We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Loved my stay here.

Service - cannot fault it. Asked by 2 separate staff on my way in if they could assist with my bag and then the check in person did too. Quick and easy check in.

Room - King Deluxe on 9th floor facing atrium. It is above the atrium roof so cannot look down into atrium but liked the rooftop view for the natural light.

Well appointed room, decent size and functional work area. Love love love the bed - it was just perfect and made for a great night sleep. Decent bathroom and amenities. Nice to see a more gourmet mini bar too (though there is a Haigh's right as you walk into the hotel!). Quality black out curtains. Room was very clean.

Noise - what noise?? Was near the lifts and can't remember hearing any noise.

Room Service - room service menu is the same as the Alluvial Restaurant. Was not slow to arrive and was of a high standard.

My only advice to the hotel is that if you are going to leave an Ambassador letter then it should match what you provide! Letter says fruit, chocolate and water. Was actually a platter of dried pineapple, paw paw and raisin/ muscatel and water only (no chocolate). Can't say I enjoyed it - a fresh fruit plate would be much more preferable.

Overall though - quality hotel, excellent staff and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear SydKiwi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review, I am so pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologise however for the unsatisfactory platter, please know that I will look into this and I hope you will accept my sincere apologies. In the mean time I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    297
    116
    39
    19
See reviews for
132
508
79
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra - Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned from an Easter weekend in Melbourne. We have stayed at the IC several times before, but decided to spoil ourselves with a Club Level room. What a great choice. The extra cost was well worth it as it includes breakfast in the club or in the Alluvial Restaurant, refreshments all day, afternoon tea and two and a half hours of sinks and canapés every evening.

The hotel provides exceptional five star service in beautiful surroundings. The location in Collins Street is also hard to beat with a tram stop outside the front door and many of Melbourne's highlights within a short walk.

Room Tip: Go for a Club Level Room. The showers are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear steve_fossil,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and chose to experience the club lounge service. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is lovely and in a great location. I have to say, it was one of the best hotel buffet breakfasts I have ever had and the room was very comfortable. There is a well equipped gym, and a lovely swimming pool too. I would definitely stay here again - it's a bit pricier than other options but if you can afford it then do it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Coraliers,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will be sure to share your feedback with the team and ope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. From our arrival to out departure the staff were really excellent. Every question were able to help us and put us in the right direction.

The room was very clean and a good size.

The swimming pool, spa and gym are all really good as well. They also have a vegetable and herb garden on the roof outside the pool area.

The location of the hotel is so central that we walked everywhere. It is also conveniently only a block and a half away from the city circle trams and all other transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for sharing your review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just had a week stay at the Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto and as a regular it was a very just superb. A beautiful, comfortable and perfectly located hotel with an exceptional team that just knows how to look after their guests needs. Nothing was too hard and they always went out of their way to help. I do need to mention Supriya,whom was just exceptional and appreciate her high quality of service. I will definitely be back...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

In Melbourne for Bruce Springsteen and decided to try the Rialto as a treat and then upgraded to The Club status. The decision paid off as we couldn't really fault it, the price was a little daunting but over all well worth it, from the courteous, friendly and helpful staff to the amenity and ambience of the club lounge it made our stay just right. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear PerthPaul123,

I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Melbourne and that we contributed to an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at this beautiful hotel many times now and it never disappoints . The staff are professional yet friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are smart, spotlessly clean and have all the facilities that you could need.
The location is convenient for rail services, trams, taxis and for walking to Southbank or the main shopping locations.
I can't recommend The Rialto enough.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear lklech,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team and hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.