We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #9 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a very nice, new, clean and classy hotel. It had a great feel and the staff was wonderful. The location is good, the ones on the river are more convenient to that night life but the Intercontinental is a very short walk in the city to a lot of the cooler alley ways and Restaurants. They have a fairly good spa, it's really more of a small day spa run by another company in the hotel but it was a nice small setup with good service (no steam, sauna type setup, just massage/facial/nails...). The breakfast was great, and the wine bar in the middle of the atrium lobby was really cool and fun. There is a server there named Saskia (I remember her well, super cute and named after Rembrandt's wife) who was really wonderful. She recommended good wine flights, provided perfect service, was endearingly friendly and warm... people like that make a hotel. Btw, we started at the Langham in Melbourne based on reviews but moved here, it was a much nicer experience. The Langham is not bad, but the Intercontinental is really nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear txzaza,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed Saskia’s warm and friendly nature and I will be sure to share this feedback with her.

I hope on your next trip to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    253
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
121
451
70
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Travelled to Melbourne to catch up with famly. Stayed one night. Have been here before and the service was consistent. Staff are friendly, rooms very comfortable. Enjoyed a lovely buffet breakfast and an afternoon snack in the wine lounge. Great club sandwich! Location wise it is not as convenient as some of the other five star hotels in the "Paris" end of Collins Street where we also stay. Also some of the nearby streets are not those you would walk alone at night. However taxis are not that expensive and there is a tram stop nearby. Looking forward to oming back and seeing what the club room will be like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jana195,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear that you found your room very comfortable and the hotel staff friendly.

I hope that on your next visit to Melbourne we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in start of July 2013. It was my wife's first trip to Melbourne in 7 years and it was a good decision to stay there. Great and friendly service. The guys at the entrance were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Frankf,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with me and I am pleased to hear that you found our Front Desk staff extremely helpful and efficient.

Thank you also for sharing your observations of the Valet Service and I will be sure to share these with the team.

I hope in the future we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent 1 week here including with my wife and ccould not fault. The room was very spacious and clean. I had to move the bed at one stage and even under it was clean- no dust. The King Bed and feather pillows were absolutely beauatiful including right down to the toilet paper with gold colored stickers!!!!!
This is a 5 star hotel at its best! No matter where we turned we could not fault. Breakfast offered catered for everyone Coffee was great Location was superb

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Robert R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review with us.

I am so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Melbourne the Rialto and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Whilst the coffee martinis and service was good and it was a nice place to sit, the food for our high coffee afternoon was pretty average. The sandwiches were simply stale and the food had clearly been left out uncovered. I was in a party of eight not particularly fussy people and we all agreed on this. Disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear RobynH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your High Coffee experience and would very much like the opportunity to speak to you about this further. I have sent you my personal contact details via private message and invite you to contact me to discuss your experience.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the intercontinental for five nights. This hotel has some serious style. The beautiful old architecture blended with modern finishes and contemporary artworks makes an immediate and lasting impression. Our room featured a balcony that overlooked the uniquely lit atrium, a perfect spot to order up room service. We could not take the smiles off our faces, especially when it came time to enjoy the amazing buffet breakfast daily which was included in our stay. Staff were friendly and remembered us by name. We can't wait to come back. I hope your stay is as memorable as ours. Do not look elsewhere, book at the InterContinental Rialto.

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear DuncanH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you like the artwork currently displayed within the hotel, it is only a recent addition and appears to be a positive one. I hope in the near future we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a weekend in Melbourne and decided on the Rialto. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms comfortable and reasonably quiet.
The restaurant was okay as was the bar service but missing the personal touch of other Intercontinental Hotels, is seemed as though the staff were too busy although it was very quiet.
On leaving the valet parking system did not work although eventually it was sorted out, very dissapointing after a reasonably good stay.
I would say that as an Intercontinental Ambassador this is not up to the standard of others, possibly a one off.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jim343,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

Thank you also for sharing your observations on the bar service and valet parking, I will be sure to share this feedback with the teams.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Sebastian Germershausen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,443 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#5 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#6 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.