iron) that I don't often find elsewhere. The bed was comfortable.

Service:
The staff was friendly, helpful, and competent, handling all my questions and requests with ease.

Food:
I ordered dinner and breakfast from the room service menu and found both to be delicious. I loved the healthy options on the menu as they maintained taste even while lowering fat and calories.

This was my first experience with the Park Hyatt chain, and it exceeded all expectations. I would book again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear 152958
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Park Hyatt Melbourne. We pride ourselves in providing authentic hospitality and your valved comments will be shared with our dedicated team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we hope you had a pleasant journey home.
Kind regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

my family and i just stayed at the park hyatt in Melbourne,
we had a great time the only thing was s took a long time to walk anywhere it is a great hotel
we will definitely stay there again
staff were friendly and pool was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson_Robert, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Amanuael V

Thank you for your feedback, we are most pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy the hotels facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Robert Dawson-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice lobby and arrival was well handled other than the failure to deliver the luggage. I had to call down for it after twenty minutes. Having been on a very long haul flight ( 22 hours with transit) I didn't appreciate this. Had a suite in the Cathedral wing which be warned if you arrive on a Sunday is next door ( as the name implies) to Melbourne cathedral. You need to accept the bells so forget about sleep
Restaurant was disappointing . More an enlarged coffee shop . I presume hotel accepts that most of its guests eat out anyway. If you stay in the cathedral suites you need to catch the lift to lobby and then transfer to another lift if you wish to use the business lounge. This is very irritating. The expensive suites are in Cathedral but they make it difficult for you to use the lounge

Very nice park for walking only five minutes away. Captain Cooks English house was relocated to the Park and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Bowie888
Thank you for your comments and we apologise that your expectations on some elements of your stay were not met. These comments have been addressed with our dedicated team for follow up. Next time you visit may we reccomend the Park Tower. Enjoy your weekend and thank you again for sharing your valued comments.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Initially we booked for one night but appointments meant we had to extend to two days then three days. No problem in doing this. Our king room overlooking the church was large, well appointed, two hand basins, separate toilet, walk in robe, separate large shower, large bath, TV in bathroom, king bed, desk, lounge chair, well stocked mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities, including NESPRESSO machine. The room size could easily accommodate an L shaped corner lounge to relax on instead of just one lounge chair. Great bar downstairs adjacent Radii Restaurant. Also bar at lobby level which does close though at around 630pm.
Great central location for walking to CBD, Brunswick Rd, Federation Square, Flinders Lane, so many restaurants and bars.
Push the button in room for Room Clean and its done when you get back, too often not the case in other hotels. You come back to a clean, crisp room. Great pillows and bed.
Express check out is a breeze.
We've stayed in several high end Melbourne Hotels over the years. This is the best.

Room Tip: When you book ask not to have a room facing the offices directly across the laneway as you'll ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Rudi888
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay at Park Hyatt Melbourne and we will share your positive comments to the dedicated team here. We look forward to welconing you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,415 reviews 2,415 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
1,033 helpful votes 1,033 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

So much to like here - large spacious rooms, absolute luxury in most aspects from the décor, amenities, bed etc.
Great location if you are going to the MCG, perhaps a problem if you are looking for closeness to shops or the financial areas.

The lounge is one of the better ones in Australia and is a huge attraction for anyone who has had a busy business day in Melbourne - Myrna in the lounge does a wonderful job and knows all the guests by name and what their likes and needs are.
There are a few basic issues though like lighting and power points - have been here many times and have not found a room yet that has sufficient power points for running the computers, iPads and phones that we all have - when you work at the desk, you normally have to ask for an extension cord to run your computer.
Similarly the desk area is very dark and difficult to work at at night.
Did though get off to a bad start when I left a favourite Italian sweater in the taxi - had been a victim of credit card fraud twice in the past few months and never use my current (replacement) card without watching how it is swiped.
Unfortunately the cost of doing this meant I didn't watch the bags unloaded from the taxi - my sweater had been sitting loose on my bags and no-one checked when emptying the boot.
Now I'll know to check both credit card swiping and bags being unloaded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear RonWamberal
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know that most parts of your stay met your expectations. On your next visit please feel free contact the operator and a powerboard will be delivered to your room for electronic devices. Sorry to hear about your sweater. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Business stay - perfect in all departments. Great location, excellent facilities. Conference facilities were first class. Room very comfortable - quiet, clean, restful. Check in and out friendly and professional

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Philip M
Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.