We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“All good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel perfectly located to explore Melbourne from. It is an easy walk to Confederation Square, the free trolley and a nice walk to Victoria Market. In addition you have some of the best tapas restaurants seconds away as well as easy access to the highway for wine tasting in the Yarra Valley.
We had a lovely studio room with hard wood floors, high ceilings, a modern ensuite bathroom with great spa products , cozy robes and yes free internet. The breakfast buffet was excellent and
served in a lovely dining area. The front desk staff was exceptionally attentive and very helpful with reservations and travel information. One of our friends required medical attention and the staff set up an appointment within an hour with an excellent physician located minutes away .
Because the hotel is wedged between 2 buildings we didn't have a view from our window but really enjoyed the luxury of our room and the great service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
So good to hear you had a great time during your stay.
We appreciate your comments in relation to the hotel amenities and service. We really are all passionate about looking after our guests. It sounds like you made great use of your time here by exploring locally and beyond in to the Yarra Valley.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.
Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    168
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
252
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice Hotel with very comfortable room. Breakfast buffet slow to get service and selection often 'empty', so further wait required, especially as it costs a 'premium' to dine there. Parking challenging, as it costs a full day to park for any part of the day - going in and out four times in a single day = 4 days parking charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback.

It is good to hear that you found the room comfortable. We apologise for the level of service you received at breakfast. Obviously the buffet should always be well presented and stocked.

Unfortunately as you are aware we don’t have a hotel car park- we do however have a negotiated rate with the car park next door which is considerably cheaper than the regular daily rates. They do charge per exit- I apologise again if this wasn’t made clear to you.
I hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel.
Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

this is a small and quiet hotel perfect for us as a couple who like to enjoy a big weekend out in Melbourne without coming back to chaos of a big hotel. Staff were nice friendly and professional. We had a Queen studio, perfect size and great bathroom with robe, slippers and toiletries provided. Our room was at the rear so we did not have any views, but hey we were not there for the views. breakfast was good although we did not have dinner there. The hotel is on the edge of town 5 mins walk to Flinders St Station, on the way check out the fab tapas bar Movida. Across the road from the hotel is a tram stop, so getting around is no problem.

Room Tip: rooms to the rear are quieter, flinders st rooms provide views and at this end of town street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend stay at Hotel Lindrum and that you found the location central with easy access to public transport.

Thank for your feedback in relation to the room and breakfast. Perhaps next time you will have an opportunity to experience dinner!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for the weekend with my wife. Couldn't ask for a more central location that isn't one of the more major, bland hotels. Really stylish, clean and certainly still new-feeling. Rooms were great, nice bathroom and toiletries etc and the staff were very helpful in getting us back to the airport. Would highly recommend if you want somewhere a bit more interesting than your average corporate hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for appreciating our individuality.

It is good to hear that you found the accommodation to your liking and the team helpful in assisting you with your travel.

Thanks again for recommending us.

Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Have been here for a couple of business trips and they have been great experiences. From the evening aperitif at check-in to the large choice of pillows and the personalised welcome message there is nothing I can fault with the place.

Love the high ceilings and large billiard table too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Firstly thank you for your continued loyalty to Hotel Lindrum. We hope that you find us a home away from home.
We appreciate you comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for 2 reasons-tickets to a concert at Rod laver arena and great memories (hubbys mis-spent youth) of the once famous pool hall and history. This boutique, stylish hotel has been lovingly restored whilst retaining it's fine history. Our room was fairly small with view of multi-level carpark but nicely presented and clean. Our bathroom initially had a strange sewerage smell but we reported it and they fixed it while we were out. I'm not a fan of the complimentary dried fruit in a bowl and would rather the chocolate on the pillow routine. We ate in the breakfast room which was cramped but the young staff are excellent and well trained. Love the billiards room and the free city circle tram which stops out the front and does the loop of Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your recent feedback which we really appreciate.
It is a pleasure to learn that you loved the history surrounding the hotel and that your husband was able to re-live playing billiards here when indeed it was a billiard hall.
I apologise for the fact that you were greeting with a strange smell in your room on arrival and thankful that we were able to fix for you. We also note your preference for chocolate over the dried fruit we present as an amenity.
It is also good to hear that whilst a busy environment during breakfast – you found enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our tour of Oz. The hotel was smart and stylish. Our room was just as we would have expected. All in all our stay was very pleasant indeed.
After checking out we headed down towards the Great Ocean Rd when I discovered I had lost my purse. To cut a long story short a very helpful man on reception at the Lindrum located it in another hotel and organised for it to be delivered to us. I was thrilled as this could have ruined our entire trip.
Now that really was great service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Lindrum during your tour of Oz! I am delighted that we were able to assist you locating your purse- a stressful thing to happen at any time let alone when you are travelling away from home.
I trust you enjoyed the remainder of your tour.
Best Wishes,
Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.