We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST stay for the frequent or business traveller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A MUST stay for the frequent or business traveller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The attention to detail is faultless at this hotel. I stayed here with only 3 hrs notification and was automatically given my preferred room ( i have a couple of specific requests) without even having to ask. I didnt even mention them as it was such a last minute booking - but they knew - and they delivered.
Club Lounge - Friendly, private, welcoming, warm and classy. Wireless is so helpful to finish off those last few items of work. New menu is AWESOME
Radii - Executive Chef Dane personally welcomed me to breaky with a warm and sincere greeting.
Front Reception - Rachel T was awesome as always, quick and efficient, while still making you feel like the VIP of the hotel.
Housekeeping helped out with an urgent clothing requirement without delay.

I can highly recommend this hotel - plus the customer loyalty rewards are just an added bonus for when i get to go for FUN!!
Would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. If they can provide, they will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Julie,

Thank you for your Glowing review on Trip Advisor! I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and will ensure both Rachel and Dane are aware of your personal comments too…. I know they’ll both be thrilled. Needless to say we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon. Perhaps next time there will be an opportunity for me to say hello to you too.

I write this trusting you are well and thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    230
    74
    41
    15
See reviews for
104
463
81
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

the park hyatt is an absolute palace.the service and attention was unbelievable i cannot fault it in any way.the buffet breakfast is not to be missed i have never seen a presantation like it.the coffee machine in the room was also a big plus.cant wait to stay again also the bathroom is something speacial

Room Tip: i dont think they would have a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your review in Trip Advisor! Loved the heading “Unbeatable” and was of course delighted that you felt that way! Seems that you enjoyed each and every interaction/experience while in the hotel.... I hope you will be able to return soon and that when you do you will contact me so that I can personally look after you!

I trust you are well and thank you again for your fantastic review!

Regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimmera
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed overnight for a business function. Located near trams & trains with taxis available at front of Hotel. Very, very comfortable Hotel and most hospitable staff. Delightful surrounds. Room extremely clean and very comfortable. Food of excellent quality and service very obliging. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All styles of rooms appeared to be of excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I especially liked the heading for your feedback “Awesome Accommodation!” Then of course all that you went on to say! Great that you really enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that it’s the first of many more to come! Do let me know if you are returning anytime soon so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well and thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Him I am hoping to receive a response answer from the park Hyatt manager.
My question do you ever off complimentary room upgrades?
I remember many years ago staying at the Hyatt and they had the roll the dice promotion where you picked an envelope out of the box and received something as in an upgrade, free drink etc. loved the idea.
Anyway it's nice to see you answering your guests reviews.
Michelle

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I am interested in what you wrote/reported re that of the “roll a dice promotion.” This is something that I am not aware of but will certainly look into. In terms of upgrades. There is no science as such to how they are granted and of course from time to time we do have to upgrade guests. I see that you recently stayed with us and I hope you enjoyed your experience. Let me know if you plan to return anytime soon!

I trust you are well and thank you again for contacting me.

Regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in a room on the club floor. The room was large (and mine had a lovely view out over the MCG), and was really comfortable . The bed and pillows were amazing - I wanted to take them home with me! Loved the bathroom amenities too!!

The club lounge was fantastic, offering a good cold buffet breakfast on the Sunday and night time drinks and hors d'oeuvres were great! Service was really good.

Only negatives were the difficult to control air conditioning unit, and the bed being made up with a doona and no top sheet, meaning my first night I either roasted with the doona on, or froze with it off.... I'm not sure why so many hotels seem to do this now, but it's pretty annoying!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. While all in all positive I cannot ignore the negatives you raised. Air conditioning and the duvet etc. The Former is something that we are currently working on and hope to have resolved soon! In terms of a top sheet! Whist this is not a standard set up for us, we can most certainly do this. Just a matter of letting us know and we would ensure done. I was of course delighted to read how much you liked the bed and the pillows! Should you wish to purchase these items then do by all means let me know and I will send you the price list.

I trust you are well and hope we can welcome you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne again soon.

Regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Unlike wanna-bes like the Langham Melbourne (which have the audacity to charge the same prices), this is actually a proper 5-star hotel.

Nice rooms, good service, and a nice spa. If you stay anywhere else in Melbourne for the same price, you're making a mistake (trust me, I made that mistake). If you're used to 5 star hotels, this one will do just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor! While scathing for another Melbourne hotel, we were of course delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I certainly hope that you will return and that when you do you will contact me directly so that I can assist you with your needs.

I trust you are well and thank you again for your post.!

Very best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Park Hyatt in Melbourne many times. It is always our hotel of choice when in Melbourne. It is situated at the edge of the city, but close enough to walk to everywhere within the CBD, East Melbourne or Carlton. Also close to the wonderfully unique (and extensive) tram lines and train station. The hotel itself is an oasis of calm in the city. From the minute you arrive, the Concierge and Bell Staff are attentive, the reception is welcome and the room heavenly comfortable. Truly the best hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic post on Trip Advisor. Really appreciated your candid comments! You touched on all of what we like to think sets us apart from our competitor set! So and that said, I think fair to say that we exceeded your expectations!!

Also great to see that you have been here before and that this was not your first stay……. I hope you’ll both return again soon and that when you do you will contact me directly so that I can personally assist you.

I write this trusting that you are well.

Very best regards,

Sholto


Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.