We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #10 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Intercontinental in Melbourne. The hotel is in a charming old building with a great ambience. The level of service from all the staff - concierge, reception and in the club lounge - was exceptional and very child-friendly, making our 9 year old feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay here much more than previous stays at the Sofitel and the Intercontinental will now be our hotel of choice for future visits to Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Dvaravati,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It warmed my heart to read that you and your family had such a wonderful stay and the entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    252
    103
    38
    14
See reviews for
121
450
70
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The staff were welcoming and pleasant and the service fantastic. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was great. Would definitely stay again if given the opportunity. Unsure of internet facilities though. They didn't make that clear.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear WimK1234,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your lovely review, I was so pleased to read that you has such a wonderful stay, I must also apologise if our Internet alternatives were not as clear as they should have been.
We offer WiFi in our public areas in which guests can access 30 minutes per day free of charge and Club InterContinental guests may also access 24 hours complimentary Internet in the Club InterContinental lounge. Additionally all rooms are able to purchase hard-wired Internet with a large bandwidth which is managed by an external provider which will prompt you upon log in.
If you have any queries regarding our Internet facilities,(or anything else) please do not hesitate to contact me and I will do my best to assist you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

my husband and i have stayed here on several occasions and we are always amazed by the service, the staff, the quality, the surrounds - everything. So much so that we have said on future trips to melbourne we will only stay here. The building is just beautiful, the service from the front door is exceptional, the beds are so so so comfortable, the breakfast is amazing, the bar area is beautiful. Can not recommend this hotel enough, treat yourself and stay here at least once!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear mumof2_12,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your wonderful feedback. I was so pleased to read that you have had such great experiences and that we are now your first choice of accommodation.
The entire hotel team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Having stayed six times in the last few years, I have always found my stays enjoyable. However, the food and beverage service is, in my opinion, really letting the hotel down. Based on my most recent stay, regrettably it probably won't be my choice by default for future visits to Melbourne.

Room: fortunate enough to be upgraded to a King Premium Suite, it was luxurious and spacious (see photos). Stand-outs were an excellent jet and rain shower, and an exceptionally comfortable bed.

Restaurant: Lunch - inattentive service (though quiet) with satisfactory food, noting however that staff are inflexible for those with common dietary requirements. Dinner - poor food quality and service (again, quiet). Issues included a lengthy wait before ordering, bread arriving after the main, and the main - cannelloni - being poorly presented and stodgy, with a hard chewy base. Over ten minutes after ceasing eating, staff had still not even walked by - let alone checked if there was an issue. Upon eventually locating a member of staff, and making management aware, an apology and goodwill gesture was however forthcoming.

Club IC: service was on the whole below par – with only an occasional glimpse of good service. On three visits over two days an order was forgotten; and at breakfast the tables largely went uncleared/were not reset (lacking cutlery, butter, etc).

Check-in/Check-out: efficient, with friendly and helpful front-desk and concierge.

In summary, if you're looking for a luxurious hotel in Melbourne - but are not planning on utilising its food or beverage services - then this is still a good choice. If however you are, then I would suggest you evaluate your options.

Room Tip: If you have a long stay planned, or a few upcoming stays at IC Hotels, its worry considering joining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear nick164,
Thank you for your feedback. I was disheartened to read your review, especially as you have had such wonderful experiences with us in the past and I also see that you are a Trip Advisor Top Contributor.
I would like to thank you for thoroughly explaining the issues you experienced during your most recent stay and please be assured that I have raised these issues with the relevant department heads and promise that we will make sincere improvements.
I look forward to showing these to you when you next have the opportunity to return to the hotel,
please contact me personally when you will be returning so that I may take care of you personally.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Up side of my stay is the architecture of the building and the ambiance of the lobby. Down side is the size of a standard room....very small/tight in comparison to other 5-star hotel standard rooms. Pool and spa is average and dated...been to nicer ones. So overall my birthday retreat experience was abit disappointing when I expected more from a renowned 5-star hotel and based on other reviews.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear maxzoomx3,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your review.
I am so sorry to read that on this occasion your stay was not satisfactory, particularly as you were celebrating your birthday. I notice that you stayed with us in March 2011 and I am pleased to advise that the hotel has evolved considerably since then. I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again to witness these improvements and would like to encourage you to please contact me directly so that I may personally assist you with your booking.
I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Minutes work away from Rail station, Victoria market.
Concierge is helpful with my various meeting travel needs, helped to check rail schedule, etc. Rail tickets can also be bought from concierge.
Room is very comfortable, as expected of Intercontinental.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear 1place1dream,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, please be assured that I will share your wonderful feedback with our Concierge team.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the InterContinental- The Rialto. Celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, we were delighted to receive an upgrade and a complimentary bottle of bubbles was sent to our room also.

We dined at Vue de monde one evening so the location was perfect for us. The room was very comfortable, pool temperature perfect and the buffet breakfast was delicious, as you would expect. The level of customer service was excellent thoroughout our stay. This was our first stay at this hotel and we were impressed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Aust5,
Happy anniversary and thank you for taking the time to share with us your lovely review. I am so glad to read that we were able to assist in making this special occasion even more memorable.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.