We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly memorable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #10 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Truly memorable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful building, super service, attentive and genuine staff... cannot recommend enough. Bed was very comfortable, rooms spotless.!Rialto Melbourne most definitely worth a visit- we'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Happyhiuse1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

I was delighted to note that your enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    269
    111
    39
    17
See reviews for
125
479
75
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our recent stay at The Rialto Melbourne was a wonderful experience. From the moment we walked in the door, we were looked after by caring and professional staff who tended to our every need. The hotel is a truly unique experience in a cleverly designed use of space in heritage buildings. Even though it's a large hotel we felt we were in a boutique hotel where people come first. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Club Intercontinental and all the service it has to offer. It's a five star experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is always nice to hear from guests who have had a wonderful stay and I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff caring and professional.

I hope that you had the opportunity to visit our small history display whilst you were at the hotel. I certainly consider myself fortunate to be working in such a beautiful and unique structure and I am glad that you also enjoyed it.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently sayed at the Rialto to go to a concert in Melbourne. Easy walking distance to the Road Laver Arena. Very polite staff who remember your name every time they greet you - even the door staff! The evening meal was fabulous, the breakfast was wonderful, the room was up to the standard that you would expect, the rooms were very quiet, cleanliness was outstanding. Love the ambiance and the history of the Rialto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Jennifish,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with me.

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and that the cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding. I will be sure to share this feedback with the housekeeping team.

I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for several nights starting on a Thursday.
We had a junior suite for a couple of days in the older wing and the room was spectacular. Very clean and nicely appointed. Breakfast wasn't as amazing but ok. Interestingly they have the same pastries as the airport Parkroyal but not the same broad range.Saturday breakfast was mad, all the waiting staff were run of their feet and service suffered.
We also stayed in the senior suite with club access. The bedroom is separate from the loungeand there's a tv in the mirror in the bathroom. Very American overindulgence which I loved...
The suite warranted the extra charge but the club isn't worth it.
Didn't go there for breakfast but did visit for the afternoon tea and "chef selection" in the evening. Not that great in a nutshell. Drinks were alright but I think the occupancy rate must have been too low to warrant a proper club experience, though on Saturday again it was very busy. The melbs Marriott do it a lot better in comparison even though their accommodation is not as good.
Free WiFi was great and the pool and fitness area excellent. Really loved it overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Shorichi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with me.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overindulgence that our Senior Suites have to offer our guests. I have also noted the other feedback you have shared with me and will be sure to share this with the relevant teams.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne and the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

1 night stay (Sat)

Very handy to Southern Cross station (about 3 blocks away) if arriving by Skybus from the airport as I was. (yet not too close)

Excellent / attentive door staff at all times. Very welcoming.

Fast/efficient check-in and check-out.

Room & bathroom were immaculate/spacious.

(My only complaint about Housekeeping is that the bed had been made with the bottom sheet finishing 10cm from before the base of the bed, so my feet were touching the mattress. I couldn't sleep like that, so I had to remake the bed myself)

Breakfast venue at the base of the hotel's atrium is unique/stunning. Breakfast itself was great with an excellent variety of food. Excellent staff.

I often choose hotels/rooms based on the view available, however I get the impression that 90% of the rooms simply have a view into the central atrium, which was fine by me. On this occasion I didn't want to pay extra for a great view.

Be wary of rooms with interconnecting doors. A toddler/baby started crying near the interconnecting door just as I preparing for bed, and I feared the worst (no sleep for me), however thankfully that stopped within seconds and I didn't hear the chid cry again until I was dressing in the morning. I was very lucky though. You may not be so lucky, so request a room without interconnecting doors.

Easy to walk all over Melbourne from the hotel. I took a taxi to the MCG as time was critical, then I walked back; and I walked to/from Royal Melbourne Hospital for a conference via Queen Victoria Markets.

At the right price, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel, and to stay here again myself.

Room Tip: Be wary of rooms with interconnecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sawnbay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with me.

I am delighted that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. I was disappointed to note the inconsistency with you bedding and I can assure you that this is not to our usual standards.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the team.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the InterContinental Melbourne in April for our wedding the suite was stunning! I stayed the night before as the bride and my new husband joined me for night two.

I cannot share anything but praise for Kishor (Guest Experience Manager) he was simply outstanding, welcoming, and couldn’t do enough to make our stay wonderful. Thank you to you and your team for a fabulous experience.

Pity we live in Melbourne so we don’t get to stay in our own city’s hotels, but recommend everyone who comes to visit Melbourne to stay here. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The suites are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear LkKaczkowski,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with me.

Congratulations on your wedding and I am delighted that we were able to help make the occasion a special one. We certainty consider ourselves lucky to have Kishor as part of our team, he is one outstanding employee.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on the occasion of your wedding anniversary.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quick check-in. Had a night away from the kids so intended to have some rest and relaxation. Visited Spa in the same building but this was not operated by the hotel. Room was a bit small. TV positioned in a strange aspect to the bed so made for an uncomfortable movie watch as the seating was for one person only. Room service was reasonably good. Breakfast was good. Check-out took a long time with a queue in reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Ozmadmax,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your stay at the hotel.

I was disappointed to note that your check-out took longer than expected. Recently we implemented our in room video-checkout service and also have express checkout box at reception which help make check-out a breeze.

Despite the shortcomings of your stay, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.