We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - but we're not all AFL ruckman height” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely - but we're not all AFL ruckman height”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

One of the new breed of boutique hotels - which I am very enamoured with at the moment. Fronts the very busy Flinders street (tricky for cars during the afternoon clearway period but taxis unfazed by this). Gorgeous huge front door which was a bit tough to open for a lightweight like me (more on size issues later). Inside it's all atmosphere: comfortable and warm foyer-bar with the restaurant to one side. Further in, there's a cosy lounge area and also a pool table room.

There's a lift to get up to any of the 4 floors of rooms but there's also a lovely restored wooden staircase for when you're luggage free. The corridors are wooden floor with carpet down the middle for quietness.

The staff are professional and warm. The rooms are huge and comfortable. I understand that there's some renovations going on (the lift was clearly undergoing refurbishment); and part of my superior room (thanks for the upgrade) seemed to be in need of a 'reno' (the bit where they put the fridge and glasses and so on). But the rest was understated and warm in style. Loved the chaise for that brief recuperating rest between work and dinner.

Security note - there was no extra lock thing on the door; the one that prevents the door coming open. I hadn't realised that such an absence would make me pause but it did.

Okay - here's my other size beef: it was a really tricky stretch to hang my clothes in the wardrobe - way above my reach; and similarly with the hooks in the bathroom for the robe (yummy soft robe btw); and as for adjusting the shower from the pulsing type shower head to the rain one - forget it!

I really liked this hotel and hope I can get back there and try their restaurant too (breakfast was delicious; perfect eggs, perfect toast and good coffee).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your in-depth valuable feedback in relation to your stay with us. It is great to hear that you are a lover of boutique hotels as we are truly aiming to please you.

In relation to the door, I agree it is a fantastic feature and we spend a lot of time adjusting the door closer to try to ensure that it is not too difficult to open. I apologise that you had trouble with this.

Also I apologise that it was difficult for you to hang your clothes due to hangers being out of your reach and other issues such as positioning of shower taps and the bathrobe hook. We will certainly take the time to review.

You will be pleased to learn that we are currently in the process of refreshing our rooms. We plan for all of our rooms to be completed by January 2014.

Once again thank you for your detailed review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    174
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
258
25
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice stay on new years eve. Great view of the fireworks form room window. Food and cocktails very nice. Would recommend as it is in a great central location. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay on New Years Eve. It is hard to believe that we are in October with New Year’s Eve only weeks away.

Hopefully we can tempt you back to celebrate at Hotel Lindrum again this year?

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a Junior Suite to celebrate an anniversary. The room was spacious and comfortable. Being at the rear of the hotel, it was also very quiet, ensuring a peaceful sleep. Hotel service was pleasant and efficient and the bar/restaurant area anice place to relax. Recommended for access to the MCG, Tennis and the City centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very appreciative that you choose to stay at Hotel Lindrum for your recent Anniversary.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your room and found our team to be pleasant.

We hope to welcome you back to celebrate your future Anniversaries!

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over a weekend at the Lindrum in a junior suite and found it to be a very comfortable experience. The furnishings and fit out of rooms are not as plush as other comparable hotels, more on the understated side, however the beds & bedlinen were excellent and a room at the back of the hotel ensured that we were not disturbed by street noise. The location of the hotel allows for easy exploration of the city on foot & the discount arrangement with the carpark next door makes the parking fee reasonable if you don't take the car in and out. Rececption and service was professional and prompt and housekeeping requests such as an additonal robe when we found only one in the bathroom, were attended to quickly. Small gripe regarding the UHP milk & tea bags we used not being replaced after the first day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent weekend stay- thank you.

I apologise that we missed the attention to detail in respect of your room service that we pride ourselves on delivering. Thank you bringing to our attention.

It sounds like you enjoyed your room other than this and also the surrounding area. We agree that our location is ideal with much happening in the surrounding area.

We look forward to welcoming back.

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to try the Lindrum Hotel, a relatively new member of the Accor group of which we are members. I rang to book for Fathers Day lunch but were advised that no lunch was being catered for on that day. When I explained to the staff member Bhovan, that it was also our sons birthday, an immediate enquiry was made with the chef, who kindly agreed to cater for us. We were a party of 5 and were the only guests sitting down to lunch in the dining room for a full a la carte lunch from the dinner menu. We had Madeleine and Alex serving our table and these young staff members were an absolute delight. They were totally committed to their service. Their warmth and friendliness was exemplary. This made our day an exceptional one. The food in the Felt restaurant is outstanding with great variety and amazing attention to detail. A very high quality meal and we totally recommend this restaurant for a meal, even in you are not staying in the hotel. You will be very happy with this fine dining experience. We had booked a Junior suite for the evening and must say the room was a delight. Everything was spotless and the attention to detail was refreshing. Beautiful white towels, robes, slippers. All the luxury items you come to expect of a top class hotel. We had room service for a supper time snack and this was delivered quickly and was delicious as was our breakfast the following morning. The Lindrum was a 5/5 experience for us and we will definitely be returning. A special thank you to Sam, who gave us a late checkout as we were scheduled to go to the airport later in the afternoon. Also thank you to Bhovan who actually set about taking our booking and organising our special lunch. A great experience for our family. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite which is slightly larger than other rooms but this room is not expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had such a lovely experience with us last weekend for Father’s Day.
Thank you for choosing to have your celebratory occasion in our restaurant, felt and for staying with us.

Your feedback has been shared at length with the team in particular, Sam Bhuvan, Alex and Madeleine who are delighted with the personalised mention.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back and once again thankyou for your recommendation.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I love staying at the Hotel Lindrum. It is stylish and clean and the staff are excellent. One of the things I like best about it is that they have very high quality toiletries which don't contain harmful chemicals and most importantly are not tested on animals. I appreciate this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We are happy you love staying with us.

It is fantastic that you appreciate our Apelles Apothecary amenities. We agree that they are great quality and ethical too.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Dont need to add much more. Great hotel if you get for a reasonable price. Great service, quality, location. The rooms are huge. Only gripe would be that the TV is quite small given the quality of the rest of the hotel. We didnt have a view but you dont need one as there is plenty to do in Melbourne! Would definately stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. In relation to our TV’s you will be pleased to know that we are in the process of upgrading at the moment as we complete our rooms refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy our improved product.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.