We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high quality service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #58 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was really impressed by the customer focused service provided by staff at the Mantra on Russell. Whilst the hotel isn't the most modern it's well looked after and the staff are super attentive and nothing's too much trouble. It's my hotel apartment of choice in Melbourne

Room Tip: Go high - it's more noisy and smelly on lower floors!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    330
    84
    29
    13
See reviews for
152
211
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The location is fantastic - only a short walk away from trams, Bourke St mall and Chinatown.
Friendly staff helped brighten our stay,
The room was exactly what we needed. We would recommend Mantra on Russell without hestitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having done a review of a large number of Melbourne CBD serviced apartments on a previous trip and having stayed here a month I feel I can speak with some authority.

The location of this Mantra on 222 Russell is fantastic, right in the middle of town, plenty of good restaurants around, 3 min walk to major supermarket Woolco in QV Square, 5/15 min walk to about 10 theatres, major cinema, 15/20 min from MCG, AAMI Park, ETIHAD, Rod Laver Arena, near trams, banks and 10 min station.
Block backs on to Chinatown.

The block is modern with a beautiful marble reception with a Fred Astaire/Ginger Rogers grand staircase. The reception staff are very helpful and welcoming. Most rooms have a large city view balcony and are spacious (1 bed 67 SM 670 SF). This is one of only a couple of properties in CBD that has good open views particularly from the front facing apartments (which are mainly 2 bed) Another is a property at the top of Exhibition overlooking Carlton Gardens which has the best view in the CBD I saw (also Mantra I believe - front facing aparts. only) . The restaurant on the first floor sells an excellent breakfast and does lunch and sometimes dinner. However there is also a place you can have breakfast across the road slightly cheaper if you prefer (Importers).

Lower floors can be noisy and you will hear City noises even from the higher floors (no double glazing). Did not bother us on 14th but if you are a very light sleeper and sensitive to noise do not stay here - a nightclub nearby is open till 6am.

HOWEVER ... you should be aware that after 12 years the furniture within the rooms is showing its age. Chairs are stained, surfaces badly marked and insufficient resources are put into housekeeping. When we asked them to change all 4 stained chairs they clearly had difficulty finding clean ones. Bear in mind that as we were staying a month we must assume we had one of the better apartments. The rooms are not clean enough for a property of this type - ledges are dusty, vacuuming and sweeping is cursory (human hair was evident in room). Bathrooms were fine. From what we saw of housekeeping they were well led and motivated but possibly not given enough time for each room. This is a shame because this property has the attributes to be 4+ stars - I would rate it 3 stars.

There were not enough crockery or pans in the rooms as standard and certain essential items were missing for self caterers.

Having said this we still had a good stay and we appreciated the welcome groceries in our room on check in ( only I think because we were staying a month and for the second time within a month). I would still recommend you stay there but please owners put more resources into a fitting refurb and cleaning otherwise you will lose out to the groups like Meriton which are of a much higher standard and we believe opening in Melbourne soon!

Room Tip: 14th floor or above. Most 1 beds are at sides of block, 2 beds in middle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment at the Mantra on Russell despite seeing a few internet Troll feedbacks on the Mantra - how wrong they were - this has to be one of the best places I have stayed at in Australia. The front desk staff were very helpful and obliging, the facilities were good, especially the covered pool with the extreme heat outside, the proximity to everything is superb. A few hiccups with the housekeeping with shortage of plates & cutlery etc but these were remedied quick and easily without having to toss your toys - just a simple phone call downstairs and the staff were right there. Room was serviced everyday to a clean standard. I thoroughly recommend staying here and I will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view off the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

On the 18.2.14 we stayed and this Hotel for one night. All I can say it was fantastic. The two young front receptionist were so helpfull and smiling. The room was great...the view was to die for.
Going back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were very disappointed with the 1 Bedroom apartment we stayed in. All the furniture seating, couch & dining chairs were badly stained, some seating was sagging and the whole apartment felt dirty. My husband and I did not even want to sit down to relax as it felt grubby all over. The furnishings is old and well used and really need up dating. The whole apartment needs a good scrub. It was unpleased to stay in such a unclean room.
However the location is excellent, right in the middle of town and the Buffet Breakfast was also great and a clean restaurant.
Judging from the other comments here, other people had better experiences with the cleanliness; other rooms might not be so bad. Not sure though if I would like to try it out again. As the furnishings would not have changed and those stains on the seating would be impossible to be removed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed in Melbourne overnight for a work conference. I have stayed in a number of hotels in Melbourne over the years, and decided to stay here as it was close the the venue. I arrived at the hotel early, and wanted to just check in and drop off my bags. To my surprise the room was ready and so I went up to drop off the bags. A one bedroom apartment, very spacious, good kitchen, large living dining area, nice bed room. The bathroom was a little dated but functioned well. It also had a concealed laundry. I would certainly stay here again. They also have two bed apartments which would be great for families.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.