We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartment in the centre of Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #41 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment in the centre of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra in a one bedroom apartment for 3 nights and loved it. It was perfect. Right in the middle of the city, China Town and restaurants and shops at the door, and a view from the balcony on the 16th floor over all of Melbourne. Rather than a small hotel room with windows that don't open, we had a balcony with large glass doors in the living room and large windows in the bedroom that opened if you wished for fresh air. The air conditioning was easily adjustable for whatever change of temperature Melbourne had to offer.The bedroom was comfortable, the lounge and dining room enabled us to spread out and watch TV. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare food/make tea or coffee if you wanted to. Bathroom is large, and the apartment has a washing machine, dryer and iron and ironing board. It was cleaned each day and the towels and shampoos etc were renewed each day. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful and it was the most comfortable and spacious stay we have had in Melbourne and fantastic value for what we paid. I can hardly wait to go back..if I can get the same deal.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our 1 bedroom apartment on the 16th floor overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review Minoumex - as per your post we do offer a range of one and two bedroom apartments which contain all the necessities to ensure a comfortable stay and if you’re inclined to stay in and self-cater we have a great supermarket and food court located just around the corner.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    305
    73
    26
    8
See reviews for
140
190
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Mantra for four nights in February in a one bedroom apartment. While the building is older it is a great location as you could walk down to Flinders St in 12 minutes as well as the shops and lanes in the same time frame. We did not have a problem with the overall cleanliness of the room and this is the main item we are always concerned with when booking. The hotel is older and the decor may be a bit tired but this does not mean it is not cleaned daily. The gym and pool although smaller were adequate for a vacation workout :). The staff at the front desk were proficient in their jobs and although not chatty that is never a concern of ours. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hello Joe M

We do enjoy a fantastic location here in the centre of the city with all major retailers, some great tourist attractions and Melbourne’s famous tram network all within easy walking distance.

Safe travels home to Dartmouth, Canada

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my partner for Valentines Day. Quite nice, rooms are nice and contain everything you need. It is great how everything is in walking distance. Appriciated the late checkout at lunch time, nice to have a sleep in.

Room Tip: Ask for room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi ena_12

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and glad to hear you had an enjoyable Valentine’s Day!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The room was filthy I felt grose just standing in the shower, the mini bar is a joke, they didn't deliver our breakfast that we ordered, the bed was like sleeping on cement and we had the lovely view of a car park.. For the same price we recently stayed at the art series hotel and it was fabulous the mantra on the other hand was an absolute joke and wouldn't recommend to a monkey we will never stay there again !!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi Lohrenjade89

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

We are reviewing with the team your comments and I can assure you this is not consistent with Mantra standards.

Please feel free to contact me directly at anytime on mike.blank@mantra.com.au if you would like to discuss these matters further and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a business trip. Location is quite strategic (being in the middle of Chinatown), very near restos, fast food shops and 24 hour convenience stores. The room is alright, breakfast quite pricey. Not sure if it's just me but I thought everything in the breakfast buffet was a tad bit salty. Served good flat white though!

The kitchen is well equip with conveniences expected from a serviced apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi shelley_75

It was our pleasure to have you stay and thank you for sharing your experience. If passing our way again in the future I recommend asking one of our friendly reception team on check-in about our great prices for advanced purchase of our Breakfast Buffett (we just add it to your account and provides significant savings versus purchasing on the day) - alternatively can I recommend one of our very competitive package deals available online.

Thanks for choosing us and hope we can be of service again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra for 4 nights from the 24th January. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and managed to book a stay,eat and park package. We were given a room overlooking Russell St. The apartment was huge with a full kitchen two bedrooms (the main with king bedding and the 2nd with 2 singles) a large dining/lounge area with a pull out sofa. The bathroom was large and there was a 2nd WC. The furnishings themselves are a little dated but we didnt care as the space for a family of 5 was what mattered most. If you are looking for room this hotel has it! Buffett breakfast included the usual options of pastries, cereals,fruits all varieties of breads and muffins but also made to order eggs if you didnt want scrambled. The parking package made life easy, we could park in Wilson parking there is an allocated gated area for hotel guests, everytime we left the hotel reception validated the ticket and off we went. The pool and gym were clean and a decent size for a city hotel.
This hotel is less than 10 minutes to the restaurants on Lygon St, 5 min to The Old Melbourne Goal, 30 seconds to Lonsdale St the same to Little Bourke Sts China town and 5-10 min to the shopping areas. Southbank would be 15 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Would definately stay here again when travelling to Melbourne with my family

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city - the side views overlook the tops of the neighbouring rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi theonivaz Family

Thanks for the fantastic review and the time you took to detail your stay experience with us.

Glad to hear you and the family had a wonderful stay. The Mantra on Russell team and I look forward to being of service to you all again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 4 night stay here was very pleasant. Our 1 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious with a full kitchen and laundry. Staff friendly and helpful. The pool and gym excellent. I would come here again although i feel the full price is too much. We paid significantly less via one of the discount internet booking sights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for recommending us kmiatae - Keep an eye on our website and the one's you've mentioned for our great deals!

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Offering studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within the hotel which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.