We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Careful Consideration” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne VIC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Needs Careful Consideration”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

Most of my comments will no doubt echo those already posted but are here for the record anyway. Staying in a Junior Executive Suite (Club) for 3 nights, my first surprise was to find that the hotel only has two and they are both located on level one - three levels below the Club which is on level 4. The room itself is nicely appointed and I have no complaints about the physical furnishings which are modern. The room is well sized for a suite. What is strange about the room is the location and that in itself presents several problems. Being on the first floor and having the restaurant below you (and close) means it is not as quiet as you would expect - or want. Think phones, low level chatter, funiture noise etc, it all travels up. Secondly, most (not all) rooms (including the junior suite) only have INTERNAL views, and all have a balcony - except you cannot access it. Being on the lower floor the natural light levels are very low and you will rely heavily on internal light sources which also let the room down a little. No dimmer on the light in the bathroom and the high density down lights also generate heat - great on a cold morning except in these rooms it's unlikely ever to be cold.
Another issue is the length of time it takes for the water to heat up - particularly if having an afternoon/evening shower and with melbourne having a water crisis that's unfortunate. I hope (but dont know) that the hotel has a water conservation plan but certainly didnt see any evidence of that.
There are other minor problems with the room such as no safe (not in yet), poor lighting in the lounge area of the room and restricted air conditioning, but having said all that, it is a comfy room with a comfortable bed and pillows and a practical work area.
The Club Lounge lets this hotel down based on my previous experiences at IC hotels around the world. Poor food choices and quality (sandwiches left out too long) for all meals and whilst I am not a drinker, some may find drink choices limiting. The room itself is not bad but eating at tables from the edge of a very large chair is somewhat strange and uncomfortable. Basically this club experience is unlikely to meet your expectations if you have enjoyed this feature of other IC's around the globe.
This hotel is still finding it's feet in my opinion. Staff were friendly but could have been better. I agree with most of the negative issues addressed by other members.
There are better value options available in the city than this.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    297
    116
    39
    19
See reviews for
132
509
79
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My partner and I stayed 3 nights in an executive suite which comes with complimentary club access. First strange thing was that it was located on the 1st floor and the club lounge is located on the 4th floor (mmhhh), then the fact that being on the 1st floor you can hear the lobby noise, phones ringing etc. Not what you expect when you pay for a suite.

The suite is beautiful, the furnishings modern and comfy, the bed is huge. Great towels and bathrobes. Big negative was lighting. No dimmer in the bathroom so either full light or no light - not fun when sitting in the spa relaxing and not enough light over the couch so if you want to read it's too dark. Also no safe in room as yet.

The "teaser" of having a balcony but not being allowed to use it was not much fun. Because most of the rooms face inwards you want to be able to go "outside".

Club lounge was a very poor effort. The food variety was laughable, whether breakfast, afternoon tea or pre dinner drinks and the seats aren't that comfortable.

I know the hotel has only been open for a few months but in order to be competitive with the other 5 star hotels in Melbourne it has a lot of work to do. I hope they listen to their clients and the feedback they receive to improve.

I wouldn't stay again in a hurry but if they make the improvements then perhaps in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

During a recent two night stay my experience here was generally positive, however a few factors prevent this hotel from competing on par with the best hotels in town and did not meet my expectations for what IC Hotels puts up as the best they have on offer. The room was lovely (especially large rain shower and beautiful towels), however the bed was hard; noise from the atrium really is an issue as sounds from the restaurant etc echo through the hotel into the room; and climate control prevents setting the temperature below 20 degrees, which for me made it difficult to sleep. Executive club is a really nice space and has pleasant staff but food during pre-dinner drinks is extremely limited (one plate of four small bites) which compares poorly with the generous offerings at the Hyatts, Marriott and Langham with which this hotel should be aiming to compete. Also, the club closes at 7:30, which is also inconsistent with the competition. The pool is nice but the sauna area/change rooms appear to have not been touched since forever and really compromise what is a nice space. Gym fine with modern equipment. Bars and restaurant very nice. Room service o.k. but attracts a $4 delivery charge. All considered I'm not in a hurry to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

In a rush so will make it quick.
Very happy with the hotel and the service
Good breakfast Great location . Nice staff
Gave it 4 out of 5 becuase I ordered the turn down service twice and it did not happen even after I rang them and told them the 1st time. Only a small thing as a new hotel some teething is Ok in my books. Will stay again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

In April 2009 my husband and I shared our 2nd Wedding Anniversary at this charming hotel. Check in and out was a breeze. I booked through wotif.com. They do take your credit card and deposit $100 for incidentals at check in. The extras like the afternoon tea (they have an automatic coffee machine and you can select from about 6 different teas and place them in a pot to take back to your table, there were scones, sandwiches, biscuits and brownie slices to munch on) and pre-dinner drinks and nibbles in the lounge ment you were not in your room very long. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the room size is average-you tend not to spend a lot of time there though. Breakfast was ok, my husband complained the bacon was too crisp, but there was plenty to choose from. Cerals, toast, muffins and pastries, as well as fruit, yogurt and cheeses. The lounge also incuded some plasma screens (no volume) and the Financial Review and Age newspapers. Most of the seating is set up to be a lounge, so leather couches and high back chairs. So breakfast is quite interesting eating from a lounge, rather than a table and chair. The highlight for me were the pre-dinner drinks, which lasted from 5-7pm and included beer, wine, champagne as well as medium shelf spirits. Once our time was up we were feeling very happy and had a lovey time at the casino which is only a 5 minute tram ride away. If you want more than just a room with a bed, I suggest this place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I spent 7 nights at this hotel in March for work. The hotel is located on Collins Street, about 3 blocks from the shopping area which makes the location a quiet place. There is a McD's opposite and a few coffee shops around the hotel which is quite helpful.

The hotel itself was renovated and actually had it's official opening during my stay though it started accepting bookings in Dec 08. The rooms are very nice though most do not have much of a city view. And anyway, you cannot open the doors/windows - at least of the room I was staying in.

The room had all the trappings - LCD TV, coffee maker, etc. The bed was very nice. They charged for the internet (AUD 30 for 24 hrs) which I guess is common in this part of the world (in the US many of the chains now offer free WiFi). The hotel staff was very courteous and friendly and even gave me a late check out till 9pm as I ws a long staying guest which was very helpful as my flight was at midnight.

The only grouse I had was that the though the bathroom had high quality bath and body amenities it lacked some basic stuff like a toothbrush, toothpaset, shaving kit, etc. which I thought was a little odd.

And even though I was there during the F1 race week, I got a gret intro deal of AUD 219 per night (not incl breakfast which was just fine).

I would recommend this place for business travellers and even couples who don't mind being away from the hoardes of shoppers on Collins and Bourke Street yet just a tram ride away (the stop is 50 mts from the Hotel).

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a birthday treat, and the staff really made the experience something special. Every team member we came across in the hotel was warm, welcoming, and gave 110% to see to it our stay was perfect. Housekeeping was ligthening fast, as was room service. It only less than 10 minutes from phoning an order to its arrival!
We stayed in a king deluxe on the 3rd floor, and although the bathroom was a little smaller than expected, we have no complaints. The twin "rain" shower was great, as were the fluffy robes. The bedroom are was very roomy, & the bed super comfy. Good work desk & chair, & a nice touch was the chaise lounge in the room. Also loved the automatic curtains & the dimmer reading lights either side of the bed. The only problem we encountered was the air -con.The outside temp was 24 degrees, and our rooms air-con was set automatically for 22 degrees, but it felt more like 26 in our room. We ran it at 15 degrees all the time we were in the room (including all night) just to feel comfortable. Maybe it was just that room?
We had the buffet breakfast, and again the friendly and efficent service was what stood out, and the coffee and eggs to order! Also the valet parking service is great, and again the staff were wonderful.
All in all, I would hightly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.