We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

I spent 4 nights during Commonwealth games. On their website I could see that you needed a deluxe room in order to receive a spacious room with nice view. We had room 202, which was very large and lovely view over the fireworks at the commonwealth ceremony.

Location is near to everything. The hotel staff are very helpful and knowledgeable.

Room service for dinner are very fast and very good.

Breakfast is super.

This place is both good for business travellers and for tourists. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    211
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
30
316
33
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

Stayed for a week during Commonwealth games.

Pluses
There are only 60 rooms - its small and friendly, you do not feel like a cog in a business hotel machine
Good sized rooms, high ceilings, great decor. We found king size bed to be v comfortable - unlike previous review
Good, small bar/lounge that is never busy... with a full size billiard table
Pleasant staff - unobtrusive, polite but always available
Good location, easy walking to most locations fantastic for the MCG and tennis centre, easy access to public transport
Good in house restaurant - not cheap, but good quality

Minuses
No gym on site - have to use the facility at the Sofitel 200m away - and pay a usage charge - seems a bit tight
Unless you get a room at the front, on Flinders street, you will have a view of a brick wall or car park and have limited natural light - I found this became a bit oppressive after 8 days
Broad band internet access is expensive if you want more than the complimentary 1hr/day

Overall - it's your choice - be anonymous with a view at a place like the Sofitel or have a great individual experience at the Lindrum

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2006

We stayed at the Lindrum for one night on New Year's Eve and were very happy. it is very smart and modern -huge room and bathroom with nice decor. There was no problem with noise at all (the window was on the side of the building so no street outside). It is true that there aren't great views but it is very conveniently located for the city centre - you can walk everywhere, and to my mind, that is much more important than the view. Room service for dinner was ok, not great, but the breakfast was fantastic. The cold buffet is good and the hot food is cooked to order and not sitting around soggily. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2006

Hotel Lindrum is conveniently located in downtown Melbourne. The staff is very nice and knowledgeable. I was very pleased to stay with them and am already looking forward to my next visit. I recently made this reservation as well as many of my travel bookings through a hotel website called Tablet Hotels. I was pleased with how easy it was to book as well as the customer service I received, which was top of the line. I would not only recommend this hotel to people who are looking for the advantages of a good small hotel, but the Tablet Hotels website to all of my friends.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2005

Stayed here the second week of November for four days. Staff is very friendly an efficent. No noisy registration area, very calm and peaceful. All requests were handled on a timely basis. The location of the hotel is at the end of the CBD, but very easy to walk everywhere. We took a deluxe room facing Flinders Street. My wife questioned my #1 rule of quiet room first, view second. I should have followed this as the room was on the third floor above Flinders Street and you could hear traffic from time to time even though it seemed as if the windows were double insulated. It hardly ruined our trip, but I would have preferred a quieter room. The room itself was large and airy with plenty of storage space. I definetly would stay here again, but in a room towards the back.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2005

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and were not so satisfied with it. The only positive point was location : not far from city center. The size of the room was also fine. But, we did not find the view so stunning at all (as wrongly mentionned in their brochure), it was indeed overlooking Yarra river, BUT also many very ugly railways and stadium... Reminded us a bit of an industrial zone... We found the staff very unfriedly, and not helpfull at all. We found room service a bit lazy : just make our bed and minimum service in the bathroom. At the bar downstairs, we could not find any red wine glas for less than AU$ 12 ! And this was really common wine, nothing exceptionnal ! Would definitly not go there anymore !

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2005

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2005.

Pluses:
- Location--in the CBD on the river.
- Decor
- Room size--we stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the river with great high ceilings.
- Staff--helpful and welcoming.

Minuses:
- Bed was not comfortable (boutique hotels have not got this quite right yet)

We would recommend this place with the caveat that the bed is not up to standard.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.