We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Quality and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top Quality and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We recently stayed at the Park Hyatt for our anniversary, check-in was very easy, room was a large spa room on the cathedral side. Big room and well layed out. We went from a swim to unwind (a bit cold for more liking. Dinner was at the Radii and the food was great, very nice, however they do need to slow down the service, just finished entrée when mains arrived. Room service breakfast was very tasty and on time. I had a minor issue that i raised with management and easily sorted. Overall, great stay, not as noisy as the Collins street hotels or Crown. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you both enjoyed your time here and while not everything was perfect, your over all experience was that of a good one.

I would like to let you know that your feedback re the temperature of the swimming pool (too cold) and indeed the speed of service in radii restaurant & bar (too fast) has been shared with the relevant department heads as it is through feedback on this nature that enables us to improve on what we do so thank you again for this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you.

Very best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    217
    71
    39
    14
See reviews for
93
417
73
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel combines the mixture of luxury, space, quality service, while being close to the city.

The rooms are large, such that you feel you are at home rather than in Hotel.

The bathroom must be experienced

The staff is always willing to be helpful from the doorman to the room service staff.

The option of the executive lounge is great and lifts the experience to another level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
I have just read the comments you have posted on Trip Advisor and wanted to thank you for all that you have said about our hotel.

Fair to say I think you have addressed all of our key features/attributes which we feel make/s Park Hyatt Melbourne that of a special hotel. Delighted too that you enjoy the Park Lounge! The latter certainly worth the additional charge given all the inclusions once there.

Do let me know if I can ever be of assistance to you. I would be only too delighted to assist you with your up coming accommodation requirements.

I trust you are well.

Very best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We were very disappointed by our stay at the Park Hyatt.
Melbourne is buzzy but this hotel is located a little too far our of things- I wouldn't mind if you got some peace with the location but there was so much noise !!! ---There were two functions with loud music and guests traipsing in and out and then from 1am and throughout the early hours there were noisy guests in the corridors shouting, slamming doors and playing music.
The rooms were tired, the outlook from the rooms was terrible and even the toliet paper seemed cheap. The staff seemed overworked and the service was terrible---the breakfast buffet at $40 was overcrowded ( mainly with hungover yobs from the parties the night before) and we had to ask for service a number of times. This is not what we expected from a hotel of this rating and price! No excuses from a Park Hyatt hotel .

Room Tip: Not in the "cathedral" wing which was pretty tired and not a room looking at the internal...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, albeit your feedback was not of a positive nature.

I was terribly sorry to read that you found so many aspects of your stay here to be those of negative ones. While we always try to tick all of the boxes so as to create memorable experiences of the positive kind, it would appear that while you were here we ticked none and that you have indeed left Park Hyatt Melbourne with allot of negative feelings.

The matters you have raised have been shared with all departments concerned; From our events team to our front office team and indeed with our security department and I have asked that we investigate exactly what took place over the period you were in residence. It is of course through candid feedback like you have given, that enables us to improve on our operation.

We pride ourselves on extending high levels of service (something we strive to do during each and every interaction with our guests) and also enjoy our location, as do so many of our regular guests.

I hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves and should you wish to return then please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can personally look after your reservation.

I write this trusting you are well and thank you once more for your feedback.

Very best regards,


Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed here on a few occasions and it has always been first class. Our latest visit was a last night of luxury before having our first baby. Everything was pretty well perfect until we ordered room service. 1 meal had undercooked chicken (which was for my pregnant partner) and the other had lamb that was tough as leather. Not really ideal for a 5 star hotel. On the bright side, the staff were very apologetic and thankfully we didn't get charged for our meals.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor post that of your recent stay. While I can see we met your expectations in most areas it would appear we fell short where your room service meal was concerned. I would like to ensure you that your comments have been taken on board and will be discussed so as to ensure incidence of this nature do not occur again.

Please let me know when you plan to return to Park Hyatt Melbourne so that I can personally look after you both.

Wishing you all the very best with the birth of your child.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed for a night in a standard room. Asked for a room with a view and got one of the tennis court and internal courtyard instead. The room itself was spacious, clean and in great condition as you would expect of a Park Hyatt. Beds were comfy, with a decent sized tv and enough channels to keep most people amused. No issues with noise. The bathroom was big, with a tub and small TV, double sinks etc. Generic toiletries were a little surprising. The small business centre has a couple of PCs with comp internet access which is a nice touch. There was no turn down service and no comp water which was a little disappointing at this end of the market.

If you're driving there the narrow driveway can be a little hard to find, the access road is parallel to the main street. The location itself isnt as convenient as the Grand Hyatt if you're a tourist. Apart from the rooms being bigger (30-40%) there's little difference between the GH and PH, although the prices are more or less the same anyhow. It wasnt a bad stay, but there was nothing special about the hotel, it really is just average. The location is ok and the rooms are big but compared to other PHs, it was underwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor.

Your account of you stay here was interesting and indeed very candid which was appreciated. I was of course sorry to hear that you were not overly enamored with both our room product or for that matter, our location. The latter points we do not hear that often but of course appreciate negative feedback when we receive it. So thank you for that.

In terms of the room you were allocated. I am apologise that we did not fulfill your request for a room with a view. We aim to meet requests of this nature but in your case we did not. Next time and it would be good think that there could be one, I would ensure you receive a high floor and indeed views of the city or indeed over the Treasury Gardens and beyond.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel early August to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We booked direct with the hotel and the rate was excellent. Upon check in at 4.30 our room wasn't ready but the staff quickly set us up in the bar with a complementary drink. When our room was ready we had been upgraded to a Terrace suite overlooking St Patricks! The Suites are elegant with an art deco theme, separate lounge and a gas log fire, walk in robe complete with yoga mat, large study with sliding doors opening on to a large terrace, the signature bathroom with spa bath and build in TV and large bedroom also overlooking the cathedral. Just as we had settled in the GM sent up Australian sparkling and a box of Hyatt signature chocolates and a note congratulating us on the occasion. This is what you expect when staying at 5 star properties but unfortunately many hotels don't follow through! The in room dining menu is extensive and very reasonable and served on a trolley set with silver and crystal, the pool is a delight well lit with plush towels and the day spa very relaxing. All in all we couldn't fault the hotel and will be booking again for a stay in January!

Room Tip: Book a terrace suite or Cathedral suite for a balcony or floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such glowing comments on Trip Advisor.

It would seem you enjoyed every aspect of your stay here which is great to hear! Congratulations. albeit rather belated, on your 10th wedding anniversary too. Do let me know if you would like assistance with your planned stay for January and indeed for August when you could perhaps both return for your 11th wedding anniversary in 2012.....?

I write this trusting you are well and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of further assistance to you.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have spent the last three years at this property for 3 nights on a visit into the heart of Melbourne, We love it, the service is great, location good and have never had a bad room

Room Tip: TRy and get one that overlooks the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

While they were short and sweet they said it all and indeed I am delighted that you enjoy frequenting our hotel. You must let me know when you plan to return so that I can assist you with your accommodation and indeed your room allocation.

I trust you are well.
Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
_____________________________________________
Park Hyatt Hotels
Luxury is Personal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.