We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favourite Hotel in Melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our New Favourite Hotel in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate my girlfriend's birthday.
The service throughout our stay was impeccable. I mentioned when booking the reason for our stay and on our first night strawberries, chocolates and champagne were delivered to our room.
Our room was very spacious and well appointed, with lovely city views. The hotel itself is a delightful Art Deco building nestled between beautiful gardens and the edge of the CBD. Everything we wanted to see and do was within easy walking distance, but at the same time it was nice to be slightly away from the hustle & bustle of the more central hotels.

I think it's fair to say we have a new favourite Melbourne hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of Trip Advisor!

It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I think safe to say that your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday celebrations with us. Your comments about the hotel, its design and other aspects are all touch points that we like to talk about as we too feel they set us apart from our competitors and of course, in a good way!

Please let me know when you plan to return, perhaps to celebrate your birthday!!

I trust you are well and thank you once more for your positive review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    257
    78
    43
    16
See reviews for
127
525
89
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel at and easy location not far off most major places.
I had an upgrade to a junior suite but the view was not good at all. The real drawback was the smelly toilet water and the pillows and sheets did not smell fresh. This was for all the 3 nights I stayed and believe it was caused by the cover sheet and decoration pillows, polyester....

The clublounge for me was one of the better ones from all Hyatt hotels I stayed. Fireplace, plenty of seating and great views in direction of Downtown and st kilda. Throw in the few extra dollars, you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.

Why I can see you enjoyed the hotel location, Park Lounge et al, it is clear to see that you were not overly thrilled with every aspect of your stay. I will certainly investigate the matters you raised re that of the smell in the toilet and the smell of the bed linen. The latter surprises me as all our sheeting is 100% cotton and all our pillows, unless requested to be other than, are feather filled. While I do not know which room you occupied, I will discuss with our Housekeeping Manager who will reiterate to her team the importance of ensuring that this kind of incidence does not occur. The smelly toilet will be reported to engineering as that too should not have been that way.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and please do not hesitate to contact me when you plan to return so that I can personally assist you.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Park Hyatt for one night as we attended a wedding in the city. We stayed in the Park King Room and I was very pleasantly surprised the room was immaculate very clean, the bathroom was huge with a spa bath and television. The shower even had side jet projector things ( not sure how to explain it) but basically you get your regular shower from the top and extra water jets massage the rest of you. Check in and check out was smooth, however I was a little annoyed when I picked up my car from the valet and as it was parked near the exit of the entrance I took my keys and walked to my car and it was left unlocked... Less than impressed considering our baggage was in the car. Other then that I enjoyed by stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor.

It was pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay, the room you were allocated and indeed the features of the bathroom et al. That said, I cannot ignore your comments about the incidence with your car and for that I am terribly sorry as what took place should most certainly not have. Thank you though for bringing it to our attention. I will ensure this is investigated and that we reiterate to our team the importance of sticking to implemented policies and procedures.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after you.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Used to always stay at a sister hotel in Melbourne, but not any more! This hotel has great rooms, excellent consistent service from all staff encountered from the most junior to senior, good restaurant and room service and is very well situated. More than happy to recommend and will definitely be back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that we have become your preferred hotel of choice while in Melbourne and that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us! Always good to receive positive comments and yours will be shared with the team.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after you.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! It was elegant, stylish and very indulgent. From, dropping the car off with the smiling valet to check in, with the lovely and helpful Elise, to our very elegant
King Park room, we knew we had entered a world of luxury. The amenities in the room were top class and we really appreciated the Nespresso machine. I couldn't find George Clooney anywhere though. The bathroom was huge and the bath could've housed a family of four! The room was lovely and quiet despite being close to the lift. Breakfast in the Radi restaurant was lovely but very busy. But then again it was Mothers Day. We totally enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon. Thank you to all the lovely staff at the Park Hyatt for making my Mothers Day one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review on Trip Adviser. I think your use of the word “Elegant” is most appropriate but then again I suppose I am bias.

Your note regarding Elsie is also noted and I can assure you will be shared with her. Positive feedback regarding our team is always appreciated and Elsie will be awarded appropriately.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally assist you.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and quite hotel, the stuff are very helpful
I like the atmosfer in this hotel , it make you feel like you are at your own house
Me and my wife hade a lovely stay and well definitely came back to stay here in our next trip

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor.

It was great to see that you and your wife felt like you were both at home while staying here. That’s got to be a good thing!

We’d be delighted to welcome you back and I look forward to hearing from you so that I can personally assist you with your accommodation requirements.

Thank you again for your very kind words.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A very sophisticated spot for afternoon tea. Came here for a mid-week birthday treat and felt thoroughly revived after progressing through my caddy full of treats over the best part of an afternoon. Loved being seated in a full lounge, window seat, with courtyard views (and not relegated to smallest table setting, as solo patrons sometimes are). Every detail in the tea lounge is immaculate, without being prim or intimidating. Though I'm partial to a dainty salmon and caper sandwich or two, have to say the main attraction were the petit deserts. The only crumbs I left behind were the macaroon, which has been done to distraction. Scones were delectable and serving generous. Thankyou to the lovely young Asian gentleman (rick?) for the uniquely warm service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor about your wonderful experience at Park Hyatt Melbourne.

I was very pleased to read your super note about your high tea experience and can advise that I shared these with our director of food and beverage and in turn we have also awarded Rick with some points. Feedback of this nature really assists us in our day to day operation as it further cements how delivering great service and going the extra mile is worthwhile.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your requirements.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.