We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel, Great Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #14 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hope Island, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Top Hotel, Great Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great hotel in a very good location. It is a comfortable walk to Victoria Markets, City Centre, Docklands, South Bank & MCG, Melbourne Tennis Centre. There are a good variety of eating places handy as well as what the hotel has to offer. Staff were excellent & rooms very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ozmuzziemoo,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    285
    115
    39
    19
See reviews for
129
497
76
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed the intercontinental hotel melbourne for an overnight work trip,

I usually stay at the Sofitel or Westin as they are in the more "happening' part of town but as they were booked i stay at the intercom and very happy i did.

firstly, the work desk was the best i have used, facing into the room not a wall, powerpoints (4) easy access on the desk as well as cable internet. room was quiet and good to get some work done.

Roomservice, i usally stay away from Asian dishes in hotels as they are very bland, but tried my luck and ordered the chicken Korma as it was fresh and tasty.

only negative was the service in the bar, although it was busy, the young man behind the bar was friendly but out of his depth working by himself. order took 30 mins to get to me.

will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear MattyG69,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team, particularly regarding service in the bar and may I apologise for the wait you experienced. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment I came down the service was 5 star !
from the concierge to the butler ,the rooms are in spotless conditions , and the breakfast is to die for .loved the old building great renovations since last time I came ! I've been to many Melbourne hotel but this hotel seriously did not hesitate to please us .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear foofoo78,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a recent business trip. Was really surprised by the sheer size of the rooms they are huge (probably the biggest room that wasn't a suite I've seen) and the very high ceilings. Has been renovated recently I'd guess as the rooms were well fitted out and furnished in a contemporary style. Service is reasonably good but not up to Hyatt or Crown standard. Atrium bar is a bit underwhelming for service although the atmosphere is nice. Great location right near the heart of the business district and plenty of dining options nearby. This is a good business hotel that's reasonably priced. I'd give it a go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear DrPopper,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will look into your feedback regarding service as this is of the highest importance to us and in the mean time I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed with the Intercon Rialto enough times to become a Platinum Ambassador member (which probably tells a lot) - the service I have received from this Hotel has been truly excellent and I feel it is one of the few places I go where they try and give me a lot of additional vlaue for being loyal to the chain - upgrades and automatic 4pm late checkouts are a standout for me - but the service does match the promise. The club lounge is good too but is only good value if you use it fully - such as over a couple of days stay (like anywhere I guess).

Room Tip: Loyalty is rewarded well by this chain - if you travel a lot it is great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Snowoakley,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Have stayed a couple of times now for business trips, very nice hotel, service is good and it is nice and quiet. Great breakfast.
The rooms are very big and have all the amenities you need. The staff are very attentive and service in the restaurant and in the bars is very good. The airconditioning was a little warm and the room we had our conference in was a little stuffy but other than that it was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room that is a few floors up so you don't get noise from the restaurant and the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear AdelaideSC021,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband had a business meeting and I tagged along for an overnight stay.
We were made to feel very welcome by the reception staff.
The hotel is in a great location for everything.

We had a little issue with the A/C overnight, however it was well handled by the night staff and the morning staff followed up.

The staff at breakfast were very professional and friendly and the selection of food was great for us.

We will definitely be back, but for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Jilli Bean O,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.