We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lot of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Loved this hotel! It had a tonne of character and we got an excellent rate.

Room was clean and spacious. Had an excellent bath and shower. The TV was on the small side but we didn't plan to watch much TV so was not really an issue.

Will definitely be staying here again during future visits to Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,


We appreciate you taking the time to post a review.

So delighted that you loved your stay and appreciated the value for money and individuality that we offer.

I appreciate that the TV’s are o the small side. We are planning to upgrade in the next few months.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    214
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
320
34
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I'm always a little hesitant paying out money to stay at hotels as in the past I’ve had some bad experiences with noisy neighbours keeping me up all night. Hotel Lindrum was not one of these hotels. As soon as I walked into the foyer, it was like entering a little cocoon. Yes, you hear the rumble of the tram as it passes by, and yes you hear the muffled chitter chatter of people walking down the hallway to their room, but that is where the noise stops. It was heaven! I loved this hotel. It was cosy, modern yet liveable with a touch of class. A little worn around the edges, but I felt this added an extra element to the place – it felt well loved. I’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the carpark, which didn't worry me in the slightest as I wasn't staying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

It really means a lot to learn that we have restored your faith in positive hotel experiences.

We really appreciate the words you have chosen to describe your experience as we take a lot of pride in endeavouring to make this type of connection with you as our guest.

We look forward to your return visit.


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Happy to have "found" this hotel, lots of character, loved the timber floors and staircase, and especially the gas log fire in the bar/lounge, very comfy and relaxing to have a drink on a cool night. It was clean and spacious, though no outlook. We took advantage of a special deal so it was fantastic value at this time. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I would call the Hotel Lindrum a boutique hotel. It has all the comforts of a large hotel on a smaller scale which translates to great comfort and excellent service. The hotel is tastefully decorated and has a very understated luxury feel about it. The staff are very efficient and friendly and multitask so over three days I came to recognize the staff and they were all professional and friendly. My room was a standard room and was well equipped with everything I needed. I particularly
Iiked the range of products in the bathroom. I will definitely stay at Hotel Lindrum in the future when I travel to Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I keep coming back to this place. The location at the top of Flinders Street is brilliant, the ambiance is relaxed and stylish, the staff are helpful and they look after their regular customers, which is a red button issue for me. On my last trip I got upgraded to a front room overlooking the sporting precinct of Yarra Park and the room was just great. I will keep going back as its my Melbourne home away from home.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking Flinders street have the best view but if traffic sounds bother you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A friend suggested this boutique hotel when we were looking for accommodation in Melbourne for a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Research on the internet indicated that it would be roughly a half an hour walk to the convention centre. Upon check in at reception, the staff member said it would only take about 10-15 minutes. In reality, it took us closer to 30 minutes. The walk was pleasant, a lovely way to enjoy the city along the Yarra River. Trams and taxis are always an option. Reception staff were helpful in assisting with calling for taxis.
The room itself is spacious with plenty of seating. Classical music playing in the room was a wonderful way to welcome us upon our arrival. Special touches include a little sweet treat wrapped in cellophane on the bed when we returned in the evenings. We stayed in a twin room on the fourth floor for three nights. Traffic noise was audible from inside the room which was slightly disturbing. The beds were fairly comfortable.
A 30 day advance payment rate of just under $167 per night was considered good value for this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you to your friend for the recommendation to stay at Hotel Lindrum.

Apologies that we didn’t convey the correct information in relation to the distance to the Convention Centre – we need to work on getting this right.

I am delighted that you appreciated the little touches and attention to detail that we pride ourselves on.

Also great that you found your stay good value for money value with our advance purchase rate.

Thanks again for your feedback.


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this great hotel. It is within easy walking distance to virtually anything, extremely clean and professionally presented. Rooms were clean and tidy. Pillows weren't the most comfortable though. An onsite gym would be handy, but this is just personal preference. Didn't try the restaurant, as it is an easy walk or quick cab ride to anything and everything. Tram stop close by and Flinders st station, and Federation square all within cooee and easy for transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We agree we are ideally located within walking distance of most major Melbourne attractions.

Apologies that you didn’t find the pillows comfortable – we do have different pillow options available, we appreciate that every traveller has a personal preference. I am disappointed that we didn’t communicate this aspect of our service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and would love to tempt you to stay and experience our restaurant !


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.