We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #12 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I have just enjoyed another 4 nights stay at The Intercontinental
Staff were all very polite and courteous . The rooms are well presented and the beds are extremely comfortable . Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice.
The only negative was that we couldn't get hold of room service at 10.00 pm. I tried for over half an hour and the phone kept ringing with no answer. Eventually I went down to reception to place my order. I also requested an ice bucket for our bottle of wine. It took about 40 mins before our cheese platter was delivered and we didn't receive our ice bucket.
This is only a minor thing and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear topmarket4,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.
It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed the offerings on our breakfast buffet and that you found my colleagues to be polite and courteous. I note also the difficulties you experience with your room service order. Although you state that this is a minor thing we take this feedback very seriously and I can assure you that it is not up to our usual standard.

I hope we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon for a more seamless experience.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    273
    111
    39
    18
See reviews for
129
486
76
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental Melbourne for our anniversary this month and were blown away by the outstanding service and generosity of the hotel staff. We spend every anniversary and most birthdays at the hotel and have been staying at Rialto for over 15 years. It is always lovely, a beautiful calm oasis of luxury which is hard to leave, but this last stay was our best yet. We were given an upgrade to an iconic suite which was magnificent, we have never stayed in such opulence and every single one of the staff we met was gushing with enthusiasm and warm welcome. We are so very grateful for making our anniversary a particularly special one and we can't wait to come back to stay with you again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but the front of the hotel is the quietest and has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear AllisonT,

As a return guest to the hotel thank you for sharing your kind feedback of your recent stay with us.

It is so nice to hear that you continue to choose us when celebrating specials occasions and I am delighted that my colleagues always blow you aware with the service they provide.

I hope that you have another special celebration soon where we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wien
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

location in the heart of the city, wow effect when you enter the lobby due to great architecture! staff very friendly and helpful, rooms comfy, bar (on lobby level) atmosphere inviting with fine snacks, big breakfast buffet in restaurant/lower level or just coffee and very good croissant (as we did) @ airy bar/lower level, overall great value for price. just a 5 minutes walk away from bus station to airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Leosyc,

Thank you for staying at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

It is so great to hear that you found our lobby had that wow factor. At night time when all lit up it is quite breathtaking.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

After a holiday in Tasmania, we stayed just one night at The Rialto, and found the service to be better than excellent, just amazing, friendly people who were happy to answer any questions. Centrally located in Melbourne, close to the Southern Cross station was great for us as we flew from Tas.to Melb. on an extremely warm day, after having stayed at an expensive lodge in a Tasmanian National Park which needs a reality check! It was refreshing to have such a wonderful place to stay, soft beds, clean cool rooms close to all amenities. The breakfast in the morning was great value and we will definitely be back to stay again Mid Year when we come over for the Football. Thanks Rialto staff for making our stay so terrific!

Room Tip: Room upgrade to a Junior Suite suggested by the staff was wonderful as was the late check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear KazTann,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found my colleagues to be amazing and friendly. I will be sure to share this feedback with the team; I know they will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the middle of the year as your cheer on your football team.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Caveat - I am Platinum Ambassador with InterContinental, and was treated really well, but clearly this is a top-notch property.
1.) Location - 495 Collins - Easy to find, and easy to walk anywhere in the city. There is excellent access to the river, shopping along Collins. You are a brief walk from the village markets. We walked throughout the city, and enjoyed the InterContinental as the perfect central location, convenient to everyplace we went. It is also a short walk to the train station, restaurants, etc. The Aquarium is right behind the hotel and very convenient. Also an easy walk to the IMAX Theater (3rd largest in the world), and an excellent museum (Many exhibits, but currently a 007 - James Bond Exhibit that is quite interesting for those who appreciate the books/movies and espionage genre.
2.) Restaurants - The food at the InterContinental is excellent - among the best breakfast buffets we have seen anywhere with a wide variety to accommodate diverse and healthy tastes as well as the more traditional (including gluten-free, etc.).
3.) The InterContinental Club - Great value - for cocktails, evening tea/appetizers, etc.
4.) Facilities - rooms are updated, modern, very comfortable; lovely atrium, lounges, restaurants, reading areas, beautiful pool, sauna, hot tub, exercise room, etc.
5.) Excellent Service - attentive management/front desk, outstanding concierge services for helping to book any activity in and around Melbourne.
To be clear, this is a great case where you get what you pay for, and while it is in no way "deep value" opportunity, you get premium/luxury service and features for a stiff price, but if that is what you seek, the InterContinental delivers. We arrived after a long trip, and spent Christmas in Melbourne, and 495 Collins was a wonderful sanctuary and home away from home.

Lastly - it is also very convenient to branch out and explore for day trips from the hotel. We rented a car, and enjoyed many of the nearby sights. Our only regret (as with most of our trip to Australia) was that we did not have more time, and it had to end.

Room Tip: This is simply a fabulous hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Richard P,

As a Platinum Ambassador for InterContinental Hotels and Resorts thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

Melbourne is certainly a wonderful city to visit and I am delighted to hear that my colleagues made you feel although you were in a home away from home. I know my colleagues we be delighted to hear this feedback and I will be sure to share it with them.

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver sands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We use the Intercontinental Rialto as our standard to measure others against. On previous stays, the ever helpful front of house staff have enabled to check us in prior to the normal check in times, the pool, sauna and gym areas on the top floor are large, clean and an enjoyable place to be, a respite from outside. The buildings is part heritage listed with a beautiful facade and interior. The upgrade to an executive club room is worthwhile option, with the benefit of the inclusive breakfast and newspapers in the lounge, all day availability of drinks, the afternoon tea and evening canapés and alcoholic drinks. The rooms are well equipped and fitted out, which includes an internal overlooking balcony, the breakfast offering is plentiful and delicious. Location is wonderful, situated on the New York end of Collins street, with trams on the front doorstep, trains 100mtrs away and the best of Melbourne shopping only a credit card melting few steps away. What sets the Rialto apart from other establishments is the staff. Their can do attitude, their knowledge of Melbourne and apparent love of this hotel and to assist guests shines through, something the staff at Sofitel Marseilles could learn.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Cobramgirl,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the benefits of staying in one of our Club Rooms with access to the Club InterContinental. It is also nice to hear that it’s our staff that set us apart from the competition, I know the whole team will be delighted to hear this feedback and I will be sure to share it with them.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I was pleased to get what I thought was a reasonable deal, but gave it all back when I agreed to a 40Aus dollar a night room upgrade on check-in! That said, this a top-quality hotel, if on the pricey side. Staff, room, housekeeping, spa and pool all excellent

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Ken R,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share the feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be of top-quality. It is always a delight to receive that kind of feedback.

I hope on your next visit to the land down under you might have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.