We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra On Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra On Russell to your Saves list
Mantra On Russell
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and got upgraded to a suite on check in. Had 2 large bedrooms, large bathroom a separate toilet, living room with a galley kitchen and dining table, laundry facilities and excellent views of Melbourne from the balcony. Had room service for breakfast one morning, which was tasty and well priced. Rooms were well cleaned. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks Daisyc136 - Glad you enjoyed your stay and the complimentary upgrade to one of our fabulous two bedroom suites!

We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    351
    93
    32
    16
See reviews for
165
224
40
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staying at the Mantra on Russell for the first time. Had stayed at Oaks on Lonsdale on my 2 previous trips. Was traveling on business and got a 1 bedroom apartment on a high floor for 20 days. The living and bedroom were a decent size and reasonably clean, however the shower/bath was a tad narrow, bumped against the wall and glass a couple of time while showering. Kitchen was equipped with a full sized oven, stove top, dishwasher, toaster, and an array of utensils. A wooden ladle and food tongs would have been great. Only gripe about the kitchen is the 2/3 sized fridge with a limited lower compartment storage. Even with the minibar items removed, it's hard to pack much as there is no shelving present. My favourite part about the apartment was the separate washer and dryer(hate those 2-in-1 combos), 40 inch Samsung LCD in living room, 32 inch Samsung LCD in bedroom and very comfortable bed and pillows. Had a great night's sleep, which ranks high on my list for business travel. Overall, I prefer the Mantra on Russell compared to Oaks on Lonsdale based on the TVs, washer/dryer and bed. Only if you're looking for a full sized fridge, Oaks would be a better choice, but with miserable TVs, wash/dryer combo and double single-joined beds. Will return again for a long stay in Feb.

Room Tip: Request for a high floor room, 17 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi nfactor81

Thanks for the great review - if you are booking the hotel direct please contact our Reservations Department to obtain great Long Stay rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Smooth check in, great location,good facilities(swimming pool/gym) and great view from the balcony!

But it's shame that the quality of housekeeping/cleaning was very poor. Bed was unneat and the bathroom was filthy.
This is the first time I have encountered this kind of service.

Dear management,
Please look into this matter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello cinta_alamaya

Really appreciated the feedback - which I've shared with the entire housekeeping staff at yesterday morning’s briefing - I'm extremely disappointed with the cleaning service you received and have taken steps to rectify immediately.

Please accept my apologies in this instance and I hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
197 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is not a "luxury" hotel and it serves short term business travelers. Nevertheless, we found the hotel quite pleasant. We had a 2-bedroom suite over the Christmas holidays. The rooms were quite nice and spacious and the hotel was very well located. The only trouble we had was with the poor quality of the housekeeping staff. Granted that we stayed during the holiday period but I still expect my toilets to be cleaned properly, beds to made and rooms tidied. Keeping in the Christmas spirit I did not complain but made do with the poor housekeeping.

I would have given the property 4-stars if the housekeeping was better.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher than the 7th floor. The lower floors appear to be residential floors and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi PerthFrequent_Flyer

Firstly let me apologies for the standard of housekeeping you received - I was extremely disappointed to hear we had not met your expectations and that our service delivery was not to Mantra standards. The issues you've identified have been addressed with our Executive House Keeper.

Thanks for providing the feedback.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days, and we had a 2 bedrooms appartement with kitchen and laundry. This hotel is in the CBD and very convenient, it is well placed. To go around is very easy. I suggest to try it! The breakfast is nice and the staff very friendly.
We enjoy stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi Raffaella M

Thanks for posting and appreciate your feedback we do pride ourselves on having a friendly helpful team - nice to have you in from Shanghai.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment, with our two children sleeping on the fold out couch in the lounge room area. The room/apartment was very large, with great size kitchen (you could easily cook all meals here), bathroom and washing mahine. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating, and the daily breakfast was great. The location was close to trams and a short walk to Flinders Street etc. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review Teegs81 - appreciate you posting and look forward to being of service to yourself and family again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just got back from family stay at this Mantra. It was so CONVENIENTLY located. we were super happy with location, room sizes etc. All Reception staff extremely friendly.
Bar area OK. Cocktail menu bit basic. I think housekeeping is Ok but not consistent. Some better cleaning of bathroom/toilet wouldn't go astray.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Mantra On Russell, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi Scorpioalejandra

Thanks for taking the time to write, we certainly do have a great location here in the city!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Mike Blank
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Park
Mantra on the Park
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
0.6 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On Russell

Address: 222 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra On Russell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Russell is within close proximity to all of Melbourne's premium attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a superb array of cafes and bars, theatres, sporting venues and cultural experiences. Mantra on Russell offers studio and apartment-style rooms all featuring air-conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, bathrooms, laundry facilities and most apartments also have a private balcony. For business travellers rooms can double as an office with direct-dial ISDN telephones with voicemail, data-point and broadband access in all rooms. With a range of facilities and services including 24-hour reception, concierge service, heated swimming pool, spa, fully-equipped gymnasium and Home Kitchen & Bar located within Mantra on Russell which provides breakfast, lunch, dinner and 24 hour room service (limited menu Sunday evenings). Undercover parking is available at a cost. The Mantra on Russell is ideally positioned and styled to offer contemporary accommodation in the heart of Melbourne, ideal for business travellers, holiday makers, short-term and long-term guests. Please Note: Mantra on Russell has a strict NO PARTY POLICY and enforced to ensure the comfort of all our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra On Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Russell Melbourne
Mantra On Russell Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra On Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.