We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Located about 10mins walk from the main train station area this boutique hotel is a nice place to stay. I enjoyed being in the room with its huge arch window and very comfortable, large and clean bed. There are quality organic toiletries in the bathroom. In the bedroom there is a good sounding radio/ipod dock, flatscreen TV, desk, free wifi access, tea/coffee making facilities, aircon, safe, iron etc. Breakfast is good quality but was extra on my room rate. You can choose from a limited buffet or take a la carte. Overall a pleasant stay in a nice and comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback.

We agree that the hotel is in the perfect location for all that Melbourne has to offer including easy access to public transport.


It sounds like you enjoyed everything your room had to offer in terms of facilities which is fantastic.

If you choose to re-book and we hope you do ! please be aware that we do have packages available inclusive of breakfast, which may be more suitable for your needs.


We look forward to welcoming you back.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    179
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
266
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have stayed at the Lindrum a couple of times over the years and I was reminded just what a great hotel it was on a recent trip. You walk through the large door from the hustle and bustle of Flinders street into the pleasantly calm interior on the Lindrum with a distinct ‘old school’ feel about it.
The staff are particularly helpful but unobtrusive and the rooms are well appointed. The building is quite old but has been elegantly updated.
I especially liked the billards table in the lobby and the very low key bar. Location is great with Trams at front door and the sports stadiums within comfortable walking distance.
I am not a huge fan of Melbourne, probably because I have to travel there for work so often and the ‘look how quirky I am’ nature of the city can be tiresome. However, the Lindrum picks up the best elements of the city and presents them in a very subtle manner to be enjoyed in your own way.
I will always look to stay at the Lindrum rather than the large chain hotels on Collins St which are great but a little generic.

Room Tip: I quite like the rooms that face onto Flinders Street. The original windowns make for a nice ambianc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your loyalty to Hotel Lindrum. A very warm welcome back!

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciate the well-appointed rooms that have recently undergone a refurbishment.

We really appreciate your comments – thank you for taking the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

From the moment we arrived, the staff made very little effort or none to accommodate us especially Sam. Fortunately, we avoided first floor but our room on an upper floor must have been under or near a generator. In directing us to a restaurant, he put a dot on the map which was not even close to its location instead of writing down the address. We never found the restaurant which was one we had hoped to visit. In calling for a cab service they made no attempt to dial another number which was given and we left too early for the airport. Most of the rooms face walls and do vary in size. Their lack of hospitality left us with a bad impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay with us in October of last year. We really appreciate all guest feedback.

I apologise sincerely for the lack of service that you encountered on this occasion and I am so sorry and disappointed to hear that you have been left with a poor impression of the hotel.

We take your comments on board and I hope you may consider that this would seem to be an unusual occurrence at Hotel Lindrum.

Once again I apologise that you had a negative service experience on this occasion.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Boutique hotel on the edge of central Melbourne.
Tram stop outside the door.
We were welcomed with a drink of iced tea when we checked in. Helpful reception staff.
Open plan ground floor (reception, restaurant, bar, billiard table) means sound travels up the open stairwell to rooms from the bar - we were on the first floor so perhaps more aware of this.
There was a good choice of breakfast, although staff not always available. There were only two staff serviing, and even if only one or two tables were occupied the staff seemed to disappear into the kitchen for long periods.
Restaurant very quiet for dinner. The menu offered 2 different steaks (striploin and fillet?) and I'm sure they gave me the wrong one - I ordered the fillet but what I got was nothing like a fillet steak I'd get in the UK or USA.
Breakfast 3 egg omelette was quite small.
Room well appointed, comfy bed, nice toiletries provided.
Rooms on the side of the building had no view apart from a concrete wall a few feet away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front so you get some daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your in depth feedback – thank you !

Although you mention a nice welcome and helpful reception staff, I am disappointed to hear that the service you received for breakfast was below standard. I apologise if this in anyway detracted from your stay.

We also obviously got your dinner order incorrect- again I apologise.

I am glad you enjoyed your room. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I apologise again for the poor level of service you received across dinner and breakfast.

I do hope you will consider returning in the future.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We loved the Lindrum. It's on a busy street but street noise was never a problem. From the moment you walk in through the heavy wooden door at the entrance you feel you are in a bit of an oasis that takes you away from the hustle and bustle outside. VERY comfortable bed and clean, spacious room. Walking distance to most of the cultural attractions in Melbourne. Right next to Fitzroy Park--a great place to walk or jog. Loved the location. Friendly and helpful staff, nice breakfast. I recommend this hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you love the hotel! Thank you for your review.

It sounds like you really enjoyed both the hotel and location with easy access to parks around.

Thanks again for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.