We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Coffee, High Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Coffee, High Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I Highly recommend the high coffee at the InterContinental. The staff were very friendly and the food was both plenitful and incredibly tasty. It was a wonderful afternoon and a great way to belatedly celebrate my mum's birthday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear AdamH,

Thank you for sharing the feedback from your recent high coffee experience. I am glad to hear you found it a wonderful way to celebrate your mum’s Birthday.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    296
    116
    39
    19
See reviews for
132
507
79
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the InterContinental for the weekend with my wife for a bit of a getaway. Staff, without exception, were excellent. We made use of the executive facilities and found them, and the staff there, to be some of the best we have run across. Enjoyed being able to have a fine scotch of an evening in the bar.
We had a room that fronted onto Collins Street, so there was a bit of street noise during the night, but I feel that may have been more of a problem with us being used to quiet country town nights at home, rather than any specific noise problem with the hotel.
Great hotel who certainly know how to treat their guests properly.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room of a night, try and get one away from the front of the hotel in Collins Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear BFD,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent stay with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found my colleagues some of the best that you have come across. That is always very pleasing to hear. I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for two nights with friends as we were in Melbourne for a wedding. Staff are very friendly and happy to help out whenever they can. The desk staff were really chatty and fun to interact with. Food and drinks were good, full breakfast is very good after a big night. Room is clean and spacious, the hotel overall is very quiet. I don't rate the day spa attached to the hotel that highly, it's ok, the staff are lovely, but it's average, I guess I expected a better fit out in line with the hotel. Haighs is in the front of the hotel which is a bonus. Location is very good, it's a ten minute stroll into the centre of town and over to Spencer Street DFO.

I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: I chose an internal room which looks into the open bars and restaurants. Lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Rebekah5721,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

I am glad to hear that you found my front desk colleagues fun to interact with and hope that made your stay more enjoyable. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over the Derby weekend. Lovely hotel built inside a very old building. It as a hotel has lots of charm because of that. We found the rooms to be well appointed and comfortable and the hotel had all the services you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Within the hotel was 2 bars and a restaurant and also an Italian restaurant which while not part of the hotel is contained in the building.
Found the staff to be generally good particularly the concierge but I do have some general comments worth noting for people looking to stay here:
The hotel while relatively close (10 min walk) from Crowne Casino it is at a bit of a dead end of town with not a lot immediately around it which is more noticeable on weekends,
The hotel is internationally branded in a major city but I think its pretty average when at 10.15pm on a Sunday night they say all bars closed and you can only get a drink through room service. Not acceptable at ab5 star hotel any time let alone one of the busiest weekends of the year. Just to note we ended up joining our friends at the Grand Hyatt and happily got served until 12.30. Now that's five star & international.
Overall though these things are minor and it is a very good hotel generally that I am sure anyone would be happy to stay at.

Room Tip: All similiar
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tricolours,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with me.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms well appointed and comfortable. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This IC ticked all the boxes - a couple of nights on points straight off long-haul from the UK. Excellent bed gave us good sleep. Interesting building - I am not sure I would deliberately choose one of the inward facing rooms! The two free glasses of wine in the wine bar were a pleasant surprise (Ambassador). Do note that the traffic around the hotel can be bad at times and it can take a taxi a while to get away eastwards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Vaux,

As a valued Ambassador to InterContinental Hotels & Resorts I thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted to hear that we ticked all your boxes and I hope that any future visits to Melbourne include a stay at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto for a week for business. The location was excellent and gave us the opportunity to walk around downtown with ease. The service was good, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The common areas were very pleasant to sit in and lounge being inside a high ceiling courtyard. The rooms were clean but the bed mattresses were dated and that caused plenty of stiffness in the morning. The hotel was pricey so given the opportunity I would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear NikoAseni,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you found our breakfast buffet excellent and that the location of the hotel was the perfect fit for your accommodation requirements. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

A perfect getaway from the humdrum for the night. I booked a room one level under the club rooms knowing that with my ambassador membership an automatic upgrade would be done to a club room. Not only did I get the club upgrade but my room became a suite, extremely happy with this as, having stayed here in the past, the rooms are a little small, in addition the suite had a separate bath. The suite was quiet, dark when the drapes drawn, the shower pressure was great, the bed comfortable and the room very clean. My arrival was welcoming, checkin prompt and additional perks that come with having the ambassador card all provided as soon as I checked in. The Club evening drinks and antipasto were so plentiful that in hindsight we won't go out for dinner next time!!! Breakfast was lovely, fresh and relaxing. We finished off with a massage at the day spa and our only disappointment was that we had to go home instead of a nap after it! The only negative that could be worked on was that room service trays were left in the hallway, some for a few hours. Thankyou staff for your fabulous hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Tewalker,

As a valued Ambassador Member and regular guest to InterContinental Hotels and Resorts worldwide, thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the evening drinks and canapes served in Club InterContinental.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.