We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #12 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 nights to visit my friends in Melbourne and this is the second time I've been to this city. The hotel is located at Paris-end Collins st. with a beautiful architecture, the blue lights from the atrium make me feel more confortable. There is trams in front of the hotel can take you to pretty much everywhere in this city as well as taxi rank all-day, everyday.
My room was at Rialto wing with a balcony, I can sit there, read the news with light-filled from the atrium. Excellent room (for me) and the bed was really comfy.
Last but not least, the staffs here won me a big hand-down. I'm from NY and I've been staying at many IC hotels all around the world and this hotel is one of the best. Staffs here show me what I mean by "Hospitality". From Concierge to Receptionists, fron-of-house to back-of-house staffs, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. I ordered Breakfast every morning and I had special dietaries for my meal. Having said that, Ben - the Room service staff did the best he could to accomodate and he also followed up to make sure I enjoy my meals. I also appreciate your weather info every morning, it helped me a lot and I had wonderful day-out. Again, thank you very much.
The hotel has lovely heated in-door swimming pool and a gym. All in all, I had a wonderful time in this city packed with memorable experiences from InterContinental Melbourne.
I will definitely come back next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear James A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    273
    111
    39
    18
See reviews for
129
486
76
320
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth,Western Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights recently.What a wonderful experience it was.Firstly the building in which the hotel is located has character in abundance with that nice old fashioned feeling not always found in this day and age.Secondly,this is a truly service orientated hotel.Whoever trains the staff in customer service needs to be congratulated.Nothing was ever too much trouble whenever we came into contact with staff.With regard to our room,each day it was impeccably cleaned by people whom we never met but fully appreciated.We used the hotel restaurant on a couple of occasions and must make mention of the welcome and genuine interest in us that Saskia showed which made our dinner such a pleasant experience.

When we return again to Melbourne I think we know where we will be staying !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Mijak,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Intercontinental The Rialto in Melbourne's CBD. This hotel is in a great location with all the restaurants you would need at your fingertips. The Concierge staff were also very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We chose a
Club room which includes breakfast and pre dinner drinks including alcoholic beverages and food consisting of a gourmet tasting plate, with a small buffet of other snacks. This snack bar is not as good as other Intercontinental hotels we have stayed at in Australia including Adelaide and Sydney, but it is nice. Our room was on the 5th floor. It was a little bit noisy from the A?C units on the roof, but it was still a comfortable sleep. Our Club room was big with Nespresso coffee machine. A nice touch.

Room Tip: Consider what the Club options offer. The unlimited pre dinner drinks from 5.30 to 8pm with canopes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Eur02012,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will look into your feedback regarding noise from outside and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I had never been to a hotel before where not one thing went wrong, the intercontinental was the first. From the overly friendly staff, especially Youi and Chris, to the facilities, food even to things like the smell, everything was just perfect! I highly recommend to all! Thanks very much for making everything bliss

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Justindoecke,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We always aim for the highest level of service so I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Rialto for one night whilst visiting Melbourne. Every think was perfect and could not be faulted although we felt that valet parking at $50 per night and breakfast at $40 per head was a bit over the top.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully furnished, the TV was fixed at right angles to the bed which made watching TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Corrie K,

Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is such a beautiful hotel and it's backed up by wonderful service. Perfectly located with a very short walk to Flinders or Southern Cross and the CBD. The rooms are gorgeous, quiet and impeccably maintained. The bars and restaurant are gorgeous. The girls in both made some very enjoyable times.

I had joined the Ambassador program and truly enjoy the little touches that are made and I would suggest you do the same or at the very least the priority club.

The breakfast is glorious!!! It takes a lot to impress me, but having fresh honey still on the frame with wax included, that was special.

I could not recommend a hotel in Melbourne any higher.

Shane Wylie #908 April

Room Tip: Make sure you join the Ambassador program or at the very least Priority Club rewards if you're g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Ourpoeticprince,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay so thoroughly! The honeycomb from our rooftop hives is certainly a special feature that we pride ourselves on. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here midweek with my partner so we could catch up with friends and see some of the comedy festival. We flew in early and were very grateful that they had a room to give us at 8.30am in the morning and we cold check in straight away with no problems.

When we arrived they straight away were wanting to assist with our luggage and offering assistance. Our room was one the first floor of the hotel and overlooked the bar and atrium. The room was spotless and our only complaint was the lack of a bathtub in the bathroom. The shower had a normal shower head as well as a rainfall shower head and you could select which one you would prefer and the water pressure was plentiful.

We had two fantastic nights sleep which was assisted by the electronic black out curtains, the large king bed and a good selection of pillows.

We had breakfast once at the hotel during our stay and this was only due to a lack of time to try the restaurants due to other commitments. Breakfast was an average buffet, probably not the best I have ever had but still consisted of a juice and egg station, they did get the order wrong for my tea but due to a tight schedule I did not bother correcting the staff who appeared to be quite busy.

The only concern we had with the hotel was that when we returned late at night and there was no doorman, the automatic doors let us straight in without needing to swipe our key cad, we could then go straight to the lift and to our floor. Perhaps stronger security measures would make the hotel more secure at night.

I will definitely stay here again and look forward to enjoying more of what the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear misstravellots,

Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad to hear you and your partner enjoyed your stay. I will raise your feedback regarding breakfast service with the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Sebastian Germershausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.