We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

forget about the big and flashy places....go and stay in this boutique hotel. Great rooms, friendly service, and the snooker table in the bar is an added bonus!

Restaurant has great food and wine list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,


Thank you ! Your feedback is really fantastic !

So delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much.

We trust you are having a great Christmas.

Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    166
    30
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
247
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night recently on a business trip to Melbourne. I travel to Melbourne frequently and have stayed in most of the big name 5 star hotels in the CBD. The Lindrum was decent enough. Elegantly furnished and comfortable. On the down side my room had no view other than a concrete wall outside, so it was a little on the dark side. My room also did nor have a bath, which I missed taking after a long day of meetings. All up though, a comfortable and stylish hotel in a semi convenient location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Lindrum.
We appreciate your feedback. It is a really great to hear that you thought the hotel was elegant and comfortable.

Unfortunately as we are in the inner city some of our rooms do not have a fantastic outlook. We do however have deluxe rooms at the front of the hotel which have large windows with lots of natural light for future reference. Also most of our rooms do indeed have baths and showers so sorry to hear that you experienced one of the few without.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When you enter the doors and come at the reception everybody is greeting you very friendly so that's already a good start for our stay..
It was very kind to get a i-pad for checking my e-mails. The girls at breakfast and at dinner are also very friendly and that the cheff made some mayo for us is worth a compliment. The interior of the whole hotel is nice and in the evening you can sit in the bar area, fire place and pooltable near by.The location is at walking distance near the center.So when you are searching for a small hote lwith very friendly personally staff in Melbourne this is your adress!!

Room Tip: room 415, enough space, good bed only don't open the blinds because there is an office next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you found very-one to be friendly. We really do try to make sure you feel at home.

We hope you have had a lovely Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Thanks again.

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice this past year. Initially impressed by the interior design of the lobby/bar/restauraunt, I was a little disappointed that the designer didn't carry the richness of the decor through to the guest rooms. Also, the noise from the restauraunt/bar carries directly up the stairs and kept me up both times I stayed here. My advice is to request a room on a top floor a the end of the hall to get as far away from it as possible and download a sound-machine app to one of your devices to drown out the remaining street and lobby noise.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor at the end of the corridor to avoid lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and secondly for your loyalty and return to Hotel Lindrum.

I apologise that you were disturbed by noise. We do endeavour to keep noise levels to a minimum in the bar area after a certain time. We obviously failed to do so on this occasion. I am also disappointed to learn that you thought the design in your room was lacking compared to other areas. I take this on board. We are always looking for ways to improve our standards.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I loved this hotel, it was funky, the rooms were gorgeous and the staff were very friendly. As other reviewers have noted, many of the rooms face a wall or the neighbouring car park. I personally didn't find this a problem since the rooms were so well appointed and it kind of added to the inner city vibe. The staff were very personable, with plenty of recommendations for dinner and getting around the city. The location was perfect, walking distance to everything but far enough from the bars and clubs to get some peace and quiet. The whole hotel has a lot of charm, with a fireplace by the bar and lots of historical details. Also, the snooker table in the lobby is really cool! I have been quick to recommend this hotel to friends travelling to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms face a brick wall or the neighbouring car park, call ahead to request a room with...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback in relation to your recent stay at Hotel Lindrum.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the location. Our team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service. We hope that you enjoyed the snooker/billiard table which is a reference to Walter Lindrum who re wrote history with his amazing billiard skills.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.



Best Wishes,


Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees UK.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Used the hotel for three nights at the end of a long tour. Clean, comfortable, staff excellent and restaurant well run. The difficulty was access from the International airport. One Coach to local station; then a shuttle bus which was unable to drop off at hotel so there is a considerable walk with luggage along some main streets and then steps up to hotel main door at reception. For that reason we would not use again.
Once settled in, location is good for local transport and attractions. Some free hop-on-hop-off buses are also excellent additions.

Room Tip: Many face concrete walls and have little natural light so discuss with reception prior to booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLindrum, General Manager at Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is disappointing to hear that you struggled to get to the hotel. It would be fantastic if there was a more direct link to the International airport as the only options are the shuttle bus and taxis. It would be great to see a rail ink. Please note for future that we are 2 mins from Parliament station it is possible to embark a Metlink train from Southern Cross station which is where the shuttle bus drops you.

I am glad however that you enjoyed the hotel once you were here and settled in.



Best Wishes,

Anne Marie Lennon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection

Address: 26 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lindrum is a boutique style hotel that combines modern design with the ultimate in contemporary facilities and personalised service. Ideally located in cosmopolitan Melbourne, close to all fashion, dining, cultural and sporting precincts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindrum Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lindrum Melbourne-MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.