We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club Room Offer
Ranked #22 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is a few blocks away from the center of town but well worth the walk as the rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable, stayed in a junior suit, excellent bed and bathroom. Staff were brilliant, reasonably priced for level of comfort

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RafyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear RafyM,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

I was also happy to hear that my colleagues were brilliant and you found the hotel well positioned within the city of Melbourne.

I hope on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
399 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,570 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was one of the very best Hotel stays I have had. It is certainly one of the very best 5 star hotels innAustralia. From the first moment I stepped out of the car and was greeted by Arthur who gave me a very warm welcome, I felt I had arrived. Oliver welcomed me to the hotel and introduced me to the Front office Manager who was kind enough to show me to my Suite, a wonderful apartment and through my whole stay the service was incredible.

The hotel lobby smelt lovely the new art works looked amazing and added some glitz and brightness, these weren't there when I stayed last year, so the inside of the hotel has a different look, simply a better one.

I stayed in the Brighton suite. This room is very spacious with a huge spa tub and a separate 10 head shower, sublime relaxation.
Theres a nespresso machine for your complementary coffee, along with access to a very well run Club Lounge, with some good, friendly and very attentive staff.
The king size bed was very comfortable, it's a cloud of softness and the finest bedding but still just the right firmness. Lovely room and having stayed in a few, along with some others in this hotel they are superb. As an IHG Ambassador I'm very proud to be able to highly recommend this hotel. It is certainly one of the very best with some very fine management.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VangeInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear VangeInternational,

As a valued Ambassador member thank you for taking the opportunity to share your kind feedback with me.

I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Brighton suite, we have recently made some soft upgrades to our suites which reflect some areas in and around Melbourne.

It is nice to hear also that you found my colleagues helpful and friendly in particular Olivier and Arthur, I will be sure to share you feedback with them.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as we received a free night due to their best rate guarantee deal. I didn't expect anything too exciting but I was definitely wrong!

The hotel doesn't look much from the street but upon walking inside it is beautiful and unique. We were treated extremely well from the moment we entered (which I didn't expect staying for free!).

Our room was absolutely stunning and I'm very picky! The windows looked out to the inside of the middle of the hotel which is gorgeous and unique. It sort of reminded me of a train station/jail... but a very beautiful jail haha! The pictures really do not do this place justice.

Don't hesitate booking this beautiful hotel if you want a relaxing stay. The only other hotel I would recommend that is on par is the Crown Towers but it is obviously a very different kind of hotel. Enjoy! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room which was just beautiful. Our room overlooked the centre of the hotel whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callyn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Callyn83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

I am delighted to hear that you were treated like royalty during your stay, we strive to do this with all our guests.

Often people do comment on how they hotel could look a little like an old jail however it actually has an amazingly rich history and you are right, the photos don’t do it justice!

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this year, have to say not the most warming hotels I have ever stayed in,
The rooms are dark and face into the void above the restaurant. It was quite depressing.
Would I stay here again no, it's not for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Youngman46,

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay.

Whilst I am happy to hear that you found the service and sleep quality during your stay exceptional I was disappointed that the hotels architecture did not meet your expectations. There is such a rich history behind the two buildings in which we are housed and although none of the buildings have been used to house prisoners we do occasionally receive that comment.

I hope that one day we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and show you some of the intriguing history behind the hotels buildings.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Arrived around 8am and wasnt expecting the room to be ready however the check in staff were very helpful and not only got us a room but even offered us free breakfast 'as it was Christmas". The hotel is beautiful and has an amazing atrium which all the rooms look onto. The rooms are all very modern and of a good size with all facilities you would expect.

Again the only downside I have is the lack of free wifi, come on guys this is standard throughout 5 star hotel in the World now!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank u600358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear u600358,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at the hotel. I was delighted to hear that you found my colleagues during the check-in process very helpful and we were also able to accommodate an early check-in for you.

From January 1 all our properties will now offer free wi-fi to our IHG Rewards Club Members, the best part about this is it’s free to join.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed here both times we've visited Melbourne, and will do so the next time also. That probably says it all really. Architecturally, the hotel is a unique and fascinating building, both in side and out, with a bar area that fits that motif perfectly. You feel that, on entering the building, you are walking into a piece of opulent history, and that feeling never leaves you while you are there, although that is NOT to say there is anything old or jaded about it. Everything is classical and immaculate. A perfect balance. The staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, as, indeed you would expect from this brand and class of hotel. In terms of location, it is ideal for exploring Melbourne. The river and the railway station are only a couple of minutes walk away, and there are dozens of great restaurants and bars within a short stumble. I am looking forward to being back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear LordKM,

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback of your recent stay with us. It is always great to hear from our return guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the architecture of the hotel, whilst it is not for everyone I feel very lucky to be working in such an historic building right in the heart of Melbourne.

I can’t wait to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to Melbourne!

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we entered this hotel, we were looked after well. Staff were friendly, knowledgable and had an air of professionalism and willingness to help which has been noticeably absent in other hotels we have stayed at which cost the same and have the same number of stars. We were upgraded to a tower suite, which is very large and well set out -
The bathroom has a lovely spa and the bedroom is round. The toiletries are beautiful and the drinks area is well stocked. The gym is very functional - several treadmills, a stepper, a bike and weights machines. Clean towels and water are supplied and there is a lovely indoor pool adjacent. Only tried Bluestone bar of all the food places - good, not amazing. Taxi rank out the front was very convenient. Overall a lovely hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear HungryandHappy,

I appreciate you taking the time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am so delighted to note that you found my colleagues professional, friendly and knowledgeable. We take pride in the service we deliver to our guests and it is humbling to hear that we are on the right track.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and InterContinental again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,836 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,612 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing