We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #8 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxury plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A night at the Park Hyatt was a birthday present from my son and his partner. All I can say is wow, loved it.

The room was huge, very clean with some surprises. Made my day finding a bottle of sparkling wine & chocolates with a personal note of welcome and the TV hidden above the bath tub behind glass. Service was excellent, as we left for dinner the cleaning lady treated us with a big smile and hello which you could tell she mean't. When we returned an hour later our room had been tidied and the bed turned down, excellent touch.

Bed was a very comfortable king and the view of the city just spectacular. Within easy reach of the CBD and sports venues. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Karen S
Thank you for your support of Park Hyatt Melbourne and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    185
    62
    37
    14
See reviews for
82
363
66
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms superior.
Breakfast at Radii was very adequate.
The downside was the service.
I am a centurion and none of my benefits were explained to me on check in.
I ordered a bottle of champagne to drink before we were to go out and one hour later despite a few phone calls it did not arrive, yet it still appeared on my bill the next morning!
Also my paper was not delivered in the morning.
The location is beautiful but a decent walk from downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear kittycat621
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It was pleasing to read you found most aspects ot the hotels service and facilities to your satisfaction. Our sincere apologies for the champagne incident and the team has been addressed in recifying our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel ranks with some of the most beautiful in the world. From the exquisite lobby with its inlaid marble patterns to its public rooms, it reflects luxury and taste. The rooms are not only beautifully decorated and furnished, but also large and comfortable, with all necessary amenities at hand, and the service is first-rate. The front desk staff was for us especially accommodating, taking the time to answer questions, offering advice and making dinner and other reservations efficiently and satisfactorily. The hotel easily arranged for connecting rooms so we could communicate with our adult daughters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Leonard R
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed every aspect of the hotels service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the future.
Kind regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Impeccable service, great stay. Loved the amenities in the room such as great bathtub with tv, all the little toiletry extras, spacious room and view. The bed was amazingly soft and comfortable. Wish they had wi-if included. We had a special rate so can't comment on the usual rates but probably wouldn't think it was excellent value if we had to pay anymore. Close to CBD. Despite it being a rainy, cold weekend, we had no problem walking to the hot spots in CBD. Would say here again at a discounted rate, not full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Feletin_Foodie
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Park Hyatt Melbourne and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location and gracious room were excellent. I wish we could say same for the front desk staff; though the staff in the Club level lounge were superb. We enjoyed breakfast at Radii (and in Club lounge when that was open for breakfast (NOT everyday, though continental breakfast at Radii is covered in Club program). I am still confused about how the Club level is on 19, but does not seem to be 19 floors off the ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear SeasonedBiz Traveler
Thank you for your valuable comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering authentic hospitality and apologize that your expectations were not met during check in. Your comments have been shared with the team to recify the inconsistency. The Club Lounge is located on the Level 19 and the lobby is Level 7 and below the lobby at Level 5 are the event spaces that also have a entry. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Spent one night here with a 'before the game package'. I love everything about this hotel. It is on the outskirts of the CBD, the entrance is beautiful and staff were very friendly. We had a spa room and wow, it was so big, so much space, not just the bedroom but also the bathroom. The room was beautiful. The package included valet parking which we used and a voucher for drinks in the bar and buffet breakfast the next day. The breakfast was fresh with lots of variety and chefs cooking eggs anyway you like it. Yes it was expensive, but what 5 star hotel isn't? In terms of quality, we will return. It was a really pleasant night away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Kazm76
Thank your for your comments and we are glad you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Hyatt Melbourne. We llook forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just spent 2 night at the Park Hyatt. Second stay at the hotel. Love the place. Beautiful rooms... but SO expensive! Paid $750 per night and had to pay an extra $50 per night for car park (!) and $29 extra for a 24h internet access! Thought that for a room at that price you would get free access to internet in your room and free car park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny_Soo, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Isagar2013
Thank you for your valued feedback regarding your stay. We understand your concerns and we operate a dynamic pricing model in high demand period for the city and this was during your stay. At other times in the year we offer significantly reduced rates. For future visits may i recommend you visit Hyatt.com where we have the best rate guarantee in the market.
As of 1st january we will include basic internet with all our rates as a complimenatary inclusion. The carpark is managed by a 3rd party operator and the fee is in line with surrounding carparks.
If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hestiate to contact me directly.
Regards
Jenny Soo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.