We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the heart of the CBD - Need new beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Save Saved
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
7 Day Sale
Ranked #40 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the heart of the CBD - Need new beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed here a few times and find this hotel to be very reliable. It is very clean and quiet and cosy, the curtains are nice and dark so that you can sleep in. I usually don't get the breakfast package but did so this time. I found that it was a good breakfast, but very basic. The fruit seemed to be eaten the fastest and was not replaced as much as the eggs and juice etc. It was clean and fresh.
The staff here were very nice. Aaron at reception and Sandy were particularly friendly and helpful. The beds that we slept in in a twin room really had been past their used by dates. I would estimate they were years and years old. You would sit on the side and fall off the bed, sink in holes in the middle and when I slept I was on a slant. I think they had definitely taken a good battering over the years. Apart from this rooms were very clean and spacious, good TV's with movies and toiletries in the shower. If you stay here just make sure you have good beds. I would recommend this hotel in the CBD compared to many other chains. The Mantra on Little Bourke is also good.

Room Tip: Just make sure they have new beds in them. Jump on and have a try once you get there. Some of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks sassymissc appreciate your great comments and feedback particularly the beds - we have a program of continuous updating - Aaron could remember what room you had so we'll change those next.

Again thanks for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    272
    64
    26
    6
See reviews for
127
165
33
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We needed a self contained apartment in the cbd and this hotel is exactly whatwe needed. We have a daughter with food allergies. The staff were extremely helpful and considerate. The pool and gym are also well equipped. Plenty of good food and restaurants in the area. The in house restaurant does a very good value for money breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Superprofits

Thanks for postings and great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly with the care extended by staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment for 6 nights - lots of room and facilities were great. The staff were great - love the 3 guys at Reception with their various stages of facial hair - hot! Rohan was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble.
I would stay here again - good location for getting around Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy at night in rooms overlooking Melbourne city - try a room away from the hustle and bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi suej5956 I had heard in dispatches that the three chaps in question had enjoyed some delightful conversations over the week regarding their facial embellishments! But more importantly great to hear we delivered on service and you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved every part of our stay. Incredible rooms and facilities, great staff, yummy food. We loved the location and our 2 little boys enjoyed every minute of our time. There is also the best thai massage just outside the front door! Only issue was getting to air con changed to heating but was sorted within 10 minutes. Will be back many times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for the "Fantastic!!!" Katoo81 the team and I were delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Family of five stayed in two br adjoining apartment. Perfect set up late rooms and bathrooms. Good sized kitchen and very clean. Maybe a little dated and could've used extra pillows in main br but overall it was great. Loved the pool, gym and sauna. Breakfast was perfect, eggs cooked to ur liking and plenty of choices. Location is perfect, next to china town and the Greek restaurants along lonsdale street.
Overall a great place for a family to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks jonmegs delighted to hear you had a great stay - we'd priced our "Dual Keys" (One Bedroom plus Studio Apartment) at our 2 Bedroom apartment pricing over this school holiday period (normally sold at a premium) it's proved very popular for these holidays so we'll definitely be doing that again.

Thanks again for the fantastic review and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie tourers
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now and find it great. Well located in Chinatown area and near most theatres. Always neat and clean with helpful staff and nice facilities and a few little touches like good toiletries, chilled lemon water in the foyer..trying to add that bit extra. Recommend this one as a great choice, not top top of the line but the best value I have founf in Melbourne and faultless.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello tassietourers

Welcome back and thanks for your continued support and fine words it's appreciated. Let me know when you’re next dropping by so I can say hi personally.

Thanks again for writing!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Whether you're in town for a sporting event, arts, culture hit or just a getaway and some shopping it's all within walking distance of here. The rooms are very spacious and well furnished so that you feel like you're at home. The breakfast each morning was good value, and the staff here as at reception were mostly friendly and accommodating (it was AFL grand final weekend so extremely busy). Good value, clean and full of creature comforts, with Chinatown literally around the corner we will certainly be heading back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Jak1611 thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to hear you had a great stay over Grand Final weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne’s premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences.Offering studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms.With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Up One Restaurant & Bar located within the hotel which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost.The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests.Details of a few local restaurants can be found below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.