We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 584 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

On my recent business trip through Oz I was able to stay at some great hotels and the Park Hyatt Melbourne was right up there by the best.

It is a great location, just outside the core business area, but across the street from the Parliament building, St Patrick's Cathedral, in a great garden area and close to the Yarra Tram.

The hotel itself couldn't have been nicer. The room was perfect. I had a suite with a great terrace that overlooked St. Patrick's Cathedral and it has a separate sitting area where I could comfortably hold business meetings.

There is a great pool, ideal for serious swimmer, is it is 25 meters and not too hot as some hotel pools can be. The fitness center too was very impressive. I didn't have time to use the spa, but it looked terrific.

The staff was spot on in every thing and were very accommodating to my needs. I had a number of business papers delivered and the hotel was great about getting them too me as soon as they hit the lobby desk.

I would love to return here for a week and really see the city at leisure, I think the Park Hyatt would be an ideal central place to stay for exploring the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! I really liked the heading "Simply Wonderful!"

From your comments I can see that you stayed in one of our Terrace Suites and I am delighted that you liked it so much in that it was perfect for your meetings etc while you were in residence. Thank you too for your ever so positive words about our health club. It was pleasing to learn that you were able to use these facilities and while I note you were not able to use the spa, I would hope that when you return you will be able to realise this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    266
    80
    45
    19
See reviews for
135
549
93
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I found the staff to be efficient friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was definately enjoyable. Quality of the inhouse restaurant very good. Withinwalking distance of city, parks and gardens.

Room Tip: Views from the southward facing rooms would be nice?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to enjoy our facilities while here, namely radii restaurant & bar. Very good to also hear you enjoyed the location.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

With many stays here,now, this Hotel has the best service we have experienced in Australia, and a club Lounge , that is superlative, and the valet parking staff so professional and obliging.

Regular rooms are gigantic, beautiful finishes, and always well serviced and oh so clean. Tranquil, top end of town, and beautiful surrounds. Front desk staff are friendly, and switched on. The tram goes by,just out the front, or its a nice stroll into downtown. Comparedto some other 5 star Hotels, Park Hyatt is a 6 star!!! Great pool and gym, and the whole palce is so serene and visually pleasing on the senses.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
I was delighted to read your post on Trip Advisor.

I think fair to say that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us from your accommodation to your interaction with our team. The latter so important too and your confirming that these were of a positive nature is certainly that of encouraging to read. I will ensure these comments are shared with all. I was of course also delighted with your feedback about the Gymnasium, the hotel's cleanliness and our surrounds.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the not too distant future and when you do have dates in mind then please contact me directly so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are both well.

Very best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Had a two day stay for a meeting in this top class hotel. The meeting facilities, rooms, and restaurants were as expected from a five star hotel. What was great however was the indoor heated pool long enough to do laps and a very well equipped gym. It does make the stay away from home more bearable when in such nice surroundings. The staff were also very attentive.

Room Tip: Enjoy the TV in the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to sample some of the hotel's facilities, namely, our Park Club Health and Day Spa, especially our 25 meter indoor heated pool and indeed our gymnasium. Your comments about our attentive staff have also been noted and will be shared with all. It is of course through feedback of this nature that enables us know that our striving for excellence is worth the effort.

We hope you will be able to return and when you do then I would hope you will feel free to contact me so that I can assist you with your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Park Hyatt and loved the beautiful room with the corner spa and shower with dual shower-heads. The room was pricey but we felt it was worth it for a special occasion. We had excellent meals in the restaurant and recommend this hotel for couples who can afford it. The location can be a little bit difficult for tourists or business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

It would seem you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and for that I am delighted. Do let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

i have worked in the industry, and travel a lot for business and pleasure. i always stay on an executive floor. this hotels executive floor staff were attentive without being nosy. nothing was a bother. great location in the paris end of collins street.

Room Tip: stay away from lift wells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It would appear you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that you also enjoyed our Park Lounge. The latter certainly that a great facility if I do say so myself, and one that we too feel is worth the small amount nesesary to cover the inclusion thereof.

I note your saying you travel allot and would hope you will be returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne again soon and that when you do I would welcome contact from you so that I can personally take care of your accommodation requirements.

I write this trusting you are well.

Best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

stayed here during Melbourne cup week room was excellent very spacious and well equipped
WiFi very expensive so we used good old McDonald's 300 meters away for our free Skype calls home
staff helpful as you would expect for the rating and price and well located for the excellent free inner city circle tram(see our separate review) stop just 100 meters away
breakfast over priced

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write comments on Trip Advisor.

I think from reading your comments that it would be fair to assume that you enjoyed your stay. Needless to say I was disappointed to read that the internet charged marred your otherwise positive stay with us. The internet issue is a tricky one as the service is provided to us via a third party and with that, we are charged with each and every connection, the latter of which we then on charge. Of course this is of little interest to you but I would like to let you know that we are always looking into ways to better the arrangement but at this point we are contractually obliged. Your comments too re the cost of breakfast is also noted and has been shared with the food and beverage team as it is of course through feedback of this nature that enables us to improve on what we do so thank you.

Please do let me know when you plan to return so that I can ensure you are well received and looked after.

I write this trusting you are well and if you are in the UK that you are enjoying the jubilee celebrations!

Best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,338 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.