We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Delight
Ranked #10 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at thhe Park Hyatt for one night in one of the Club King rooms. From the moment of arrival the service was warm and welcoming, the room incredibly spacious and well maintained. My observation was that the staff were very helpful to everyone, happy to provide information and advice and definitely placed customers first. The Club lounge on the 19th floor is beautiful with amazing views of the city skyline. A great place to relax with a coffee and the paper. Dinner and drinks at Radii were excellent. I will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your "glowing" comments about our hotel! We strive for excellence so comments of this nature are always appreciated and indeed are shared with the entire hotel team. We would be delighted to welcome you back and in my writing to you, you now have all of my contact details. The latter of which I trust you'll use when you decide to return. Just let me know!

I write this trusting you are well.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    181
    58
    36
    14
See reviews for
79
343
65
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in Melbourne. It's position close to the top end of Collins St and the Fitzroy Gardens is ideal. The hotel has a charmingly "art deco" foyer area and the rooms are very nice indeed. My husband and I have stayed here for the last 3 Easter breaks and can't fault a thing. A bonus - It's close to some great Melbourne restaurants - one which must be named is Cumulus in Flinders Lane - an absolute must visit. The only criticism I have of the hotel is the main restaurant but with so many wonderful places to eat in Melbourne, that doesn't create a problem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your positive words about your recent visit to Park Hyatt Melbourne.
That said it seems that while you were happy with most aspects of our hotel, we failed to meet your expectations with regards to our restaurant. I would be happy to discuss this further with you should you wish to contact me. My details are all listed below.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Park Hyatt Melbourne and look forward to doing so.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011 via mobile

This hotel has contract with hospital. Mothers who just had a baby come and stay at the hotel. So can hear baby cry all night. Doors open and shut (very loud in middle of night) all night.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SholtoSmith, General Manager at Park Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments on Trip Advisor.

I was most concerned to hear that you left the hotel with such negative comments. It was unfortunate that your room was allocated where it was. I can assure you that this is not common practice and that should you return your room would not be in that area of the hotel. I hope you would be prepared to trust me on this matter and that you will give us another try.

Please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after you. My details are all listed below.

Best regards,

Sholto

Sholto Smith (Mr)
Resident Manager
Park Hyatt Melbourne
1 Parliament Square, Off Parliament Place
East Melbourne, Victoria 3002
Australia
Phone: +61 (0) 3 9224 1234
Email: sholto.smith@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We chose the Park Hyatt because we needed to be at the MCG in the afternoon and at the Comedy Theatre in the evening and the hotel was centrally located to both. They also had an Easter package on offer that appeared to be good value and included an Easter egg. It was a fabulous choice.
The room was spacious with views towards the MCG. The bathroom had a large corner bath, large shower, double vanity and separate toilet. There were plenty of toiletries and good quality tea & coffee. It seemed that a lot of thought had gone into what was provided in the room.
Our Easter egg arrived while we were out in the afternoon and was much appreciated.
Every staff member we interacted with was friendly and helpful.
The room service dinner was delicious, as was the breakfast the next morning.
Our only regret was that we were only booked in for one night!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I’ve stayed at the Park Hyatt Melbourne a number of times – it always impresses.

Whether it’s at check-in, breakfast (full marks to the chef), or dinner at the Radii - the staff’s professionalism & friendliness is second to none.

Many years ago, attending a book launch by an ex-Prime Minister in the Ballroom, Paul Keating began his speech by saying “What a Magnificent Hotel” - exactly!

Room Tip: Make sure you enjoy the Swimming Pool & Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed over the queen's birthday long weekend. I know from booking the hotel was very full but never felt crowded. There were a number of weddings and conferences but due to the conference areas being below the lobby and having their own entrances it did not feel like hundreds of people were coming and going.
We stayed in 2 deluxe club rooms which at 60 sqm were very spacious. Despite the hotel being almost fully booked our 2 rooms were adjacent, as requested. Access to the club lounge was very good value for a family of 5. Evelyn was a delightful and friendly hostess for the club lounge. Once again, there was always plenty of seating.
Despite not being a huge fan of indoor pools, the Hyatt's one is very lovely. Bonus marks go the hotel for allowing us a late checkout on the holiday Monday as we were delayed with the volcanic ash closure of Melbourne. Qantas keeping us on hold for an hour when they had texted us to ring them was not so great. I understand they had thousnads of people to contact but at the very least they should give you a position in the queue so you can decide whether to hold or not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney - Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I don't mean "Not in the CBD" as a negative. Its still walkable to the city and closer to the MCG and sports precinct. The benefit is that its beautifully quiet and serene. We were very lucky to nab the Park Hyatt with a 5 star mystery choice on Wotif. Its a fabulous hotel, all old school cool and class with heaps of marble and wood. The rooms and bathrooms are exactly what you'd expect from this level of hotel, terrific.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 1 Parliament Square | off Parliament Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Fitzroy Gardens and the cosmopolitan mix of Victorian and modern architecture of the central business district, Park Hyatt Melbourne offers an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of the city. Our hotel in Melbourne CBD provides a warm ambience and exceptional levels of personalised service and luxury amenities. Renowned for having the largest 240 luxury rooms & suites in Melbourne with walk in robes, Italian marble ensuites and open windows, our luxury hotel in Melbourne provides an unparalleled experience of elegant, contemporary luxury. Guests are invited to enjoy the award-winning ‘radii’ restaurant & bar, a decadent Tea Lounge and Park Club Health & Day Spa featuring an indoor aquamarine pool, spa, sauna, gym and private sun deck. Our Melbourne hotel is only 25 km from Melbourne Airport, and is convenient to most city attractions around the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), home of the Australian Football League (AFL) and test cricket, The Melbourne Museum and the best boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants and theatre districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;