We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good hotel, on the expensive side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #10 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Reliably good hotel, on the expensive side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We had a great time at the Park Hyatt. We stayed in an extra large "club room". The room was indeed big, to the point where we couldnt actually see the TV while sitting on the bed! This was a bit of a pain as the couch in front of the TV was really uncomfortable. The bathroom was massive too, which isnt actually that useful, so wouldn't pay for the extra-sized room again. The "Club" itself was nice - great aperitifs, snacks and breakfast, and fantastic, helpful and friendly staff. Nice views out to the MCG and the top end of town.

Pool was lovely, room service good, bath excellent. Nothing to complain about really apart from the decor - quite dated.

Its a nice hotel, with prices to match - not sure its the best value around Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

While safe to say you both enjoyed your stay I can see that you were not entirely satisfied with the room you were allocated and due to the reasons you listed. That said, most of our rooms differ in design from one another and we would be more than happy to show you some variants on the last room you occupied. Please contact me directly so that I can personally look after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    179
    55
    36
    14
See reviews for
77
336
65
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This hotel is very well done indeed. The downstairs bar is special with excellent staff and the rooms are spacious and well appointed except for power points near the desk. Water, oil ... now electricity is the new currency of business - plugged in next to the bed - intentional adaptor was provided in the room.
Proximate to Fitzroy gardens for a walk or job. It rained, I enjoyed it regardless.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Trip Advisor.

I think fair to surmise you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel, albeit the lack of power points. With that I would like to advise you that we have been and still are installing additional power points in all our guest rooms and suites. You can imagine though that this is quite a large assignment and that it will take some time to complete. That said, should you decide to return and make your reservation via myself, then I would ensure you would receive a room with the additional points fitted.

I trust you are well and look forward to hearing from you and of course to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here in Feb 2010 on my wedding night.

Staircase was fantastic for my wife's Pre-photos.

Rooms are very large and beautiful. Highly recommend this for special occasions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post both such great and such a detailed review of your stay here at Park Hyatt Melbourne.

I was delighted to read how much you both enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the hotel.

Sorry that you found the long check out lines on a Sunday to be that of an annoyance. We have packages available that offer late check outs so let me know when you plan to return and we can make sure that you have a late check out granted. The latter allowing for a more leisurely morning.

I write this trusting you are well and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I ave reviewed this before. Lovely hotel, in lovely location to the eastern fringe of the CBD of Melbourne. What was really noticeable on this visit was the overwhelming smell in the lobby. It was pleasant enough, but nonetheless TOO much. But the rest? Standard Park Hyatt. Very good. Excellent, without necessarily being friendly, service. Very comfortable and spacious room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

While they were mostly positive I can see that you were not totally enamored with our hotel. I would hope you will return and when you do I would welcome direct contact from you so that I can personally look after your requirements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

this hotel has the 'wow factor' the room was amazing, spa was awesome, couldn't fault the room, staff were more then helpful, bringing us ice for our drink at 2am!!!!!, because it was our wedding night we had chocolates and champagne waiting for us. only issue was check out the next day, huge line up as everyone checks out at 11am. would stay here again anytime

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post both such great and such a detailed review of your stay here at Park Hyatt Melbourne.

I was delighted to read how much you both enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the hotel.

Sorry that you found the long check out lines on a Sunday to be that of an annoyance. We have packages available that offer late check outs so let me know when you plan to return and we can make sure that you have a late check out granted. The latter allowing for a more leisurely morning.

I write this trusting you are well and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for a few days due to business.

Check-in was fast an efficient at about 5pm.
The room was on the 15th floor and faced internally.

The room was very large for a normal room compared to other Melbourne hotels.
Everything was in place and working.
Air-con was quiet and functioned well.
The room was quiet with very little outside noise appearing to come through. You could not hear the elevators.

The bed was very comfortable and there was plently of room lighting with the ability to adjust brightness.

The work bench had power points nearby and the wifi signal was strong and stable.

The bathroom was large but bench space was very limited due to having dual sinks / wash basins. The large was large and hotel water was continual and pressure strong. A large selection of washroom items e.g shampoo, body wash, shaver etc was supplied. The products seemed good. A large bath was also in the room as well as a TV in the bathroom.

A turn down service was provided in the evening at no charge.
No free water was provided (even as a Platinum member).

The hotel restaurant was excellent in the evening for dinner.
Room service for breakfast was average. But i guess the challenge is always having hot food arrive hot from the kitchen.

In summary, this hotel is very well worth considering if you are staying in Melbourne if you are looking for a good location and a roo with extra space and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post both such great and such a detailed review of your stay here at Park Hyatt Melbourne.
I do not really know where to start as you really covered every aspect of the hotel and its facilities and while I can see there was some disappointment with the room service breakfast you ordered and I would like to advise that your comments have been shared with our director of food and beverage. It is of course through feedback on this nature that we are able to improve on what we do.
Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally look after your accommodation requirements.
I write this trusting you are well and look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne soon.
Kind regards,
Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night for business. The room I had was very bite and spacious. I struggled to find a power pointin the room to charge my mobile. I had to used power point in the bathroom.

The desk area was set up quite strangely, there wasn't much space and again no spare power point to plug laptop in etc.

The bed was comfortable and I had a great nights sleep.

I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Trip Advisor.

I think fair to surmise you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel, albeit the lack of power points. With that I would like to advise you that we have been and still are installing additional power points in all our guest rooms and suites. You can imagine though that this is quite a large assignment and that it will take some time to complete. That said, should you decide to return and make your reservation via myself, then I would ensure you would receive a room with the additional points fitted.

I trust you are well and look forward to hearing from you and of course to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Hotel Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.