We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #41 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment for 6 nights - lots of room and facilities were great. The staff were great - love the 3 guys at Reception with their various stages of facial hair - hot! Rohan was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble.
I would stay here again - good location for getting around Melbourne.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy at night in rooms overlooking Melbourne city - try a room away from the hustle and bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi suej5956 I had heard in dispatches that the three chaps in question had enjoyed some delightful conversations over the week regarding their facial embellishments! But more importantly great to hear we delivered on service and you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    305
    73
    26
    9
See reviews for
140
190
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Loved every part of our stay. Incredible rooms and facilities, great staff, yummy food. We loved the location and our 2 little boys enjoyed every minute of our time. There is also the best thai massage just outside the front door! Only issue was getting to air con changed to heating but was sorted within 10 minutes. Will be back many times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for the "Fantastic!!!" Katoo81 the team and I were delighted to hear you had a most enjoyable stay and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Family of five stayed in two br adjoining apartment. Perfect set up late rooms and bathrooms. Good sized kitchen and very clean. Maybe a little dated and could've used extra pillows in main br but overall it was great. Loved the pool, gym and sauna. Breakfast was perfect, eggs cooked to ur liking and plenty of choices. Location is perfect, next to china town and the Greek restaurants along lonsdale street.
Overall a great place for a family to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks jonmegs delighted to hear you had a great stay - we'd priced our "Dual Keys" (One Bedroom plus Studio Apartment) at our 2 Bedroom apartment pricing over this school holiday period (normally sold at a premium) it's proved very popular for these holidays so we'll definitely be doing that again.

Thanks again for the fantastic review and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie tourers
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here several times now and find it great. Well located in Chinatown area and near most theatres. Always neat and clean with helpful staff and nice facilities and a few little touches like good toiletries, chilled lemon water in the foyer..trying to add that bit extra. Recommend this one as a great choice, not top top of the line but the best value I have founf in Melbourne and faultless.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello tassietourers

Welcome back and thanks for your continued support and fine words it's appreciated. Let me know when you’re next dropping by so I can say hi personally.

Thanks again for writing!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Whether you're in town for a sporting event, arts, culture hit or just a getaway and some shopping it's all within walking distance of here. The rooms are very spacious and well furnished so that you feel like you're at home. The breakfast each morning was good value, and the staff here as at reception were mostly friendly and accommodating (it was AFL grand final weekend so extremely busy). Good value, clean and full of creature comforts, with Chinatown literally around the corner we will certainly be heading back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Jak1611 thanks for taking the time to write and delighted to hear you had a great stay over Grand Final weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werribee, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Mantra on Russell for $234 for a one bedroom apartment with a balcony room 1813. The apartment served its purpose - a place to get ready before hitting the town, and to catch some zzz's before going home. The not so great things -
• Improvements could be made with the decor, it is tasteful yet very dated.
• The twin king bed sunk in the middle.
• The bath was over the shower.
• A couple of chairs on the balcony would be a great addition.
• Most apartments these days provide a mp3 or iPod dock - this would be another 'great addition'.
• Parking is quite expensive as the mantra uses Wilson car parking. It cost us $20 from 6.30pm till 10am the following day and this is the cheaper weekend rates. Mantra can only provide a daily $30 multi entry deal.
The good parts about our stay were the view, cleanliness & customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Lena S

Thanks for posting we are working through renovation plans so always appreciate suggestions. With regards to parking our $30 rate covers 24 hours and unlimited entry and exit. We are also clients of Wilson Parking so are happy for guests to park either via us or them directly to secure the deal with the best rate fit.

Thanks again for your feedback and look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you are looking for a large room then this hotel is hard to beat. I had a 1 bedroom apartment with a good size bathroom, separate bedroom, kitchenette and a living room with couch, a small desk and TV. The hotel is convenient to the city and right next to China town. I found rates at the Mantra much lower than the name brand hotel chains. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was also pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city for the best view. The flower drum Chinese restaurant is probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks nodrama1 I like your no nonsense approach to review writing and appreciate your candid post.

Great to have you over to stay and perhaps we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Offering studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within the hotel which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.