We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Save Saved
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7 Day Sale
Ranked #40 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Over all Experience was amazing.... its in CBD so weekend nights there is a lot of noise ...even at higher floors.
Well equipped Kitchen.
Perfect Location.
Windows are a bit old with air leak.... in winter its cold air coming in.

Only issue is that after clean check out a week later they charged for Mini bar consumption ....on complain they said they will refund but they never did so.

Room Tip: Higher floors as in week end it becomes too noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi dipaknandha

Thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. With regards to your account query can I ask that you contact myself directly if you have not yet received your minibar refund so I can follow up with the team. (mike.blank@mantra.com.au)

Thanks and Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    272
    64
    26
    6
See reviews for
127
165
33
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Spent the night (Saturday) as an overnight trip to Melbourne for the Michael Jackson Immortal Circus. I usually stay in 5* hotels as I can generally find a package deal with indoor pool and buffet breakfast and relatively close to Rod Laver for my occasional concert trips. I like to try different motels and for $289 at Mantra with Buffet and indoor pool (this is what my usual spend is on 5*) I thought this was a good central spot to try. Photos online were great and had a lovely staff member on arrival and then biscuits delivered to my door shortly after (what a treat). Unfortunately the disappointment came after that. The room was tidy and sink/toilet were clean; however walls, door handles, tiles, skirting boards, especially power switches were mucky etc . The amount of dust and grime were not new....this room had only had a 'basic' clean for obviously a long time. My 10 year old son even said he thought it was dirty (that's saying something). urine splatter on the wall behind the toilet was just a bit much and I felt like cleaning this room. Again, staff were great, but for an older motel.....it could had still been clean. I have stayed in Mantra long stay apartment in Broadbeach and that was fabulous! Will never return to the Russell on my next trip in December.

Room Tip: The balcony spot we had (queen room for 2) wasn't worth the view. It was on the backside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Kezzae

Thanks for taking the time to talk through the issues you experienced with your recent stay - I've forwarded a detailed commentary to our Housekeeping team as per our discussion.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in December.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed at Mantra on Russell twice now. The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring Melbourne on foot. It is right next to China Town, a block from the Burke St Mall and Collins Street, walking distance to Lygon St, and a block to the city circle tram. The apartment is great for families and was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The hotel has a restaurant with excellent service and delicious food for those nights that you might want to stay in. The staff are helpful and have always been willing to look after bags before check in or after check out. There is car parking attached to the hotel which is validated at a discount by the hotel. We would definitely stay in this hotel if we were ever visiting Melbourne again. Laundry facilities in the room is fantastic. We got our apartment on a fantastic special deal. Keep an eye on the website for specials that are fantastic value.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, lounge and balcony best for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi MichH69

Really appreciate the fantastic review - the team were delighted with your feedback and you included some great tips as well.

Again appreciate you writing and the team and I look forward to being of service to yourself and the family again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and find this hotel to be very reliable. It is very clean and quiet and cosy, the curtains are nice and dark so that you can sleep in. I usually don't get the breakfast package but did so this time. I found that it was a good breakfast, but very basic. The fruit seemed to be eaten the fastest and was not replaced as much as the eggs and juice etc. It was clean and fresh.
The staff here were very nice. Aaron at reception and Sandy were particularly friendly and helpful. The beds that we slept in in a twin room really had been past their used by dates. I would estimate they were years and years old. You would sit on the side and fall off the bed, sink in holes in the middle and when I slept I was on a slant. I think they had definitely taken a good battering over the years. Apart from this rooms were very clean and spacious, good TV's with movies and toiletries in the shower. If you stay here just make sure you have good beds. I would recommend this hotel in the CBD compared to many other chains. The Mantra on Little Bourke is also good.

Room Tip: Just make sure they have new beds in them. Jump on and have a try once you get there. Some of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks sassymissc appreciate your great comments and feedback particularly the beds - we have a program of continuous updating - Aaron could remember what room you had so we'll change those next.

Again thanks for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We needed a self contained apartment in the cbd and this hotel is exactly whatwe needed. We have a daughter with food allergies. The staff were extremely helpful and considerate. The pool and gym are also well equipped. Plenty of good food and restaurants in the area. The in house restaurant does a very good value for money breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Superprofits

Thanks for postings and great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly with the care extended by staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment for 6 nights - lots of room and facilities were great. The staff were great - love the 3 guys at Reception with their various stages of facial hair - hot! Rohan was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble.
I would stay here again - good location for getting around Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy at night in rooms overlooking Melbourne city - try a room away from the hustle and bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi suej5956 I had heard in dispatches that the three chaps in question had enjoyed some delightful conversations over the week regarding their facial embellishments! But more importantly great to hear we delivered on service and you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved every part of our stay. Incredible rooms and facilities, great staff, yummy food. We loved the location and our 2 little boys enjoyed every minute of our time. There is also the best thai massage just outside the front door! Only issue was getting to air con changed to heating but was sorted within 10 minutes. Will be back many times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for the "Fantastic!!!" Katoo81 the team and I were delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne’s premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences.Offering studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms.With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Up One Restaurant & Bar located within the hotel which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost.The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests.Details of a few local restaurants can be found below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.