We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Ok - In line with most expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overall Ok - In line with most expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed in the Interconti for a leisure trip. The hotel however is more catering towards business guests. Relatively expensive for leisure expect you use your interconti points. Breakfast on the more expensive side, but overall with anything you would expect in Australia and an Interconti (e.g. limited cheese selection as anywhere else, limited cold cuts also as usual in Australia, it's not Europe). But honestly, why not just look at the way all other intercontis do their coffee (at least in Europe) and just copy it? Neither Café latte, Latte macchiatto, cappuccino or anything else deserved that name, just fly in an Italian barista for a day and get it over with.
The swimming pool was clean but far smaller than in the picture, so don't expect to much and for my taste too much chloride in it, but nice for a quick evening swim under the stars. The rooftop terrace was closed and nobody knew why, but it looked like a nice place to sip a cocktail. The fitness room was very well equipped and very clean.
One thing that was spectacular was the architecture of the hotel situated in and between 2 old townhouses/residencies. Quite impressive. Also the bar was an impressive sight and the cocktails were amazing.
The room was ok, although a bit small, but nothing unusual for the category we booked. The bathroom looked a bit worn out and maybe the Australian understanding of cleaning is different from the European/German one, but please also look behind the toilet, clean the air-condition and the fan in the bathroom, the sink, etc. Not that we haven't experienced similar things in other Australian hotels, but considering the price it's a bit annoying (wouldn't probably care if I was on business, but sadly not this time).
What was definitely outstanding were the tips from the concierge regarding dinner locations. Thanks again for those! And the location is pretty good for reaching the cities hot spots although it's right in the middle of the banking district. We had a car however which came in handy but the tram is also just a few meters away and we also used that a couple of times to get around. Overall I would certainly come back for business, for leisure probably not so much and would rather look for a little boutique hotel.

Room Tip: There are skyskrapers als around = no view anyhow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear AloneOnTheWall,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review. Yes, indeed as you pointed out quite rightly there are many differences between Australia and Europe and as a hotel we take great pride at being located in Melbourne. Therefore part of our purpose is to deliver an authentic urban Melbournian experience. However there are also some similarities, for example I do believe that the Australian understanding of cleanliness is identical to the German one. Your comment will however help us to continually strive to improve.
You may be interested to know that we now have a fully trained Barista in our hotel and also now use a high end Manfredi product – a premium boutique blend of espresso consisting predominantly of Arabica beans. We invite you back to try it the next time that you are in Melbourne.

I also thank you very much for the praise you had for our bar staff and concierge team and I have passed this on with great delight. I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel, possibly on your next business trip.


Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    612
    225
    98
    36
    14
See reviews for
114
409
67
264
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just come home after a one night stay at the Intercontinental at Rialto and I can't speak highly enough. From the moment we stepped from our taxi we were treated like Royalty (yes, even the 3 year old). We satyed in a double superior room, I think.
Because the Intercontinental is in the banking district it caters for largely a business crowd, so our arrival on a Saturday was blissfully peaceful (also beating the Mothers day rush on the Sunday). The gym and spa/sauna/pool we had mostly to ourselves ( what a fatastic area too, on the 10th floor!) As much as I was wanting to go out for a romantic dinner sans child (they provide babysitting on request), as soon as I felt the luxury of the bedding and saw the room service menu I was not moving. The room service meal was delicious and HUGE, a nice surprise. Although the salad leaves were a little yellowing/ old, as soon as I let them know we were compensated with a bottle of champagne.. The breakfast buffet was lovely and the attention and politeness from staff was again fantastic.The only thing I could offer as advice is to change the brand of toiletries which were horrible. Surely an Australian brand would be better ? Oh, and please improve the water pressure in the showers, it is truly pathetic. Overall, these are small complaints to a wonderful Hotel with great staff. Thanks for making our special 'hometown holiday' such a delightful and memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear thebearsmum,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay and the valuable feedback you have provided. We are so glad that you enjoyed our restaurant offerings and found the bedding very comfortable.
In regards to the bathroom products, as an internationally branded hotel company we strive to cater for all international guests and provide them with a reliable and recognisable product wherever they should travel to. InterContinental chose to incorporate Elemis amenities in each InterContinental Hotel worldwide to assist with this challenge and i am disappointed to hear that you did not find them suitable. Thank you again for this feedback, i will certainly share it with the relevant people.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, aus
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a nice hotel in a decent location (especially good for business travellers, slightly less so for leisure perhaps...) I'm an Ambassador member so got the upgrade, etc. Highly recommend people join this club as it more than pays for itself. It's a small thing, and down to the heritage of the building, but I don't love the fact that the windows face an internal atrium and thereby other rooms. But that's just me. Rooms are nice and beds are comfy. Staff were friendly. As with other reviewers, am not overly keen on them holding a deposit on my credit card for incidentals when I pre paid for room. This charge is still being held against my card. But again, a small matter. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear marniemac,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Regrettably it is a standard procedure that a credit card is taken upon check in however I sincerely apologise if that was not clearly communicated to you when you checked in. Please contact me directly to review and correct this if the amount is still being held of you would like to discuss the matter further. My email address is joerg.boeckeler@ihg.com.
We do help to welcome you back to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto at another time.

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

My husband and I spent a night here for a quick city getaway. The room was beautiful - tastefully furnished - and the bed was so far our best night's sleep in a hotel in Australia - the bed rivalled only the Shangri-La in Borneo! Beautiful doona, feather pillows and quality linen. The bathroom was also tastefully done with a great walk-in shower and lovely toiletries.

In the evening we enjoyed some time at the downstairs bar - big comfy couches and a great tapas menu (I recommend the duck pancakes - superb). From here you are able to admire what the hotel has done with the amazing architectural heritage of the two buildings - allowing you to feel as though you are inside and outside at the same time with a glass roof. In the morning we had an exceptional buffet breakfast at the restaurant downstairs - it was the best we have found in Melbourne so far. We spent a leisurely 2 hours nibbling and reading the papers in the stunning building (makes you feel almost as though you are in Europe). An excellent plus side to the breakfast at Rialto is that they are happy to serve you pots of loose leaf teas and proper Italian coffees rather than the usual "pot on the table". We also used the pool and spa which were enjoyable.

There was only one minor irritation for us - although in the end the overall stay swamped this - and this was that when we arrived to check-in with our pre-paid package the girl on the desk did not appear to be fully aware of what we had booked and so we were not informed as to where to go for our cocktails and were also not told what time our "late checkout" would be. Instead, we had to go back down to reception to enquire which makes us a little uncomfortable and we would prefer it if everything was just a little smoother. The only other problem was that there did not appear to be prices for the in-room movies.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning to this hotel. We would highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Enjoy the stunning architecture
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear MMandBean,
I was very happy to read your kind review and have shared it with my team at the hotel and thanked them for making your stay so memorable.
It is interesting to read that my colleague was not aware of our Leisure Escape package and i will ensure that more detailed training and information is given so that no other guests experience the same problem that you did and feel uncomfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto again.

Kind Regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed for a girls weekend and booked 2 club rooms. We had a great time, the service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are nice and spacious, loved the shower with two shower heads, but be warned if you turn on the shower the shower rose above you may turn on when you think it's going to come out of the rose on the wall.

The club lounge is not as spectacular as others I've experienced. For evening canapes, there is a small selection of cheese and antipasto and you receive one plate of canapes (two in total) as opposed to a buffet. And at the price we paid for club access I would have expected more. Breakfast was similar, they had a small selection of continental breakfast - which was fine for us. The service was friendly though and we felt welcome.

Location is good, although it's quite a walk to the main shopping area. Public transport is right on the doorstep and cabs are out the front all the time. Overall, we had a great stay at The Rialto, nothing stood out as brilliant but it met our needs and was really comfortable. The staff made it for us, they provided great service and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear ness_st.

It was so great to read your positive review and especially encouraging that you praised the service and authenticity of our staff.

We feel very privileged to operate a Club InterContinental within our hotel and this is an area that we work especially hard to make appealing and special with a focus on service. We are currently evaluating our Club InterContinental food and beverage offering and appreciate your honest feedback and assistance with completing this.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto.

Kind regards,

Joerg T, Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Located at the western (New York) end of Collins Street, in the banking/legal precincts, the Intercontinental at Rialto Melbourne is situated in 2 heritage listed buildings, the Rialto and the Winfield, built in the gothic style in 1891, when Melbourne was one of the wealthiest cities in the world from glod and wool exports. It is next to the twin Rialto Towers; the southern tower, with 55 levels, was the tallest building in Melbourne, until the Eureka on Southbank.
Its proximity to the coach terminal at Southern Cross station (Spencer St) means that we were the first to be dropped off from the hotel transfer shuttle, adn the last to be picked up on the return trip. On arrival, we were let off at the front door, which the concierge stated was unusual; guests are usually let off at Flinders Lane at the rear. On arrival, we we greeted by the bell man, who asked for the name and promptly transferred the bags to the room prior to check-in.
Check-in was handled promptly and efficiently; the first night was already pre-paid, and I was surprised at the practice of holding additional funds against the imprinted credit card in case further expenses were incurred. On arrival in the room, which was spacious (46 sq metres) and clean, there were no slippers and one bathrobe; this was quickly rectified by the one touch service button in brown on the phone. The desk was not in the way, near the bathroom wall, allowing plentiful space for the king bed.
Breakfast was included in the package I chose; the variety was good; the duty chef can cook eggs in any style requested by the guest.
The staff attended to our every need, with turn down service in the evening, choice of daily newspaper (I chose The Age), water and fruit, as well as choice of pillows and quilts.
An useful method of keeping track of expenses was messages available on the TV, which included updated invoicing.
A small gripe about the internet access. Despite the provision of an ethernet cable, which was also connected to the phone, the internet connection was wireless. As I stayed for 6 nights, I took the 5 day plan, which worked out at A$20 a day. The shorter term plans are expensive, and only are to be used if your stay is shorter, and there was no alternative.
The location is great, with tram stops and taxi ranks outside the door; also Spencer Street rail station is a 7 minute walk away. The best location of the 3 Priority Club Hotels in the Melbourne CBD, with Holiday Inn a block away in Flinders Lane, and Crowne Plaza another block away in Queenbridge road near the Melbourne Convention Centre.
There was the bonus of Iron Chef Guy Grossi's Merchant restaurant on the premises, serving Venetian food, whcih we dined at once; as another writer has commented, as the business is separate to the hotel, the bill cannot be charged to your room.
So in summary, if you have a quick trip, like a business trip, or for a family occasion, you can stay in a lesser hotel, but for a longer holiday, I recommend staying in a 5-star hotel like this in this quieter end of town.
On this trip, we dined at vue de monde (due to move the the 55th floor of the Rialto South Tower next door), and caught the Tutankhamun and "Dreams come true" (Disney animations) exhibitions.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear skc97,

Wow! What a glowing and comprehensive review. I would like to say thank you on behalf of InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joerg T, Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I booked two nights at the Intercontinental Rialto for myself and my girlfriend, I also booked one night for my girlfriends parents as a 60th Birthday present, as a Gold member of the IHG priority club i should and have expected better... this is a lesson for others, i pre paid my accomodation before arrival, upon check in the hotel insisted i pay a deposit of either $500 cash per room or they would debit my credit card $500 for both rooms as a deposit, Now due to past experiences i have set up a debit visa card for when i travel and only transfer enough money onto it to cover the accomodation meaning i minimise the chance of credit card fraud, I told the hotel this and insisted that i would pay any other costs incurred upon check out by eftpos and that i was a Gold card holder for the Priority club, they told me they didnt care and that it was their policy to take these type of deposits, i informed them i have stayed at many intercontinental and Holiday Inn hotels around the world and have never been asked for this before, they insisted i pay before they would hand over my keys to the rooms i had booked, NOW the exact reason why i dont like doing this, i allowed the deposit to be taken on my Visa card it took a week and numerous calls between the Intercontinental Rialto and my bank to have $687 released back into my account and they also charged one night accomodation to the card even though i had already payed before arrival,this is unacceptable, then today 22nd of April 2011 approx 6 weeks after our stay i check my Visa account and there is a debit taken from my card for $15.00 upon calling the Intercontinental in melbourne i was informed the debit was for the mini bar even though upon check out i advised what was used and paid all charges in full, in these times it is easy for small amounts to be debited from numerous cards and they go unnoticed, i find this unethical and fraudulant, Even though the accomodation was excellent, the Restaurant produced great food and service I will never stay at that particular hotel again, I must say i have never had a problem with any of the Holiday Inn hotels i have stayed in previously and always had good service and nice clean rooms, The Intercontinental in Wellington NZ is exceptional...

Room Tip: Be wary
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Seawolfau,

Thank you for your feedback and review. Please be assured that we do sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our hotels and value the fact that you are a Gold Priority Club member. This makes it particularly sad that you do not wish to stay at our hotel again.
If you do wish to discuss this matter further or would like to give me the opportunity to investigate this occurrence further please do feel free to contact me directly at
joerg.boeckeler@ihg.com

Kind regards,

Joerg T. Boeckeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne
Intercontinental Melbourne
Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.