We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #10 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Corona del Mar, CA
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
488 helpful votes 488 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

On my recent business trip through Oz I was able to stay at some great hotels and the Park Hyatt Melbourne was right up there by the best.

It is a great location, just outside the core business area, but across the street from the Parliament building, St Patrick's Cathedral, in a great garden area and close to the Yarra Tram.

The hotel itself couldn't have been nicer. The room was perfect. I had a suite with a great terrace that overlooked St. Patrick's Cathedral and it has a separate sitting area where I could comfortably hold business meetings.

There is a great pool, ideal for serious swimmer, is it is 25 meters and not too hot as some hotel pools can be. The fitness center too was very impressive. I didn't have time to use the spa, but it looked terrific.

The staff was spot on in every thing and were very accommodating to my needs. I had a number of business papers delivered and the hotel was great about getting them too me as soon as they hit the lobby desk.

I would love to return here for a week and really see the city at leisure, I think the Park Hyatt would be an ideal central place to stay for exploring the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor! I really liked the heading "Simply Wonderful!"

From your comments I can see that you stayed in one of our Terrace Suites and I am delighted that you liked it so much in that it was perfect for your meetings etc while you were in residence. Thank you too for your ever so positive words about our health club. It was pleasing to learn that you were able to use these facilities and while I note you were not able to use the spa, I would hope that when you return you will be able to realise this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    181
    57
    36
    14
See reviews for
78
343
65
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I found the staff to be efficient friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was definately enjoyable. Quality of the inhouse restaurant very good. Withinwalking distance of city, parks and gardens.

Room Tip: Views from the southward facing rooms would be nice?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to enjoy our facilities while here, namely radii restaurant & bar. Very good to also hear you enjoyed the location.

Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

With many stays here,now, this Hotel has the best service we have experienced in Australia, and a club Lounge , that is superlative, and the valet parking staff so professional and obliging.

Regular rooms are gigantic, beautiful finishes, and always well serviced and oh so clean. Tranquil, top end of town, and beautiful surrounds. Front desk staff are friendly, and switched on. The tram goes by,just out the front, or its a nice stroll into downtown. Comparedto some other 5 star Hotels, Park Hyatt is a 6 star!!! Great pool and gym, and the whole palce is so serene and visually pleasing on the senses.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
I was delighted to read your post on Trip Advisor.

I think fair to say that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us from your accommodation to your interaction with our team. The latter so important too and your confirming that these were of a positive nature is certainly that of encouraging to read. I will ensure these comments are shared with all. I was of course also delighted with your feedback about the Gymnasium, the hotel's cleanliness and our surrounds.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to Park Hyatt Melbourne in the not too distant future and when you do have dates in mind then please contact me directly so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are both well.

Very best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Had a two day stay for a meeting in this top class hotel. The meeting facilities, rooms, and restaurants were as expected from a five star hotel. What was great however was the indoor heated pool long enough to do laps and a very well equipped gym. It does make the stay away from home more bearable when in such nice surroundings. The staff were also very attentive.

Room Tip: Enjoy the TV in the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to sample some of the hotel's facilities, namely, our Park Club Health and Day Spa, especially our 25 meter indoor heated pool and indeed our gymnasium. Your comments about our attentive staff have also been noted and will be shared with all. It is of course through feedback of this nature that enables us know that our striving for excellence is worth the effort.

We hope you will be able to return and when you do then I would hope you will feel free to contact me so that I can assist you with your accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Park Hyatt and loved the beautiful room with the corner spa and shower with dual shower-heads. The room was pricey but we felt it was worth it for a special occasion. We had excellent meals in the restaurant and recommend this hotel for couples who can afford it. The location can be a little bit difficult for tourists or business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor.

It would seem you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and for that I am delighted. Do let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

i have worked in the industry, and travel a lot for business and pleasure. i always stay on an executive floor. this hotels executive floor staff were attentive without being nosy. nothing was a bother. great location in the paris end of collins street.

Room Tip: stay away from lift wells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It would appear you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that you also enjoyed our Park Lounge. The latter certainly that a great facility if I do say so myself, and one that we too feel is worth the small amount nesesary to cover the inclusion thereof.

I note your saying you travel allot and would hope you will be returning to Park Hyatt Melbourne again soon and that when you do I would welcome contact from you so that I can personally take care of your accommodation requirements.

I write this trusting you are well.

Best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

stayed here during Melbourne cup week room was excellent very spacious and well equipped
WiFi very expensive so we used good old McDonald's 300 meters away for our free Skype calls home
staff helpful as you would expect for the rating and price and well located for the excellent free inner city circle tram(see our separate review) stop just 100 meters away
breakfast over priced

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write comments on Trip Advisor.

I think from reading your comments that it would be fair to assume that you enjoyed your stay. Needless to say I was disappointed to read that the internet charged marred your otherwise positive stay with us. The internet issue is a tricky one as the service is provided to us via a third party and with that, we are charged with each and every connection, the latter of which we then on charge. Of course this is of little interest to you but I would like to let you know that we are always looking into ways to better the arrangement but at this point we are contractually obliged. Your comments too re the cost of breakfast is also noted and has been shared with the food and beverage team as it is of course through feedback of this nature that enables us to improve on what we do so thank you.

Please do let me know when you plan to return so that I can ensure you are well received and looked after.

I write this trusting you are well and if you are in the UK that you are enjoying the jubilee celebrations!

Best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#15 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#5 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.