We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape from the day to day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great escape from the day to day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a night out here, to just break up the week. It was a Tuesday but fully booked.
The room on the 4th floor, wad spacious and well thought out, only minor criticism was that a king size bed would have much better suited the room, the queen size bed somewhat was dwarfed by the room. The tea selection and the mugs were most appreciated. Drinks at he bar were great, the cocktails were perfect, the eclectic reading selection and games in the bar were great. Felt restaurant is a must do with great food and service. Yes the place is boutique and quirky, with creaky wooden floors but very welcoming. Free wifi is a bonus. Definitely worth the stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    179
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
266
25
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wonderful atmosphere and a great location to stay. We were off to a concert and could walk to the venue. After the concert a short walk to the Supper club for an after concert drink. Definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just a lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff, cozy stylish rooms, close to great restaurants, nothing to fault really. Stayed twice already for couple getaway, staying again next month. Have not had brekky there, we think no point with city cafes at your doorstep! Parking prob an issue like with all CBD hotels, but we fly in and taxi or walk around.

Room Tip: Suites are very roomy and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The staff at this hotel pushed my review from 2 stars, to 3. Sam at check-in and Ella at check-out went out of their way to be helpful and had a pleasant, courteous manner, unlike staff in some Melbourne hotels who think they are doing you a favour by serving you. I was particularly grateful for the attention shown in giving me a quiet room, which I had emailed the hotel about in advance.

The Queen studio was adequate for our purposes, although the strange floor matting detracted from the 'homeliness' of the room. As for the TV, what *is* that thing??? I don't think I've seen anything like that in a hotel for 10 - 15 years!!! The bed was quite hard and neither of us slept well on it. There was an old-fashioned wooden wardrobe in the room. Also a relic of times gone past, in a world of built-in robes.

The bathroom is pretty dated. Shower over bath and floorboards. Definitely needs some money spent on renovation.

The bar area is very pleasant, but at 7pm, they had run out of fresh limes! Understand Grand Prix time is busy, but even so, was a bit early to be depleted on a Friday night.

Room service was pretty average, my BLT arrived with bacon that must have been harvested from an obese pig - it was almost all fat. My friend's toasted chicken roll, was all bread and lettuce and we needed a microscope to find the chicken.

I would consider giving this hotel another go when the rooms and bathrooms have been renovated.

Room Tip: We were in room 404, which is a decent sized room and quite quiet, but looks out onto a wall, so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel perfectly located to explore Melbourne from. It is an easy walk to Confederation Square, the free trolley and a nice walk to Victoria Market. In addition you have some of the best tapas restaurants seconds away as well as easy access to the highway for wine tasting in the Yarra Valley.
We had a lovely studio room with hard wood floors, high ceilings, a modern ensuite bathroom with great spa products , cozy robes and yes free internet. The breakfast buffet was excellent and
served in a lovely dining area. The front desk staff was exceptionally attentive and very helpful with reservations and travel information. One of our friends required medical attention and the staff set up an appointment within an hour with an excellent physician located minutes away .
Because the hotel is wedged between 2 buildings we didn't have a view from our window but really enjoyed the luxury of our room and the great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
So good to hear you had a great time during your stay.
We appreciate your comments in relation to the hotel amenities and service. We really are all passionate about looking after our guests. It sounds like you made great use of your time here by exploring locally and beyond in to the Yarra Valley.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.
Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice Hotel with very comfortable room. Breakfast buffet slow to get service and selection often 'empty', so further wait required, especially as it costs a 'premium' to dine there. Parking challenging, as it costs a full day to park for any part of the day - going in and out four times in a single day = 4 days parking charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback.

It is good to hear that you found the room comfortable. We apologise for the level of service you received at breakfast. Obviously the buffet should always be well presented and stocked.

Unfortunately as you are aware we don’t have a hotel car park- we do however have a negotiated rate with the car park next door which is considerably cheaper than the regular daily rates. They do charge per exit- I apologise again if this wasn’t made clear to you.
I hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel.
Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a small and quiet hotel perfect for us as a couple who like to enjoy a big weekend out in Melbourne without coming back to chaos of a big hotel. Staff were nice friendly and professional. We had a Queen studio, perfect size and great bathroom with robe, slippers and toiletries provided. Our room was at the rear so we did not have any views, but hey we were not there for the views. breakfast was good although we did not have dinner there. The hotel is on the edge of town 5 mins walk to Flinders St Station, on the way check out the fab tapas bar Movida. Across the road from the hotel is a tram stop, so getting around is no problem.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter, flinders st rooms provide views and at this end of town street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend stay at Hotel Lindrum and that you found the location central with easy access to public transport.

Thank for your feedback in relation to the room and breakfast. Perhaps next time you will have an opportunity to experience dinner!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.