We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #16 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had a wonderful stay here last week. Our suite was large and very well appointed and the club lounge was superb. The service in the club lounge was very attentive and breakfast in particular was substantial and of a very high standard.

During this stay we also used the hotels private airport transfer service and thought this was excellent value. Vehicle (BMW) was top notch and the driver was very friendly and efficient.

Once again the hotel has managed to exceed my expectations and reinforces its status as the only place I'll stay when visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Tony A,

Thank you for another kind review, I am so glad you again enjoyed your stay with us. It’s very pleasing to hear when we have helped deliver an excellent experience in Melbourne and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Joerg T Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    311
    119
    39
    19
See reviews for
140
523
83
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am a regular IC customer (Royal Platinum), and this venue is simply one of the best where I have stayed in the IC chain.

Location is amazing, in the center of Melbourne CBD. I was upgraded to a large corner room overviewing the main street, with a walk in closet and equipped with expresso machine and the usual amenities that can be found in any IC (water, flat screen TV,...)

The building itself is stunning, an historical Melbournian building from the last century, the hotel is well designed with a beautifull internal lightning that underline the building design at night.

You can walk from the hotel to the Yarra river banks, and location is good as well if you love running, in less than 3 mns you are jogging along the river and to the Queen Victoria's park

Another great stay in an IC!

I did not try the pool located on the last floor, nor had time for breakfast during my stay, just the in room expresso

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear FFM9,

Thank you for sharing your kind review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt it reflected the InterContinental hallmarks of quality and luxury. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future!

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Creek, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love to stay in accessible comfort in Intercontinental hotels as they have high standards and are usually really enjoyable. I've had a succession of problems at the Rialto in Melbourne though - shall I list them?
The toilet hadn't been cleaned. The sauna wasn't switched on. My newspaper wasn't delivered. The TV remote control is rubbish. They have something called "instant Service" on the phone that hasn't been answered in 5 separate calls.
All little things - as Nana might say "I should have such problems". Fair enough however these are the simple things that divide 1, 2 and 3 star experiences. Each of the problems was fixed, although not simply (see "Instant Service" above). And I received a letter from the concierge letting me know they would love to assist me if I would only contact them. I shouldn't have to contact them! There is no soap in the terrible unisex shower/toilet adjacent to the sauna, and the toilet seat was nearly falling off - is it my duty to report those problems? Not in a classy hotel it isn't. So, if you have the choice in Melbourne, consider whether this hotel will match your needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear KimberleyDave,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am disappointed however to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Although fortunately it seems your issues were all resolved by the team during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. Our concierge team is one of the very best in Australia and as demonstrated they are here to help make your stay enjoyable. I hope you will choose to stay with us again so that we may further demonstrate what it is that sets us apart as a leading hotel in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed in the Hotel for 2 nights on 22nd&23rd February with family and friends. We arrived at
the hotel from the UK after nearly a full day of flying. We went into the hotel after 7am very tired
but aware we could not book in till the afternoon. We had booked a total of 4 rooms for family and friends and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. They took and set aside
all our luggage etc while we went out in search of breakfast and a look around.We returned back about lunch time and were informed that to our delight that our rooms would be available very soon, this was a great gesture and the rooms were looking into the interior dining hall and bar etc. Flat screen tv, electric curtains, writing desk, nice bathroom and a huge comfy bed!! Bliss. When we went out, the door staff went out of there way to provide us info including maps. The bar staff were friendly and the breakfast choice was excellent and varied and omelettes were made to order and also delicious. We were informed by the staff the the Australian P.M. Julia Gillard had been staying in the hotel just before we arrived. On check out the lady on duty was friendly and interested on what we thought of our stay in the hotel and Melbourne. It was a pleasure to be there in the hotel and indeed the beautiful city which is Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Graeme R,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back again when next you are in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our first stay at an Intercontinental Hotel has been the most amazing experience.All staff across the board from the Wonderful General ManagerJorg Bockeler to the amazing Kishor Guest Experience Manager have looked after us, our every need was attended to.Hotel was clean,rooms perfect and quiet, food excellent.The Club Lounge was a wonderful Sanctuary from a busy world outside.Beautiful Afternoon tea and Canapes and drinks in the evening.We will now always stay at Intercontinental Hotels if this is the standard, they are passionate about the quality of care for their guests.Thankyou to a wonderful team we will see you again.

Room Tip: Ground Floor room was our choice and very quiet but 5 lifts to all floors if needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sue T,

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that all aspects of service were of the high standard to which we aspire. I look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is really a gorgeous hotel in center city and the room was lovely. However, we found the staff indifferent. e.g. no bell man to help with the bags, staff talking on the phone while checking us in. So of course they made errors that had to be corrected. Additionally, the charge for WIFI is simply ridiculous. It should be free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear lovesDC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am extremely disappointed to hear your stay was not an enjoyable one. I am surprised you were not greeted by the doorman as we have one on duty all hours. I’m sure you can appreciate that in busy periods there are a lot of guests to see to but it is unfortunate that on this occasion you were not properly assisted. The same can be said for reception staff and please know that I will be addressing your feedback with the team. I hope you will consider staying with us again and that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. I have sent you my personal contact details in a private message and invite you to personally inform me if you plan to stay with us again that I may ensure you are taken care of.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a meeting/break (March 2013). We decided to book a suite for our enjoyment, but it was totally a room we did not expect to have.

The room was small and not much room in the lounge room very small. The bedroom gave me a fright, it was up some more stairs and in a room where the door was only a few feet way from the bed. My heart started beating too fast and my blood pressure started going up with fright. The room was tiny if I sat or lyed down on the bed I could touch the wall where the window was at the side of the bed.

When the women came in to clean the room, it seemed that they always forgot to do something. The first day they forgot to make the bed, so I decided to call room service a 3.30pm, we were not left any tea bags or milk. The next day our glasses and coffee cups were not cleaned and no tea bags were replaced.

Generally the staff and the hotel is good as we have stayed there before, so I am not sure why the room we had this time did not meet our expectations with the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel and check the room and the size before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear cyrus22,

Thank you for sharing your review. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. In regard to your suite, it is a trademark of the hotel that many of our rooms and suites boast different features due to the heritage building. It is a boutique experience unlike any other and the turret suite you were accommodated in is a particularly unique example. I am surprised to hear you did not enjoy it as it is an extremely popular suite, particularly for couples. I will address your concerns regarding housekeeping with the team and value your feedback in this regard. I hope you will choose to stay with us again and that I may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.