We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat business counts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUPER SALES : 30% OFF
Ranked #9 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Repeat business counts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I keep coming back to this place. The location at the top of Flinders Street is brilliant, the ambiance is relaxed and stylish, the staff are helpful and they look after their regular customers, which is a red button issue for me. On my last trip I got upgraded to a front room overlooking the sporting precinct of Yarra Park and the room was just great. I will keep going back as its my Melbourne home away from home.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking Flinders street have the best view but if traffic sounds bother you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    186
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
279
26
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A friend suggested this boutique hotel when we were looking for accommodation in Melbourne for a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. Research on the internet indicated that it would be roughly a half an hour walk to the convention centre. Upon check in at reception, the staff member said it would only take about 10-15 minutes. In reality, it took us closer to 30 minutes. The walk was pleasant, a lovely way to enjoy the city along the Yarra River. Trams and taxis are always an option. Reception staff were helpful in assisting with calling for taxis.
The room itself is spacious with plenty of seating. Classical music playing in the room was a wonderful way to welcome us upon our arrival. Special touches include a little sweet treat wrapped in cellophane on the bed when we returned in the evenings. We stayed in a twin room on the fourth floor for three nights. Traffic noise was audible from inside the room which was slightly disturbing. The beds were fairly comfortable.
A 30 day advance payment rate of just under $167 per night was considered good value for this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you to your friend for the recommendation to stay at Hotel Lindrum.

Apologies that we didn’t convey the correct information in relation to the distance to the Convention Centre – we need to work on getting this right.

I am delighted that you appreciated the little touches and attention to detail that we pride ourselves on.

Also great that you found your stay good value for money value with our advance purchase rate.

Thanks again for your feedback.


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this great hotel. It is within easy walking distance to virtually anything, extremely clean and professionally presented. Rooms were clean and tidy. Pillows weren't the most comfortable though. An onsite gym would be handy, but this is just personal preference. Didn't try the restaurant, as it is an easy walk or quick cab ride to anything and everything. Tram stop close by and Flinders st station, and Federation square all within cooee and easy for transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We agree we are ideally located within walking distance of most major Melbourne attractions.

Apologies that you didn’t find the pillows comfortable – we do have different pillow options available, we appreciate that every traveller has a personal preference. I am disappointed that we didn’t communicate this aspect of our service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and would love to tempt you to stay and experience our restaurant !


Best wishes,




Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good spot at the top of Flinders street with a set of stairs next to the hotel to take you up to Flinders land and all the restaurants.
Good bar with open fire.
The rooms on 1 & guess 2nd floors have garage doors below them so suggest stay away from 113,115 & 116 if you don't like doors going up & down.
also 1 floor rooms although nicely laid out only have a small TV and are generally dark rooms.
Internet was free but not quick.

Room Tip: higher up would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

It is now the time of year to appreciate our open fire. Really glad to hear that you did !

I apologise if you were disturbed by a door opening and closing. It would be our loading bay door that disturbed you. We have had this serviced so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We are planning to upgrade our TV’s very soon along with some of the other room features.


We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back.


Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent two nights here - what a great location, easy to walk to most places you might need and near the trams if you need to go farther afield. I love design hotels - and thought the interiors were well executed and very cool. The staff at reception were very friendly and attentive - loved thier multiskilled capability at reception and in the bar (which is one and the same - the bar wraps around the back of the desk creating a great multifunctional space). Nothing better than a receptionist who can make a mean mojito (we had 6 - they were absolutely fab!!). The room was spacious and very comfortable - particulalry the bed. Bathroom was huge and easy to use - a dream after having so many bathrooms that are too small to even rest your toothbrush. I would recommend this hotel any time - the stay was too short.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel- we appreciate it !

It is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the design and the level of service from the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay we only had one night .would recommend this hotel to family and friends.The staff where great and location was good .the rooms are very roomy so was the bathroom.The service we received was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the perfect location for easy access to all the major sporting grounds.

We hope you team won at the football ! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Service: Upon arriving at our room, we decided we wanted a different room type and our request was handled quickly and courteously (thank you, Alex).

Room: On a particularly pleasing note, our room was incredibly quiet; virtually no street/hallway noise (maybe the extra-thick doors help). The room itself was fairly large and well laid out, with decent closet/drawer space and a useful entryway.

Location: Perfect for us, in the downtown corner, easily walkable to amazing restaurants, bars, street art, shopping, Flinders St. Station, etc.

Con: Our one (minor) complaint: we never saw a sidewalk doorman to help with bags, which would be particularly helpful given the small staircase (no ramp) leading up to the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,


Thank you so much for your recent feedback. We really appreciate your comments.

It is a pleasure to hear that you appreciated the service offered particularly by Alex on this occasion.

We agree that the location is perfect wether for business or leisure. Perfect for exploring all the attractions Melbourne has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.