We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but not easy on the wallet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but not easy on the wallet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in a spa room for one night with the 'celebration package'. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed and the bathrooms are luxurious. Breakfast downstairs is delicious.

The cleaner was quite noisy in the morning outside the room, which was disappointing (I had to ask her to stop vacuuming the same bit of carpet outside our door), but otherwise, the service was excellent.

It wasn't cheap at $640 for the night (included breakfast for two, champagne, chocs and valet parking), but this could have been because the tennis was on.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the maternity area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

While I can see that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, I cannot ignore your comments about the cleaner and the noise in the corridor. I can assure you that your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager. You are also correct about the pricing in that the rates are dependent and with that said they do fluctuate.

I would be happy to personally assist you should you wish to return, and can be contacted as below.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne, for what I would hope would be a more positive stay.

I trust you are well and thank you once more for your candid feedback.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    206
    69
    39
    14
See reviews for
85
398
72
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Used to visit hotel often.

Do not pay to use Club Lounge.

You used to get fress press of clothes, water in rooms, breakfast, afternoon teas and internet use.

Forget it. For a few evening Canapes at $70 a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and more-so for taking the time to write one.

I was a little mystified with what you wrote and while there is no pressing offered, access to the Park Lounge includes all day refreshments, wireless internet access, deluxe evening beverages and canapés, as well as continental breakfast to be taken in radii restaurant - with the exception of Sundays, when continental breakfast is also served in the Lounge. I do apologise if this is not what you received as you certainly should have and needless to say I would be more than happy to investigate this further.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance and the same of course applies if you decide to return as I would be delighted to assist you with making your reservation for you.

I write this trusting you are well and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I would have to make a special mention of the Day Spa in the Park Hyatt Hotel- I have been to many many day spas around the world and I would have to say that this is one of the best, if not the best I have ever been to. I have been here over 10 times. The facilities are fantastic. ALL the staff are very professional and extremely skilled at what they do from massages, facials, pedicures, manicures. It is a very blissful way to spend a few hours in the middle of the city and I would highly recommend it for any visitor to Melbourne or indeed anyone who lives in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor…

I was delighted to hear your more than positive comments about our day spa and can assure you that these have been shared with the manager of the Park Club Health and Day Spa! Comments of this nature can only encourage our team to go even further when it comes to delivering the levels of high service that we like to pride ourselves on delivering.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally introduce you to our Park Spa manager.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location just out of the city. Staff friendly and knowledgeable and able to book excursions through the hotel. We also had a organized tour with a private guide by the hotel. Restuarants knowledge not as thorough as other Hyatts. Upgraded to larger room; however, the room had no view. Not a big deal but a bit of a disappointment given our Platinum status. Modern and comfortable. Lobby decor seems a bit outdated and could use a good redo. Gym was modern and was used regularly during our stay. We opted to eat outside the restaurant based on other reviews. Overall, good location, decent price, food unknown, staff helpful. Would rec. a refresh on the decor. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It was certainly very candid and your comments, both the positive and negative kind, have been taken on board and will be shared with all. Especially the knowledge of the restaurant staff as that is imperative! Your other notes regarding the décor have been digested and will certainly be considered when we enter into what we would like to call a restoration programme.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

After a bumpy check in (had to wait room not ready, finally got room at 245 but was late for tennis) we were v pleasantly surprised at how spacious the room was, beautiful bathroom and it felt like we were in a studio apartment than a hotel room! V quiet hotel and lifts immediately came! Bed was v comfortable! Could not fault the room! Swimming pool was fantastic as was the gym! Thought the staff at spa were a touch snobby! Location fantastic and quiet! Turn down service was wonderful and the housekeeping staff were extremely polite and charming! Stayed for a week and would return! One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in! My daughter loved it as did my husband! Well done park Hyatt and thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review! I liked the heading, “A wonderful and relaxing stay!” Does not get much better than that!! That said, I cannot turn a blind eye to your comment about the “bumpy check-in” and will ensure your comments are shared with our fromnt office manager. They can only assist us on our constant striving for excellence !

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Having stayed at most of the good hotels in Melbourne over many years, I rank Park Hyatt no 1 for hotels in this beautiful city. The art-deco interior design gives the hotel a certain timeless beauty and elegance that keeps us coming back here. The location is also great, being a little out of the CBD - but not far - and nestled beside a magnificent piece of architecture in Melbourne, St Patrick's Cathedral.

While Melbourne seemed pretty busy when we visited just before Christmas, the hotel was quiet and the staff were not rushed. The food in the restaurant, Radii, was very good. The hotel staff were always pleasant and attentive, one of the porters in particular being outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that after staying in most of Melbourne’s five star hotels, you finally found Park Hyatt Melbourne. I do hope that you will return and that when you do you will contact me directly so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I write this trusting you are well and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbouren.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here ten years ago and remember it being very special. On this trip, we felt that everything was very average. Front desk was very helpful but decor was dated and does not live up to the Park Hyatt label. Should be downgraded to a Hyatt Regency level. The pool and gym were very nice. The spa staff, however, was very snobby and unhelpful. Hotel overall needs a refresh. Club room was nice with canapés in the evenings.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor, albeit not really that of a positive one.

I was sorry to read of your disappointing stay / feelings! I would hope that you would allow us to redeem ourselves and that said, I would appreciate your contacting me directly so that I can assist you.

I trust you are well and thank you again for your honest feedback.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002 Australia
Phone: +61 (0)3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.