We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great room, great breakfast, great location. The hotel staff is exceptional. The concierge was wonderful in arranging tours - restaurant recommendations - and making all the right suggestions to make our stay in Melbourne terrific. Thank you for helping to make our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Liz130,

Thank you for your kind feedback, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    299
    116
    39
    19
See reviews for
133
511
79
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

As this was my first time in Melbourne this was a great start. I had a booked a limo through the hotel and it was very simple, as the taxis were on strike this was a good choice. I stayed on the ambassador floor which meant easy access to the pool, spa and gym. The layout of these is far superior to other intercontinental hotels. Although the breakfast was a bit less sumptuous than other ICH it was very good. The concierge seemed distracted when asked about a place to eat and I got better information from the person who brought my bags to the room. Our room faced outward and was very quiet. Unfortunately the windows do not open, due to some city regulation about balconies and it would have been nice to have some fresher air. Also confusing was our attempt to go to high tea which the front desk advised us was available, but the location was shut for a private functions. Fortunately the bar was able to arrange a nice tea with desert tray. I can't fault the staff for trying to help, but it seems they need to communicate better.

Room Tip: If you can get on the ambassador floor it is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear applejuice12,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you were not able to experience High Tea however I’m glad to hear you were offered a substitute. Please know I will be sure to share your other feedback with the concierge team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights, was upgraded from basic room to executive room as Ambassador Priority Club, main difference was slightly larger room with a desk and chair. Rooms have everything you need however quite small, opened out onto balcony overlooking restaurant and bars. Hotel located really close to shops, and Southern Cross Station and their factory outlets. Staff were friendly, restaurant really good, great choice of delicious food, same goes for room service, which was quick. Sauna, gym, spa all very good. Few things I didn't like:- 1) my bed was uncomfortable, mattress dipped both sides, so had to lie in the middle, lucky I was by myself. 2) the noise from the restaurants and bars travels upwards of an evening making it hard to sleep, I would ask for a room on the other side away from this next time. 3) every morning just after 1am I was woken up by the sound of the vacuum cleaner in the restaurant/bars below...so annoying, again I guess if room was on the other side this may not be an issue. One final comment,we had a fire alarm evacuation at 8.30 one morning, which by all means is good knowing if there was a fire, the system works. However a staff member told me later that they also had one a week or so ago, and they thought there must be a fault in the system. Suggest they get that sorted out sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't overlook the bars and restaurants to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we sincerely appreciate the feedback of our guests. May I apologise for the disruptions you experienced, especially the false fire alarm. I would like the opportunity to discuss your other feedback with you and have sent you my personal contact details in a private message. I hope I have the opportunity to speak with you and welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved this hotel. I love hotels that utilize historic architecture and this hotel has done it right. The rooms were nice. The staff was professional, friendly, and efficient.

The location was perfect. We walked to dinner, the river, and shopping.

The breakfast was delicious and had a large selection of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Luxury1Georgia,

Thank you for sharing your review, the hotel is indeed a special piece of Melbourne’s history and I am glad to hear you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your kind feedback to the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is passable, but not worth the rates - if I was paying for this rather than my company and I wasn't meeting people here I would have checked out on the first night.
The staff are fine and helpful so I cant really fault them. Service is a bit shoddy on occasions but generally OK
So what could be better
1) Wifi is $30 a day - for a rubbish signal - absolute rip-off
2) I am a platinum ambassador, had booked a king deluxe and was told that I had been upgraded - I was given a room on the 9th floor which is the Ambassador floor. The room is a standard with two free bottles of water.
3) The rooms are badly designed, even if it is an old building. The TV is on the back wall so you can't watch it from either the bed or the sofa unless you turn 90 degrees. the bathrooms are adequately furnished with a rain-shower
4) Breakfast is good and bad, fruit and omelet station are good, hot food is dire
5) The pool and the gym are OK
6) The location is great but you pay the price with no views from the rooms
7) The main concourse is a big alleyway / atrium through the centre of the hotel, which looks very nice but it just makes the whole place impersonal especially with the bar layout and the restaurant tables.
8) Finally re service - there are some excellent staff here who really make you feel welcome, and some that just do their basic job

Room Tip: High floor facing outwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear IanEB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your feedback with you further and have sent you my personal contact details via private message. I invite you to contact me so that I may better understand the issues you experienced during your stay.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights for a conference in town, I found this hotel is a great idea for a short stay. Good location, beautiful architecture, love the Blue LED light from the Atrium. My room is on level 5, quiet and clean with comfy bed. I did not eat BF and dinner in the hotel's restaurant or use valet parking so I couldn't comment about these. On the other hand, I ordered Room service every night during my stay and Ben, the staff who took my orders is knowledgeable, professional yet kind at the same time. Seemed like he understands the menu more than any other staffs that I came across. Meals were up very fast with warm bread rolls (even at peak hour). Thump up for the Club sandwich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Michelle W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Every time I stay in Melbourne I stay here, I love the building, the concept of the alleyway that is covered by the glass roof and the bar named after the alley. Yes the rooms are smallish but that's because it's an old building so has to be... Same as if in a central hotel in Europe. At the same time the beds are comfy, bathrooms nice and gadgets like electric blinds so some nice, modern touches

If I eat in the hotel (I prefer to eat out) I eat in the Italian restaurant- more atmosphere and better food and wine choice.

I have never used the parking, it's in the middle of the cbd, taxis every time for me so can't comment on valet etc.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear neiljrodgers,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back again I the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.